We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Villa del Palmar Beach Resort & Spa at The Islands of Loreto
Ranked #1 of 20 Hotels in Loreto
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed March 18, 2014

We stayed here for 2 weeks in the summer and enjoyed the incredible natural scenery and quiet. The service was first class, and the food was great. We especially enjoyed hiking the trails and watching the sun go down on the bay and on the east side of the ridge. We also did paddle boarding and snorkeling, and saw an octopus in the bay, more than what we saw on our dive on the outside of the islands. We enjoyed swimming, jogging around the bay, working out in the weight room, the spa and traveling in to town to catch a meal in the local restaurants. The people in Loreto are friendly, life is slow and laid back, and no one stares at you and makes you feel unwelcome or unsafe. We like this place better than the hustle and bustle of Cabo. We will be coming back for two more weeks next summer.

The only bummer we found happened when we drove to Cabo from Loreto last year, and we met very unfriendly tourist-scamming police in Ciudad de Constitucion which is along the highway just south of the resort. This year we will just stay at Loreto, and avoid the apparently well-known shakedowns that go with invented traffic violations that foreigners have to pay for.

Room Tip: All rooms facing the water are incredible!
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank 96044UB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,119)
There are newer reviews for Villa del Palmar Beach Resort & Spa at The Islands of Loreto
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

731 - 737 of 1,119 reviews

Reviewed March 18, 2014

Our Sister's Club (five actual sisters) traveled for the first time to Loreto, after many years of Cabo vacations. We may never return to Cabo. No wandering banditos pouring shots of tequila down your throat. Loreto is authentic, pristine, quiet, respectful of nature, breathtaking, etc. The VDP resort lowers your blood pressure upon arrival. The property is perfection, the staff take pleasure in serving the guests. Practice your Spanglish before you go, but regardless they will take care of you. The concierge and activities desk will send you on the best excursions ever. We cannot wait to return, hopefully when the golf course is complete. The Room Manager, Ivan has a great staff. Our favorite valet was Germaine, favorite bartender, Jorge.

  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Glenna B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 18, 2014

The activities & restauraunt staff provided EXCELLENT customer service! I felt like a "family member" during my stay. They went above my expectations by reserving special table during show, chivalrous treatment (pulling out my chair, putting napkin on my lap, carrying my plate to table from buffet), greeting me whenever they saw me onsite (very friendly). Much love to my VDP -Loreto family members: Mario, Rolfi, Dubie, Gloria, Pedro, Manny, Roberto, Adela, Lydia, Dulce, & many more!

The areas of improvement:
-The check-in & check-out staff & process was disappointing due to miscommunication concerning charges. My credit card was charged for dinner & tips even though I had already pre-paid for all inclusive. I suggest guests to double check bill the day before checkout to avoid having to dispute charges the morning of check out. By doing this the day before, I was able to stay calm while the front desk representative had me sign various forms to reimburse my credit card.
-The shuttle from resort to the airport gave me, person traveling with me, and another couple on shuttle 4 different times to be in lobby to leave for airport. This caused us to get up earlier than necessary & have to wait in lobby for the other party that was told to arrive in lobby almost 1.5 hours later. They also said that payment could be made with credit card, only to find out after getting in shuttle that they wanted cash. However, thankfully I had no problems with transportation from airport to resort (pre-paid with credit card).

Overall, I had a GREAT trip and would highly recommend vacationing at VDP Loreto!

Stayed: March 2014, traveled with friends
5  Thank Tonya P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 12, 2014

Very relaxing and enjoyable. We stayed for 2 weeks and celebrated our wedding anniversary in style at the Danzante Restaurant. Went on 4 dive expeditions in the fabulous local waters with Oscar T. Manager Sixto greeted us personally during our stay and all of the Food and Beverage staff was top notch. Kudos to Oscar and Mario for their attentiveness to detail. Room was excellent, just as we expect from the Villa properties. Definitely worth more visits. We will be back

  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank ScottfromCanada1954
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 8, 2014

We stayed at villa del palmar in Loreto for 4 weeks and it was totally relaxing and enjoyable.
Everyone at the hotel was terrific. The pool bar staff Mannie and Roberto was absolutely the best.
Also went on the Danzante Tour with Said and he was very good also.
The whale watching trip in Magdalena Bay was superb, the whales were putting on a fabulous show.
Just cannot say enough about Loreto, we will be returning for sure.
We also hiked almost every day on the trails and the views were breathtaking.
We stayed on the sixth floor and the view was awesome.
This resort is a must.
Holly & Al

  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Holly7Crofton_b_c_
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 7, 2014 via mobile

We stayed at the Villa Del Palmar at the Islands of Loreto from February 22 to March 4, 2014. If you are looking for motorized water sports, par-a-sailing and active nightlife then Villa Del Palmar and the Villa Del Arco in Cabo are wonderful resorts. However if you are looking for rest and relaxation, quiet, peaceful and a very laid back atmosphere then the Vill Del Palmar at the Islands of Loreto is the resort for you. This magical resort sits on Danzante Bay surrounded by the Sea of Cortez and majestic Giganta mountains. Right now the only direct flight is a 2hr flight from LAX on Alaska airlines. This worked great for us because we were able to visit Disney for the day. We have been there before so we knew what we wanted to see and do Disney was open till midnight which was great. Other direct flights would ok but would be a strain on the airport. The Mexican customs and immigration area would have to be expanded to accommodate more planes coming in at once. Perhaps more than just 1 flight a day would be good.

From the small but nice Loreto International airport, the scenic trip to the resort takes about 40 minutes. There is some road construction happening which provided an excellent opportunity to take some pictures of the 5 islands that make Loreto special.

We were greeted at the resort by Mario who was the Chief Engineer and taken to our room. We stayed in room 2715A. A huge 2br suite on the 7th floor with the most spectacular view you have ever seen featuring the large turtle shaped pools with a kids pool, 4 main pools and a 40 person hot tub, the Giganta Mountains and the Sea of Cortez. Because this resort is in the bay, the water is very calm and crystal clear. It is shallow and you can walk out a long way. The bay is great for paddle boarding, snorkelling, kayaking and swimming.

A big thank you to Virginia our housekeeper for the excellent service. The turn down service and the yummy treat in the clam shell every night was very special. The entire resort was always spotless.

The pool area and service was excellent. We were welcomed every morning by Roberto, Manuel, and Gustavo. Their professionalism, attention to detail and every very tasty drink came with a smile.

The restaurants were great. Chef Roberto and his crew are wonderful. The food was amazing, especially the flaming chocolate clam soup and the sea bass pâté.

Danzante - a real fine dining experience. Thank you to Gabriel and Gualberto for your excellent 5 star service. Gabriel your Mexican and Irish table side was amazing.

The Market - excellent food and excellent service. Especially Edgar, and Elim for always making us feel so welcome. The Activity Crew put on theme nights at the market including Mexican Festival, Latin night, a minute to win it and a variety night featuring the Village People, the Blues Brothers, Joan Jett, Grease and yep Elvis. Awesome!!!!!!!

The Snack Shop - the best beer batter shrimp tacos - EVER

A special thank you to German and Myriam for making Tara's birthday extra special with the very beautiful flowers.

Trips - whale watching at Magdalena Bay with Fausto, from Wild Loreto tours - WOW what an amazing once in a life time experience. The trip takes you through the mountains a very nice drive to the Pacific Ocean (about 2 hours). There pangas take you through the inside passage to see many grey whales. Mostly moms with their babies but OMG. We came to about 4 feet from them. Usually the mom and baby will come up to the boat to play (touch them) but our day was a school day for the babies to get used to deeper water, so they did not want to play. That did not matter - what an experience!!!!!!!
Next time.........
We also got fresh breaded halibut and shrimp for lunch. What a great day.

Coronado Island, this trip was amazing. Through Danzante Tours. Our guide Said and Captain Fernando were GREAT. We saw 100's of dolphins playing beside our boat. Humpback and Blue whales from a distance. They are so big and fast, they (the whales) do not let you get that close. Snorkelling around Coronado island was amazing although the wet suit was an experience all of its own. Said was very attentive and quick to assist our daughter when she got a snorkel full of water and panicked. We were lucky to see scorpion fish, an eel, various star fish and very cool rock formations from the island. Said had lunch on the most perfect beach with turquoise water and white sand - great.

We used the shuttle to go to Loreto which was very convenient. The shuttle times worked out very well for us. The shuttle drops you off at the Santa fe hotel just on the edge of Loreto. It is a short 20min walk to the shore board walk area which is very nice and the Loreto Mainstreet. Along the way There is an awesome ice cream shop which is a must stop. Mainstreet is lined with a canopy of elm trees and many souvenir shops and restaurants. Loreto is your typical small friendly safe Mexican town.

A very special event takes place every Wednesday night at the resort. The lighting and release of the sky lanterns for the Make a Wish Foundation of Mexico is tremendous.

The Sabila Spa is a serene retreat with hot whirlpool, warm pool and cool pool along with cold pressure shower and sauna. There are a myriad of services to choose from. Adriana, Sylvia and Manuel were all fantastic and made us feel very pampered.

Alejandro - Excellent Market server by morning and friendly front desk service agent in the afternoon. Alejandro always greeted you with a smile. He would always come to say "hi" even when we were not in his section. During the afternoon we could see him walking around the pool area. WOW

Finally thank you to Julian and Bobby, GM Sixto, facilities Mario, food services Oscar and housing Alvin for making our 1st stay in Loreto absolutely amazing. We can't wait to come back.





Stayed: March 2014
14  Thank Tara G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 7, 2014

The dramatic views of the surrounding islands and the calm, deep blue water are enough for anyone to consider this location a paradise in Baja. The resorts carefully crafted landscape of large and small pools encircled by palms blend beautifully with the natural backdrop. All this breathtaking scenery aside, there's one thing that continues to stand out in my mind about our stay at Villa del Palmar. The degree to which the entire staff at the resort showed dedication and consistency in providing guests with the "experience" of the resort was exceptional. I've stayed at other properties in Baja that were just as luxurious and refined in their design, but without the human element of a team that's dedicated to delivering top notch service, those other places just don't seem all that special. Its obvious that the folks in charge here are very focused on having the right staff in place to help provide the best experience for guests. In my opinion, they are definitely doing everything right at Villa Del Palmar.

  • Stayed: February 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank BBDZ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Loreto hotels
15.7 mi away
Loreto Bay Golf Resort & Spa at Baja
21.4 mi away
La Mision Loreto
La Mision Loreto
#2 of 20 in Loreto
679 reviews
21.2 mi away
Hotel Santa Fe
Hotel Santa Fe
#7 of 20 in Loreto
339 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
21.6 mi away
Coco Cabanas Loreto
Coco Cabanas Loreto
#6 of 20 in Loreto
321 reviews
21.1 mi away
Las Cabanas de Loreto
Las Cabanas de Loreto
#3 of 20 in Loreto
293 reviews
21.2 mi away
Hacienda Suites
Hacienda Suites
#11 of 20 in Loreto
65 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Villa del Palmar Beach Resort & Spa at The Islands of Loreto? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Villa del Palmar Beach Resort & Spa at The Islands of Loreto

Address: Carretera Transpeninsular km 84 | Ensenada Blanca, Loreto 23880, Mexico
Phone Number:
Location: Mexico > Baja California > Baja California Sur > Loreto
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Spa Hotel in Loreto
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Loreto
#1 Family Hotel in Loreto
#3 Romantic Hotel in Loreto
Price Range: $192 - $699 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Villa del Palmar Beach Resort & Spa at The Islands of Loreto 4.5*
Number of rooms: 181
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
If you're seeking a place that defines luxury, look no further than the Villa Group Resort's newest shining-star resort in this amazing Baja village. The hotel epitomizes luxury within a small town while also offering complete privacy and every modern touch. The perfect place for everyone from honeymooners to large families.The resort features 4,447 acres of unspoiled beauty. Boasting three restaurants and 20,000 square feet of turtle-shaped pools, Villa Del Palmar is minutes away from Downtown Islands of Loreto, extraordinary beaches, and world class golf courses.Our restaurants are not limited to just extraordinary Mexican food; featuring restaurants that serve delicious steaks to fine Italian food that tempts every palate. You can even cook up dinner your own room in the private "gourmet chef's kitchen". Naturally, all the amenities that guests of the Villa Group Resorts have come to expect are here too. Send your wife to the spa to enjoy a signature Islands of Loreto-massage, or join your children on an outdoor sports-fishing adventure. Whatever you're in the mood for, it is here waiting for you. See, although Islands of Loreto was actually the first Spanish settlement on the Baja California Peninsula, it will be the last place you'll ever want to leave. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, Travelocity, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd and getaroom.com so you can book your Villa del Palmar Beach Resort & Spa at The Islands of Loreto reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Villa Del Palmar Beach Resort & Spa At The Islands Of Loreto Hotel Loreto
Villa Del Palmar Beach Resort And Spa At The Islands Of Loreto

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing