We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.
Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Villa del Palmar Beach Resort & Spa at The Islands of Loreto
Ranked #1 of 20 Hotels in Loreto
Certificate of Excellence
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Second Home!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 17, 2014

Villa Del Palmar in the Islands of Loreto is absolutely the best place we have ever stayed in our lives. The staff there is amazing. It is a beautiful new resort but run with class. All the rooms are exquisite with heavenly views! The activities are amazing. We walked in and were treated like ROYALTY! It is peaceful and all the pools are super clean and relaxing! Chef Roberto and the chocolate clams were stupendous! But then all the food was super! Every restaurant was amazing! Sunday breakfast was unbelievable and the choices were out of this world. There was so much great food it was hard to decide! The entertainment is super with the Mexican Fiesta and Beach Parties. It is unlike any other resort type parties! The bay is gorgeous and unspoiled. We can not wait to get back there! It is truly a second home but with amenities!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank vacations4me
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,033 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    768
    197
    49
    15
    4
See reviews for
317
457
21
11
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (389)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Half Moon Bay, CA
Level Contributor
11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 17, 2014

Just got back from staying here for 5 days in mid-Feb 2014. Everything about the stay was awesome, including the accommodations, food, staff and service, etc. It was the second time that my wife and I stayed here, the first was 15 months ago, and everything was just as good or better than the first time. I would like to especially point out the nice attitude and helpfulness of people working there.

To me, this place is about enjoying the water. We went on a trip around Coronado Island, went whale watching in Magdalena Bay, kayaked and snorkeled at the hotel, etc. If you are into these types of activities, this place is for you.

Room Tip: All of the rooms are pretty much the same, perhaps one on a higher floor would have a nicer view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Hmbdude
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
93 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 15, 2014 via mobile

We signed up for a time share promotion, swearing there was no way we would buy one...but we did and are thrilled. This lovely resort is situated on a gorgeous bay with smooth-as-glass water. No motorized water craft allowed, so it is serene and truly afforded a chance to get away from it all. The three on site restaurants were good, with some great standouts, such as the pizzas at Casa Mia and the fish at Danzante. The staff were dedicated to service and never once did we feel an expectation of extra tipping on our all-inclusive plan (though we chose to do so for the outstanding service). Our trip was timed to see the grey whale calving season and our trip with Fausto at Wild Loreto was awesome! Mother and baby whales came right up to the small boats. We can't wait to come back and to visit all the other VDP resorts our time share includes!

Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank BobKatUSA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hudson, Canada
Level Contributor
55 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 12, 2014 via mobile

My wife and I have been doing timeshare exchanges world wide for several years but this was the best by a wide margin. Even though the resort is still under development it was head and shoulders above others we have enjoyed. The staff were friendly and helpful. The food was first rate in all three restaurants, the setting is spectacular, the pools (of which there are several) provided for every expectation including towels which, unlike many resorts and cruises, were constantly replenished at poolside. Poolside food and beverage service was wonderful and there were activities for those who wanted to participate.
One of the aspects we appreciated most was that the resort is not well known and consequently was quiet and relaxing. We used the "all inclusive" program which, although more expensive was convenient and actually all inclusive.

Room Tip: All rooms have ocean view on the Sea of Cortez with nice balconies but higher is better for the view...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Doug_Seagrim
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sedro Woolley, Washington
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 11, 2014 via mobile

Had our Super Bowl Party at the Hotel (Seattle Fans). What a great party!! Mario put it together and did a super job. He was always checking to see if we were having a great time. He made it possible for us to wave our 12th man flag at the party. Food was great, side entertainment was also fun. Will plan to be back next year. Beautiful setting, good food and drinks. Lots of TV Screens and a Seahawks Win - along with new friends, a great day. All the staff was great and worked hard all day to make it a pleasant experience . Would recommend coming here (if you can't go to the Super Bowl ). Ask for Mario - he will make it happen.

Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank Darlene H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Appleton, Wisconsin, USA
Level Contributor
19 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 11, 2014 credit card Amex Card Member Review

Beautiful and quiet resort just right for a relaxing time to unwind. We had a one bedroom suite which was gorgeous and very comfortable with a balcony on two sides since it was a corner room. For a view you will want a room above the third floor. Food in the restaurants was delicious. All of the staff from the front desk to the waiters and maids were very friendly and most accommodating. We liked the fact that it is located on a nature preserve so there were no parasailing or banana boats cruising the bay, or vendors on the beach. A very private and somewhat remote location. It was a 45 minute free shuttle ride to the town of Loreto, an old Mexican village. If you are looking for quiet and relaxation as we were, this is certainly the place.

Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank RussJ894
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland, Oregon
Level Contributor
32 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 10, 2014

We spent the week of February 1, 2014 through February 8, 2014 and had a wonderful time. The location is beautiful and somewhat remote. The resort is lovely and the staff was beyond compare. The Danzante Restaurant was 3 hours of nothing less than excellent. However, if you are looking for the likes of Cancun or Cabos, this isn't the place for you. If you enjoy beautiful surroundings, hiking, kayaking, snorkeling, whale watching (depending on the time of year) and a quaint, small town then make your reservations today! You won't be disappointed.

Room Tip: All rooms have ocean views, the higher the floor the better the view
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CRAE0457
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Loreto hotels
15.7 mi away
Loreto Bay Golf Resort & Spa at Baja
21.4 mi away
La Mision Loreto
La Mision Loreto
#2 of 20 in Loreto
4.5 of 5 bubbles 644 reviews
21.2 mi away
Hotel Santa Fe
Hotel Santa Fe
#7 of 20 in Loreto
4.0 of 5 bubbles 312 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
21.1 mi away
Las Cabanas de Loreto
Las Cabanas de Loreto
#3 of 20 in Loreto
5.0 of 5 bubbles 290 reviews
21.2 mi away
Hacienda Suites
Hacienda Suites
#12 of 20 in Loreto
3.5 of 5 bubbles 59 reviews
20.9 mi away
Hotel Oasis
Hotel Oasis
#9 of 20 in Loreto
3.5 of 5 bubbles 141 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Villa del Palmar Beach Resort & Spa at The Islands of Loreto? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Villa del Palmar Beach Resort & Spa at The Islands of Loreto

Property: Villa del Palmar Beach Resort & Spa at The Islands of Loreto
Address: Carretera Transpeninsular km 84 | Ensenada Blanca, Loreto 23880, Mexico
Location: Mexico > Baja California > Baja California Sur > Loreto
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Loreto
#1 Spa Hotel in Loreto
#1 Family Hotel in Loreto
#3 Romantic Hotel in Loreto
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Villa del Palmar Beach Resort & Spa at The Islands of Loreto 4.5*
Number of rooms: 181
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
If you're seeking a place that defines luxury, look no further than the Villa Group Resort's newest shining-star resort in this amazing Baja village. The hotel epitomizes luxury within a small town while also offering complete privacy and every modern touch. The perfect place for everyone from honeymooners to large families.The resort features 4,447 acres of unspoiled beauty. Boasting three restaurants and 20,000 square feet of turtle-shaped pools, Villa Del Palmar is minutes away from Downtown Islands of Loreto, extraordinary beaches, and world class golf courses.Our restaurants are not limited to just extraordinary Mexican food; featuring restaurants that serve delicious steaks to fine Italian food that tempts every palate. You can even cook up dinner your own room in the private "gourmet chef's kitchen". Naturally, all the amenities that guests of the Villa Group Resorts have come to expect are here too. Send your wife to the spa to enjoy a signature Islands of Loreto-massage, or join your children on an outdoor sports-fishing adventure. Whatever you're in the mood for, it is here waiting for you. See, although Islands of Loreto was actually the first Spanish settlement on the Baja California Peninsula, it will be the last place you'll ever want to leave. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Hotwire, Travelocity, Priceline, Booking.com, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA and Evoline ltd so you can book your Villa del Palmar Beach Resort & Spa at The Islands of Loreto reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Villa Del Palmar Beach Resort & Spa At The Islands Of Loreto Hotel Loreto
Villa Del Palmar Beach Resort And Spa At The Islands Of Loreto

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing