We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“I'm ready to go back!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Villa del Palmar Beach Resort & Spa at The Islands of Loreto
Ranked #1 of 20 Hotels in Loreto
Certificate of Excellence
Spokane, Washington
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“I'm ready to go back!”
Reviewed November 15, 2013

A beautiful place! The rooms were clean and spacious, plus staff was extremely helpful and friendly. Sandy beaches and great snorkeling near the resort. We took an amazing tour to Danzante Island; Said helped us learn to paddle board at the resort then suggested the tour. The captain was excellent and our tour guides Said and Pedro pointed out fish while snorkeling, plus guided a short hike with spectacular views! Lots of activities at the resort and great food! I hope to go back…

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Sheila G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,046 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    777
    200
    49
    16
    4
See reviews for
319
466
21
11
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (392)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Spokane, Washington, United States
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed November 13, 2013

Just back from 12 wonderful days at the Villa Palmar in Loreto. The setting is amazing and the service was top notch! From the check in, servers (thanks Jorge & Roberto), several tours we went on, everything was great. The beach is very close with great snorkeling right in the bay or a short hike to another beach with a reef with lots of fish to see. The only downside was the mosquitoes due to the recent rains.. bring your own bug spray as the stuff they sell there doesn't work very well.
We visited the upgraded Danzante Restaurant twice and had great meals.. well worth the $15.00 upgrade from the all inclusive plan. The chef dives for fresh chocolate clams right in the bay! We did part of our stay all inclusive and part not and that worked out well.
The free shuttle into Loreto worked well, but there isn't much to see in town, but we did enjoy some good meals there. It is about a 40 minute ride, but the scenery is beautiful.
We went on the Kayak tour and had a good trip. The Danzante Island tour was fantastic with Said & Pedro as our guides. They showed us many things while we snorkeled and the short hike gave great views of the islands. I would definitely recommend that.
The place is super clean and the pools were always available. The evening entertainment was good and the staff worked hard to get guests participation.
We are already planning our next trip to Loreto!

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Linda K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Huntington Beach, California
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed November 9, 2013

This was our second stay at this resort, and was perfect. We had a wraparound balcony in building 3...highly recommended. Best view on the property. The fitness center and spa are now open. The staff couldn't be nicer. Had a 80 min massage for $100, and was exactly what you would get at a nice spa in the US. Facilities are great.

Every meal was great, especially the Al Pastor tacos and the pizza. Luis had the chef make us a true Mexican style cóctel de camarón. All fresh ingredients, and was perfect. We did go into town the first day and pick-up some fresh breakfast food and fruit. Even the new store on site has greatly expanded their stock, and the prices are very reasonable.

Manny and Roberto are the best...always with the biggest smile and best service. The 90 minute owners update was enjoyable. The resort is just going to get better and better. We'll be back again next year and will bring friends.

Only suggestion to the hotel would be to add bosu and exercise balls to the fitness center...inexpensive way to add to everyone's workout. And once they get wireless to the rooms and improve network performance, we'll be set for two weeks on vacation.Sitting in the lobby to get email was a bit troublesome. The rooms seem to have wired Ethernet jacks, but no service yet.

Room Tip: Like everyone says, the rooms above the second floor offer the best views. But every room has great...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Tom C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montana, Usa
Level Contributor
27 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed November 7, 2013

This was not our first trip to a VDP property but it was our first time to Loreto. We absolutely loved it! I am sure it is not for everyone...it is super quiet and quite far from town. Though not to worry, there is a free shuttle that runs from the hotel to Loreto every couple of hours. The hotel is on a beautiful bay that is part of a National Marine Park so there are no motors allowed...so no jet skis, parasailing and the like. For us - it was GREAT. We loved the quiet...just the lapping of the Sea of Cortez on the beach...lapping, no pounding waves...and you could walk so very far out into the bay. Beward the stingrays though...you need to shuffle your feet to let them know you are coming. This bay is their home! In the entire week, I only saw 1 tiny one do my shuffling must have worked. Great place for sea kayaking and stand up paddling. Without waves, you can paddle all over the place and look like you really know what you are doing. The beach and the view were so beautiful we only went in the pool once! They have a giant hot tub by the pools, which we did go in often, especially in the morning. We took a hike which was short and not strenuous at all and the view of more Islands and the Sea of Cortez was great. We saw a jackrabbit and a tarantula on the way. Very cool! The mosquitoes were crazy but the area had just had a ton of rain, which was highly unusual. There are a couple of rooftop tennis courts and you can rent raquets and balls for $5. The fitness room is very large with a wall of glass with a beautiful view. They are also just starting to build a golf course, so that may be awhile before it is complete. The service was great and the staff was very nice. I think the only thing we weren't happy with were the pizzas at the Casa Mia restaurant...I think they need a little work. The food in the Danzante restaurant was great. I highly recommend the Poblano Cream Soup. The chef gave me the recipe too - in Spanish! It was delicious! The bartender there was also terrific - he served up a Serrano Chile Martini that I will be making at home. The concierge Lynn was really helpful too. She turned us on to a little restaurant in Loreto, owned and operated by Sofia - called Canipole. (see next review). In short, it is a great place for quiet and relaxation, which is just what we wanted. I hope it stays nice and quiet!

Room Tip: Building 2 has great ocean views. All rooms have kitchens or kitchenettes but the closest grocery i...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Kristine O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sun Lakes, Arizona, United States
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed November 7, 2013

My husband and I are just finishing 3wonderful weeks in this slice of paradise-we stayed 2 weeks
last year The natural beauty makes the resort breathtaking but it is the staff, wonderful food that makes the experience extraordinary. Oscar Torres, the F and B mgr and his asst Mario make every dining time fun and friendly. The wait staff well trained. David, the creative mixologist in the Danzante Bar and Fine Dine Restaurant are special as well as Gabrielle and Guillermo's friendliness are delightful. Ler Medina the rooms mgr just left and laEstancia in Cabo is lucky to get him. But his replacement Ivan has new and good ideas and is committed to ensuring the high quality of that department. Luis, the Dive Master, is kind and encouraging and made my dive trip one I won't forget. My only suggestion: add fresh veggies and other selections to Palmita Mkt.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Terrie S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ojai, California, United States
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed November 6, 2013

What an amazing trip with 2 great friends! Never have I been so spoiled!! So many amenities to choose from. The staff is so attentive and caring. From poolside, to the Spa, to the restaurants. All they want to do is make your stay something to remember. Snorkel trip with Said and Pedro was a huge hit! They were just the BEST!! Our 2 bedroom suite was over the top. Views were magnificent. Never wanted for ANYTHING. If R n R is what you want, this is for you. But you also have several activities to choose from, if desired. I would go back in a heartbeat!!! I thought I would never love anything more than Hawaii. Well, I do love this place more!!! A gem on the sea of Cortez. :)

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Judy C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Bloomfield, Michigan
Level Contributor
81 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed October 31, 2013

The resort was lovely. The scenery spectacular as was the service and amenities. The best experience was with Said (guide) and Pedro (captain of boat) when we went on a snorkeling and hiking trip. They were the best guides and the snorkeling experience in the Sea of Cortez was very exciting, yet very controlled by Said who made my first snorkeling experience a joy of a lifetime.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sonya F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Loreto hotels
15.7 mi away
Loreto Bay Golf Resort & Spa at Baja
21.4 mi away
La Mision Loreto
La Mision Loreto
#2 of 20 in Loreto
4.5 of 5 bubbles 652 reviews
21.2 mi away
Hotel Santa Fe
Hotel Santa Fe
#7 of 20 in Loreto
4.0 of 5 bubbles 314 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
21.1 mi away
Las Cabanas de Loreto
Las Cabanas de Loreto
#3 of 20 in Loreto
5.0 of 5 bubbles 291 reviews
21.2 mi away
Hacienda Suites
Hacienda Suites
#12 of 20 in Loreto
3.5 of 5 bubbles 59 reviews
20.9 mi away
Hotel Oasis
Hotel Oasis
#9 of 20 in Loreto
3.5 of 5 bubbles 143 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Villa del Palmar Beach Resort & Spa at The Islands of Loreto? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Villa del Palmar Beach Resort & Spa at The Islands of Loreto

Property: Villa del Palmar Beach Resort & Spa at The Islands of Loreto
Address: Carretera Transpeninsular km 84 | Ensenada Blanca, Loreto 23880, Mexico
Phone Number:
Location: Mexico > Baja California > Baja California Sur > Loreto
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Spa Hotel in Loreto
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Loreto
#1 Family Hotel in Loreto
#3 Romantic Hotel in Loreto
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Villa del Palmar Beach Resort & Spa at The Islands of Loreto 4.5*
Number of rooms: 181
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
If you're seeking a place that defines luxury, look no further than the Villa Group Resort's newest shining-star resort in this amazing Baja village. The hotel epitomizes luxury within a small town while also offering complete privacy and every modern touch. The perfect place for everyone from honeymooners to large families.The resort features 4,447 acres of unspoiled beauty. Boasting three restaurants and 20,000 square feet of turtle-shaped pools, Villa Del Palmar is minutes away from Downtown Islands of Loreto, extraordinary beaches, and world class golf courses.Our restaurants are not limited to just extraordinary Mexican food; featuring restaurants that serve delicious steaks to fine Italian food that tempts every palate. You can even cook up dinner your own room in the private "gourmet chef's kitchen". Naturally, all the amenities that guests of the Villa Group Resorts have come to expect are here too. Send your wife to the spa to enjoy a signature Islands of Loreto-massage, or join your children on an outdoor sports-fishing adventure. Whatever you're in the mood for, it is here waiting for you. See, although Islands of Loreto was actually the first Spanish settlement on the Baja California Peninsula, it will be the last place you'll ever want to leave. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, Booking.com, Evoline ltd, Cancelon, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and Hotel.de so you can book your Villa del Palmar Beach Resort & Spa at The Islands of Loreto reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Villa Del Palmar Beach Resort & Spa At The Islands Of Loreto Hotel Loreto
Villa Del Palmar Beach Resort And Spa At The Islands Of Loreto

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing