We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Peaceful, relaxing paradise.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Villa del Palmar Beach Resort & Spa at The Islands of Loreto
Ranked #2 of 20 Hotels in Loreto
Certificate of Excellence
Broomfield, Colorado
Level Contributor
101 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
“Peaceful, relaxing paradise.”
Reviewed May 11, 2012

I have read all the previous reviews and must say the praise for the staff is very accurate, the resort is amazing, especially at sunset and on a clear night when the stars fill the sky thanks to the low lighting. I would say that the staff has addressed any complaints you may have read in other reviews. We were treated like royalty. Even down to getting a different pillow was taken care of before we got back up to our suite. We have been members of the Villa Group since the early days in PV and this is our favorite resort by far. The absence of nightlife was wonderful and romantic. It reminded us of the old days in Cabo and I hope it stays this way. While we were there, direct flights on CalJet from LA had their first arrival, so it is no longer as difficult to get to as it was previously. We arrived on Areo Calafia from San Jose del Cabo and thoroughly enjoyed the flight in a 15 seat Cessna up the Baja coast. Just spectacular views, even saw the resort from above. I went scuba diving and there are as many starfish under the sea as stars in the sky. The town is charming old Mexico but has a good grocery store and the shuttle will swing by and help you pick up your food on the ride back to resort. You can choose to just relax or be active by hiking, kayaking, paddle board, snorkeling, scuba diving (highly recommended), fishing all in a pristine desert and sea setting. We plan to return during whale watching season and take a day trip to Magdalena Bay.

Room Tip: Rooms above the lobby on a high floor offer the best views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank CaboVicki
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,066 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    792
    204
    50
    16
    4
See reviews for
322
479
21
11
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (400)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Wolcott, Colorado
Level Contributor
12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed May 7, 2012

My husband and I did not stay at the Villa del Palmar Beach Resort, but we anchored our yacht in Bahia Candeleros where the resort is located. We had lunch or evening cocktails and appetizers several times while we were anchored. The food at the beach restaurant and bar was excellent and the menu changed daily based on the fresh fish or clams delivered by local fishermen. The prices at the restaurant were very reasonable as well.

Even though we were not staying at the resort, we were treated in a most welcoming and friendly manner by every staff member we encountered.

The grounds are meticulously maintained, the buildings are attractive and the main lobby is lovely.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Lisa D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amherst, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed April 29, 2012

This was our second trip to Loreto. We first visited in April, 2011. It had been open only two weeks, so it was truly a "soft" opening. However, we were so taken by the setting that we returned this past April and had an absolutely wonderful vacation!!! The hikes near the resort are well worth taking. The views from up above are magnificent. The Health Spa and gym are fist rate. Staff were courteous, helpful and responsive. Jorge at breakast was delightful. He's an artist who told us about the spectacular sunrises - The way the sun "wakes up" the mountains has to be seen to be believed. Luciano, our server for dinner and breakfast, was really good as well - very attentive and makes a fiery Mexican coffee! Cruz was an excellent and very funny bell hop - ask him about the balloon factory. Lars was great at the front desk as well.
Mexican night and Latino night were a lot of fun. The folks at the resort really work hard and put on a very entertaining show.
The meals were excellent. Roberto is a wonderfully creative chef - You should definitely take a tour of the kitchen. It is quite impressive.
We did not make it to the farmer's market in town on Sundays, but we heard from others that it is the place to go for fresh fish and veggies.
We did early morning runs on the beach and the temperature around 8:00 was perfect.
We are time share owners,and if you have any interest, you should ask for Robert "Bobby" Leiffers. He's really just an honest,helpful sales manager, who delivers on what he promises- sometimes a rarity in the time share business.
We also took in two activities provided by "Wild Loreto", a tour company stationed at the hotel. The trip to the San Javier Mission was well worth the drive as well was the hike in Tabor Canyon. On both excursions, our guide was Said, and he was just fantastic. Knowledgeable, kind and generous with his time.
The only real drawback is the relative lack of airlline access. We understand that they are trying to address this by bringing in CalJet to compete with Horizon.
All in all - a beautiful setting to relax and enjoy. Highly recommended!

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank PRSLR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Collins, Colorado
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed April 27, 2012

Ahhhh....We found out about this place while we were in Cabo last year. We were there during the soft opening, so all of the amenities weren't in place, and I liked it that way! The hotel stands alone on the bay, its quiet and peaceful. The beach doesn't have anyone trying to sell you anything! There's no giant cruise ships blocking your view or drunk teenagers yelling into the wee hours of the morning. Just peace and quiet...my kind of vacation! The service staff is fabulous and thoughtful! The catamaran cruise, where we chased playful dolphins, was a highlight! I'll be sad when the golf course goes in...doesn't seem right in a desert, but that's not my choice! Right now though, its paradise! (The salesman who tried to sell us a time share may have been the worst salesman in the entire world. Its called math, dude. Try learning it! That's why I didn't give it 5 stars!) The town of Loreto is also a must see. Fabulous little village with a great vibe! We enjoyed the free bluegrass concert in the square!

Room Tip: The one bedrooms are spacious, but they took the murphy beds out and replaced them with awful pull o...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank climbergirly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
chicago
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed April 23, 2012

hotel setting and spa are very good. room cleanliness was above average. stick with the nachos.

Stayed April 2012, traveled with friends
Helpful?
3 Thank ralphie n
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kirkland, Washington
Level Contributor
259 reviews
55 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 150 helpful votes
Reviewed April 18, 2012

Gorgeous natural location. Stunning desert mountains meet the sea of Cortez. Views and location are magical. Is quite far from town - about 45 minutes by car unless you drive quite fast. This means you are a captive audience especially for meals unless you cook.

Pros:
Cruz - valet and all together was helpful and kept his antennae out in a good way.
Jorge - at restaurant - great attitude and a real joy. He is quite an artist too.
Miguel - in management - another star!

Many people really tried but this was washed out later (see cons). Food was okay, but had hoped for better.
Great with kids on Connect night.
Big rooms, gorgeous views, quiet resort, nice guests,
Small fishing village is great and if you are lucky go to the market there, and across street from market is a man who will take you on his boat and help you fish or just explore. Very nice but you may need to speak Spanish for this. Best price too. Go to Danzana and even hike its short but sweet trails. Saw some nice sea life too including some eels, even a moray. Lots of puffer fish too.
Very warm pool.
Good ice system so you cna enjoy ice cold drinks.

Cons:
Greeter at airport says she is our concierge and invited us for welcome breakfast and orientation tour of the grounds. Fine with us. However it turned out to be a time share deal. She only offered us a gold card with discounts and some kayaks. We felt a bait and switch here as she misrepresented this and it wasted a lot of our time. She was not a concierge but trying to herd us into a presenation. We said no. Finally they gave us an activity we wanted later in the week so we went. The sales guy had us go get some cash to leave a tip for the breakfast he inivted us to. No problem to leave a tip but we were not prepared with cash, just our room keys and ids. This turned into a hassle and was quite odd. I was shocked actually. No choice at this offering breakfast and no special drinks for us, but others who they thought they had a better chance with were given the extras at breakfast. We saw a lot of differences in rates that people paid too. We paid $250 a night for a 1 br. However if you are guest of time share owner, you get half that rate or better it seems. One couple had a week studio for $600 and were not owners. For our rate, we expected a bit more. We were told kayaks were included but then they actually want to charege $20 an hour for one - true for any of the activities on the beach.
Beach was too cold in APril and had some prickly things to be careful of so swimming was out.
We had thought we could snorkel but again too cold.
Dinners in nice restaurant took way too long. One time nearly an hour as they messed up our order on the grilled meats and then didnt even offer us an appetizer while we waited. Had to ask 7x for water and 6x for hot water for my daughter who had a sore throat. Service was inconsistent. Some great people went the extra mile with a smile and others missed the boat.
For example, at happy hour i go to bar to inquire about it. They say it is over - is 4-6. There is no menu for drinks or HH. When i asked the time, they said ten to 6pm. Then i said i thought it was til 6pm. He said, oh i guess you have 10 minutes. It was like a Monty Python moment. The resort should communicate better about its activities like what is the margarita race and the kitchen tour is more of an underground city tour. I didnt realize they consider this still the soft opening as they have been opened a year. Nice that not too many people meant hammocks were available but missed many things because they are in "training." Most days the pool was very warm but last day it was much colder. Wish they made it a salt water pool as you cant enjoy the bay. Do more to teach about conservation too.
They say they dont allow wave runners there in the bay but the locals sometimes brought them out. Was fine but double standards.

Car is very helpful to have but europcar was AWFUL> AVOID THEM!
'
if is whale season, do the whales.

Room Tip: away from construction, higher rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank lajolla1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Keizer, Oregon
Level Contributor
13 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed April 18, 2012

Absolutely loved the town of Loreto and our stay at Villa del Palmar! Our best Mexican vacation experience. A great destination away from the typical tourist locations with night life, vendors, etc. VDP is a beautiful resort with the best service and nicest staff ever!

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank GailKeizer_Oregon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Loreto hotels
21.4 mi away
La Mision Loreto
La Mision Loreto
#1 of 20 in Loreto
660 reviews
15.7 mi away
Loreto Bay Golf Resort & Spa at Baja
21.2 mi away
Hotel Santa Fe
Hotel Santa Fe
#7 of 20 in Loreto
316 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
21.1 mi away
Las Cabanas de Loreto
Las Cabanas de Loreto
#3 of 20 in Loreto
292 reviews
22.0 mi away
Coco Cabanas Loreto
Coco Cabanas Loreto
#6 of 20 in Loreto
317 reviews
21.2 mi away
Hacienda Suites
Hacienda Suites
#12 of 20 in Loreto
59 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Villa del Palmar Beach Resort & Spa at The Islands of Loreto? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Villa del Palmar Beach Resort & Spa at The Islands of Loreto

Property: Villa del Palmar Beach Resort & Spa at The Islands of Loreto
Address: Carretera Transpeninsular km 84 | Ensenada Blanca, Loreto 23880, Mexico
Phone Number:
Location: Mexico > Baja California > Baja California Sur > Loreto
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Loreto
#1 Family Hotel in Loreto
#2 Spa Hotel in Loreto
#3 Romantic Hotel in Loreto
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Villa del Palmar Beach Resort & Spa at The Islands of Loreto 4.5*
Number of rooms: 181
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
If you're seeking a place that defines luxury, look no further than the Villa Group Resort's newest shining-star resort in this amazing Baja village. The hotel epitomizes luxury within a small town while also offering complete privacy and every modern touch. The perfect place for everyone from honeymooners to large families.The resort features 4,447 acres of unspoiled beauty. Boasting three restaurants and 20,000 square feet of turtle-shaped pools, Villa Del Palmar is minutes away from Downtown Islands of Loreto, extraordinary beaches, and world class golf courses.Our restaurants are not limited to just extraordinary Mexican food; featuring restaurants that serve delicious steaks to fine Italian food that tempts every palate. You can even cook up dinner your own room in the private "gourmet chef's kitchen". Naturally, all the amenities that guests of the Villa Group Resorts have come to expect are here too. Send your wife to the spa to enjoy a signature Islands of Loreto-massage, or join your children on an outdoor sports-fishing adventure. Whatever you're in the mood for, it is here waiting for you. See, although Islands of Loreto was actually the first Spanish settlement on the Baja California Peninsula, it will be the last place you'll ever want to leave. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, Cancelon, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly, Priceline and Hotel.de so you can book your Villa del Palmar Beach Resort & Spa at The Islands of Loreto reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Villa Del Palmar Beach Resort & Spa At The Islands Of Loreto Hotel Loreto
Villa Del Palmar Beach Resort And Spa At The Islands Of Loreto

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing