We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

“Worst hotel of our Baja trip” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Desert Inn at Loreto

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Desert Inn at Loreto
Ranked #16 of 20 Hotels in Loreto
San Diego, California
Level Contributor
99 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
“Worst hotel of our Baja trip”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed May 27, 2013

First room was so bad - had to change rooms. 2nd room wasn't much better but we were
tired ! TV was awful, toilet wouldn't turn off, wash cloths - yuck ! Tissues - none, no stopper
in sink. No hand towels. Showered in early am - water went everywhere !!! Everything got wet,
including floors into bedroom. Breakfast supposed to be at six. Wasn't ready until seven !!!
Avoid this place. On beach but ugly.

Room Tip: Avoid this place like the plague !
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank hplunkett
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

82 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    13
    27
    14
    11
    17
See reviews for
16
23
3
4
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (9)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
34 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed April 4, 2013

This place is just a nightmare. Nobody cares.
There is no hot water, no TV reception, no internet, the AC unit is terribly loud, the bathroom smells...
And on top of that when we were there other guests were having a party in the car park, just outside our room. Loud music until 4 am, beer cans everywhere, and they even threw a can of beer at our door because we asked the night porter to ask them to stop!
We moved to the Motel El Dorado - what a difference! Good service, clean rooms, quiet. They restored our faith in humanity!
And Mike's bar around the corner and the Palapa restaurant were great too.

Room Tip: Stay somewhere else - this place is terrible!
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank msstrips
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Loreto hotels

Bellingham, Washington, United States
Level Contributor
4 reviews
1 of 5 stars Reviewed April 2, 2013

I have stayed in this hotel three different times before this time, always, with friends who had dogs. I kept giving it the benefit of the doubt. We heard it had recently sold and was in transition. Well just forget it!

Now, they are no longer pet friendly. Upon our arrival they informed us, in a very direct way, that our labrodoodle was not allowed into the room. OK, we are now checked in, so the dog slept in the car.

The owners have no pride or interest in customer satisfaction and the staff has begun to cop an attitude. Worn out but clean room, not one amenity. No ice bucket, no TV reception, WI FI doesn't work. We went to the front desk and inquired how late the dining room was open. We were told 9:00 PM.

When we went to the dining room at 8:15 for dinner. The room was bare, in fact the entire place felt deserted. Spooky!

The dining room was empty so no problem finding a table. Our voices echoed! Our little waitress came to the table with an embarrassed smile. We asked "May we see a menu?" "There is no menu. On our menu tonight, we offer beef hamburgers, chicken breast and fish tacos." she said. OK, that kept it simple.

My husband had the chicken. I had the fish tacos. The chicken was $11.00. It was an $8.00 meal. My tacos would be $3.50, tops, at a taco stand and taste better. Pathetic! We tipped the waitress well for enduring this embarrassing experience.

Back to our room. The bed was hard as a rock. There was no hot water. The sheets were rough and worn as were the towels. I can't even describe how nasty the pillows were.

The only reason we have gone to this place was the pet friendly policy. Now that it no longer exists we will never return.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Jackie R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Valley Center
Level Contributor
22 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 28, 2013

A friend and I stayed here last week. Used to be the La Pinta, just N of the end of the malecon and a block off the beach. Good location but the hotel appeared to have been closed down for at least a year, maybe before reopening as a Desert Inn. So the grounds had been neglected, no wifi, limited restaurant service (but there was a bat flying around in the dining room). The folks who where there were friendly and helpful, but they appear just now to be trying to clean up and restore the grounds. No cars should have been a clue, only one other room appeared to be occupied. The room was nice, but I'd avoid this one for a few months while the current management gets the place back into shape.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Tom T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
elk river idaho
Level Contributor
30 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 26, 2013

Where to begin? No air conditioning no TV, pool like ice, bar tender never there, no coffee until 8 am, no wifi EVER. Ask the manager when anything will work, standard answer "one hour." And really watch the weird step into the bathroom. Just odd.

Room Tip: While you are in Loreto eat at La Palyapa! fantastic food
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ruthevansidaho
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
British Columbia
Level Contributor
40 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 17, 2013

I stayed at the hotel with a tour group and was told the hotel was nice five years ago. But now it is worn and not appealing. Neither the rooms nor the grounds are being very well maintained. The bathroom window slats didn't close properly which might explain all the dirt on the toilet which I had to clean before using it. The bed spread was ripped and there were two dreary wall lamps which provided dim light in the room. The bed was not particularly comfortable. Fortunately the group only stayed one night, and even at that I spent as little time as possible in the room it was so dreary. The Internet service worked for a while in the lobby but then went down and the staff couldn't get it working again.

Presumably one can find better accommodations in the area.

Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
Helpful?
Thank HappyTrailsCanada
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Istanbul, Turkey
Level Contributor
67 reviews
59 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 81 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 6, 2013

Pros:
Gorgeous grounds, pool and beach
Huge rooms
Good value for money if you don't book online
Very clean
Very helpful receptionist

Cons:
We booked online through despegar.com and ended up paying twice the room's worth which is unacceptable
It is a 20 min walk into town which is not doable for everyone
The flourescent lighting in the room is not particularly agreeable
Only 4 TV channels

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank HTH_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Loreto hotels
0.4 mi away
La Mision Loreto
La Mision Loreto
#2 of 20 in Loreto
4.5 of 5 stars 559 reviews
21.0 mi away
Villa del Palmar Beach Resort & Spa at The Islands of Loreto
0.9 mi away
Hotel Santa Fe
Hotel Santa Fe
#6 of 20 in Loreto
4.5 of 5 stars 249 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.0 mi away
Loreto Bay Golf Resort & Spa at Baja
0.6 mi away
Hacienda Suites
Hacienda Suites
#12 of 20 in Loreto
3.5 of 5 stars 54 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel 1697 Loreto
Hotel 1697 Loreto
#9 of 20 in Loreto
4.5 of 5 stars 38 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Desert Inn at Loreto? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Desert Inn at Loreto

Property: Desert Inn at Loreto
Address: Calle Francisco I. Madero, Loreto 23880, Mexico
Location: Mexico > Baja California > Baja California Sur > Loreto
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #16 of 20 Hotels in Loreto
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Desert Inn at Loreto 3*
Number of rooms: 49
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Desert Inn (Hotel La Pinta Loreto) has 49 rooms, 29 are haciendas which is the regular standard room, two doubles beds, ocean front, cable tv, air conditioning, the Villas are upgraded rooms, with a fire place and more services, in our facilities we count with a salon spa, restaurant bar, swimming pool and what is more important great service to make your stay a lifetime memory. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com and Travelocity so you can book your Desert Inn at Loreto reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Desert Inn At Loreto Hotel Loreto
Desert Hotel Loreto
Loreto Desert Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing