We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Desert Inn at Loreto
Nearby Hotels
$147
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hotel Santa Fe(Loreto)(Great Value!)
$124
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hotel Tripui(Loreto)(Great Value!)
$58
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hotel Oasis(Loreto)
$93
$88
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hacienda Suites(Loreto)(Great Value!)
$58
$56
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Posada del Cortes Hotel(Loreto)(Great Value!)
$75
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Posada de las Flores Loreto(Loreto)(Great Value!)
$128
Travelocity
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
$83
$76
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Sukasa Bungalows(Loreto)(Great Value!)
$65
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$200
$194
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Reviews (94)
Filter reviews
94 results
Traveler rating
16
33
15
13
17
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
16
33
15
13
17
See what travelers are saying:
Filter
Updating list...
17 - 22 of 94 reviews
Reviewed March 26, 2013

Where to begin? No air conditioning no TV, pool like ice, bar tender never there, no coffee until 8 am, no wifi EVER. Ask the manager when anything will work, standard answer "one hour." And really watch the weird step into the bathroom. Just odd.

Room Tip: While you are in Loreto eat at La Palyapa! fantastic food
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ruthevansidaho
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 17, 2013

I stayed at the hotel with a tour group and was told the hotel was nice five years ago. But now it is worn and not appealing. Neither the rooms nor the grounds are being very well maintained. The bathroom window slats didn't close properly which might explain all the dirt on the toilet which I had to clean before using it. The bed spread was ripped and there were two dreary wall lamps which provided dim light in the room. The bed was not particularly comfortable. Fortunately the group only stayed one night, and even at that I spent as little time as possible in the room it was so dreary. The Internet service worked for a while in the lobby but then went down and the staff couldn't get it working again.

Presumably one can find better accommodations in the area.

Stayed: March 2013, traveled with friends
Thank HappyTrailsCanada
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 6, 2013

Pros:
Gorgeous grounds, pool and beach
Huge rooms
Good value for money if you don't book online
Very clean
Very helpful receptionist

Cons:
We booked online through despegar.com and ended up paying twice the room's worth which is unacceptable
It is a 20 min walk into town which is not doable for everyone
The flourescent lighting in the room is not particularly agreeable
Only 4 TV channels

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank HTH_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 31, 2012

I stayed at Desert Inn as part of a fishing trip to Loreto in August.

The accommodation was basic but clean and adequate. Comfortable beds, clean bathroom. Tired and slightly tatty furniture. A nice balcony overlooking beach and sea, and cool to be picked up on the beach every morning to go fishing. But the lock on the french windows onto the balcony was broken so the room could not be secured. TV worked, but reception was very poor. Wifi in principle available, but I could never get it to connect on my iPad. Other facilities that you'd expect in a hotel in Mexico were missing - no kettle or drinks making facilities, no fridge, no drinking water available in the room. So basic, acceptable, but only barely adequte, accommodation.

What made the stay terrible was the service. I arrived with a room reserved and prepaid. I was told sorry we have no rooms available tonight, we are full (some local fishing competition), you'll have to find somewhere else to stay. No offer of help to find alternative accommodation. Could I then have a full refund for all the prepaid nights - no, only for tonight, we have rooms free later in the week and you can come back. So I found somewhere else (much better), but returned to Desert Inn. Three days later I came back after fishing to find no water in the bathroom. The receptionist said it will be back on at 3pm, so I had a siesta. At 4pm still no water. A different receptionist said it will be back on at 5; I replied why have you just said 6 to the couple in front of me who've also been complaining. Response, it might be 5, it might be 6 or manana. Do you know what the problem is; no. I moved hotel. Basic mesage I got from the staff was of no concept of customer service, no energy in resolving problems or concern for guest well being.

There are far better places to stay in Loreto.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TJR300
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 26, 2012

I have stayed at the Desert Inns formerly La Pinta Hotels for over 8 years. The used to sell the Baja Travel Pass that was a great deal for frequent Baja travelers. They have sold off several of the hotels in Catavina, San Quintin, and Guierro Negro. My stay last week was one of my worst hotel experiences. They have pulled out the Satellite TV, no Internet, and no menus for dinner. They had two choses beef or chicken. I choose the beef and it was rancid. For breakfast they had a menu. I ordered the Denver omelet, OJ and coffee with milk. The waitress came back out in 10 minutes. No ham for the omelet, no OJ, no milk for the coffee. Don't waste your money. Even the waitress said the place was messed up. They Fonatur should just board it up.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank John F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews