We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“A sleepy town” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Posada de las Flores Loreto

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Posada de las Flores Loreto
Ranked #11 of 20 Hotels in Loreto
Newport Beach, California
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“A sleepy town”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 23, 2013

Our hotel was just as advertised. Right in the center of town and walking distance to everything. Across the plaza from the first catholic church in Baja.
Small hotel with great Mexico charm. Nice views from the roof but must look past telephone wires. The staff was very friendly and helpful. We opted for the suite which was a nice size and beautifully decorated in colonial decor. Bed was comfortable but no hot water in shower.

First trip to Loreto and was surprised how clean the town was. Several residents sweeping the curbs in front of their houses. Malecon recently improved and nicely done. Very friendly people and very slow pace. I recommend dinner at the Palapa restaurant.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Bill T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

100 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    38
    30
    15
    4
    13
See reviews for
9
58
7
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Rockwall, Texas
Level Contributor
152 reviews
101 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 204 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed May 24, 2013

I haven't given a hotel a "Terrible" rating in years, but if there were a lower category, I'd assign it to this place immediately. After a tumultuous 6 + hour drive from Cabo, we were anxiously awaiting the respite promised by some other TA reviews as well as a well decorated, well worded, glossy hotel web site. Our check in was relatively smooth, albeit haltingly slow. Walking the steps to the third floor "junior suite," I inquired as to the location of the hotel bar - NO BAR !! The check in guy laughed, apparently amused I'd ask for such an amenity in Mexico.
The unnumbered rooms on the third floor, he informed us, were the "suites;" how inviting, I thought, considering there was no bar. The room was tiny, tiny, stifling hot, the AC providing little relief. There was no desk for a laptop or writing, or anything else, for that matter. The old orange chair was complete with threadbare coverings, and a hole in the cushion. Upon sitting in the chair, my butt literally hit the floor - zero support. While on the floor, I noticed some unwanted guests - roaches on the floor and one on the wall. Alas, we located the "balcony" with a "plaza view." the "balcony" was a mere ledge not large enough for one person. The "plaza view" was completely obscured by a large tree. We decided to leave the room and walk to town for dinner and, yes, a margarita. On the way out the door, I told the check in guy we would not be staying the third night.
Following a great dinner on the plaza, we returned to the hotel for a dip in the highly touted roof top pool. Upon returning, the check in guy informed us that we would be charged for the third night even though we had given notice. The tiny pool was uninviting, covered in black bugs. We noticed an empty, locked bar on the rooftop, but who cares? A closed bar doesn't sell many drinks. The real shocker of the night came when we went to bed. The bed was made up with a lower fitted sheet and a heavy, thick goose down comforter. While this might initially sound cozy. the choices were either to sleep under the comforter and burn up, or sleep out of the comforter and be cold. A top sheet or blanket would have been so much more appropriate than a comforter befitting Alaska or Denmark far more than Mexico. Our sleep was a horrible night of cold/hot/toss/turn, etc. At this point, we decided not to stay the second night, either, charge or no charge, but we were not going to lose sleep another night.
"Breakfast" the next morning was bleak, so we went next door and had a wonderful hot breakfast for USD $6. I looked for some sign of life at the front desk before leaving, but found no one. We left the key in the room and hit the road. Absolutely the worst hotel experience I've encountered in a long, long time.

Room Tip: There are no tips for such a bad place; don't go in the first place.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Drroady
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cambridge, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
17 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 7, 2013

As soon as we walked into this small hotel, I knew it was going to be special. The entrance and ground floor spaces are cool and welcoming. How amazing to look up and see the glass floor of the rooftop pool! The bed was so comfortable and the 'art work' in the bathroom was amazing - never seen a swan made from a towel before.........The staff are friendly and helpful and were always available when we had any queries. Breakfast on the roof was wonderful and the 'breakfast' lady behind the scenes always waved and made us feel so welcome. Great 'people watching' opportunity from up on high as well. Yes - Loreto is small but there are lots of hidden gems. We had great, cheap tacos at a small local restaurant and an amazing evening at Fandangos coffee bar. Would always choose to stay here rather than the larger more impersonal hotels on the Malecon (boardwalk).

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TA2-Peggy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Heemstede, Noord-Holland, Netherlands
Level Contributor
3 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 20, 2012

Beautiful mexican style-hotel situated in centre of town, helpful and kind staff en good choice of breakfast, swimming pool at the roof. We've enjoyed our stay here. Although hotel is beautiful, town was very quiet. Not much activity going on.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Sandra W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego, California
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed March 1, 2012

Five of us went to the bar and we had 8 shots of tequila and 4 beers. The bartender charged us US $180 for this, a total ripoff. When we asked him if that was the correct amount he looked at his buddy at the bar and they both smiled. Do yourselves a big favor and avoid this place.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
28 Thank Sprocket619
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Squaw Valley, California
Level Contributor
16 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 5, 2012

Omg! This was our third trip to this spa and the massages are both reasonable and excellent! On this trip they had a special, full body massage for $39.99 USD. Wow! Agnes & Sergio, the proprietors are both complete professionals and personable. Agnes, Sergio & Suje are all a 10 on a 10 scale for massage expertise. They are skilled in various modalities of massage as you would expect from any 5 star plus facility, I'm not sure what the actual hotel is rated, but this is the real deal when it comes to massage satisfaction and professionalism. My wife got a mani/pedi as well and was very satisfied. The shop also has items for sale inside. Don't miss this diamond in the rough.

Room Tip: Unsure of hotel quality as we did not stay here. The spa is wonderful and well with the visit.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Ccoastguy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Avalon, California
Level Contributor
14 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 24, 2011

Loved the location. Staff was helpful and service was perfect for my needs. It appears Loreto was slow mid November and the hotel was very quite. I couldn't have picked a better place to stay for this trip. I enjoyed the breakfast on the roof deck in the mornings. I enjoyed some time in the on-site spa and had a good treatment. It is close to several restaurants, bars and shops all within walking distance and is a short jaunt to the Malacon. If I find myself back in Loreto, I would stay here again. I also enjoyed the cafe/bar next door, the El Bohemio.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank AvalonCatalina
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Loreto hotels
0.2 mi away
La Mision Loreto
La Mision Loreto
#2 of 20 in Loreto
4.5 of 5 stars 557 reviews
21.3 mi away
Villa del Palmar Beach Resort & Spa at The Islands of Loreto
0.9 mi away
Hotel Santa Fe
Hotel Santa Fe
#6 of 20 in Loreto
4.5 of 5 stars 248 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.3 mi away
Loreto Bay Golf Resort & Spa at Baja
0.1 mi away
Hotel 1697 Loreto
Hotel 1697 Loreto
#9 of 20 in Loreto
4.5 of 5 stars 36 reviews
0.2 mi away
Las Cabanas de Loreto
Las Cabanas de Loreto
#4 of 20 in Loreto
5.0 of 5 stars 262 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Posada de las Flores Loreto? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Posada de las Flores Loreto

Property: Posada de las Flores Loreto
Address: Avenida Salvatierra y Fco y Madero s/n | Col. Centro, Loreto 23880, Mexico
Location: Mexico > Baja California > Baja California Sur > Loreto
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #11 of 20 Hotels in Loreto
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Posada de las Flores Loreto 3.5*
Number of rooms: 15
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A place reserved for those people who are always looking for the best. An exclusive ambiance which blends the comfort of this era with the luxury and tradition of an antique Mexican house. Every detail has been carefully chosen with the basic elements of the Colonial -Mexican decoration: talavera, wood, iron etc. Each piece of furniture has been designed according to the colonial style of the 18th century. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Odigeo, Priceline, Orbitz, Despegar.com, Travelocity and Hotels.com so you can book your Posada de las Flores Loreto reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Posada De Las Flores Loreto Hotel Loreto

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing