We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Okay if you just want to sleep there, Very Basic”
2 of 5 bubbles Review of Hotel Plaza Loreto

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Hotel Plaza Loreto
Ranked #11 of 20 Hotels in Loreto
Tucson, Arizona
Level Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Okay if you just want to sleep there, Very Basic”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 26, 2013

The room was very dark but, smelled clean. The price was very good we paid only 580 pesos per night. We never got any hot water, the front desk person told me that there was plenty and to let it run a while. Still no hot water.

There was on street parking in front of the hotel and we felt that our ca was safe. If it was just me, or if I were a younger person I might stay here again but, I wouldn't bring my wife here again.

I didn't realize that the beaches in this area are full of Sting Rays and that swimming is not recommended. If I had known this I would have stayed in a Hotel with a pool.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Joe C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

49 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    8
    19
    16
    4
    2
See reviews for
8
16
3
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
110 reviews
92 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 75 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 11, 2011

Mid price hotel. Rooms quite large and clean although dark. Tv in room. No heating and in feb it is cold at night. Bathroom clean but a bit tired but the hot water in the shower ran out after 15 seconds both days! For the price and with the chilly temperature you expect hot water! Loreto was least charming place of a month in mexico: windy, full of retirees, time-share salesmen and other hasslers. Beach is grey and fouled by dogs. Better places to stop.

  • Stayed February 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TheAdventurer1234
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego, California
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 5, 2010

My husband, one of his best fishing buddies, and myself had a wonderful experience at the Plaza Loreto. We went fishing for 3 days and each morning someone knocked on our door to wake us up at 4:30 am each day. What service!!! If you want to truly experience Loreto this is the place to be!! Simple and realistic, yet clean and comfortable. Right in the heart of town so we could walk everywhere for meals, shopping and to the beach If you expect "5 stars" this is not for you, but WE hope to be back at the Plaza next year!! Great air-conditioning and TV for those lazy afternoon siestas.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank bs143
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 28, 2008

I stayed here for two deafening nights at the beginning of the month. I was with a kayak group but arrived a day early so that I oculd check out the town. Nice town by the way!! This hotel did not have our names even though our kayak company made reservations for us well in advanceand they were prepaid. since it was a weekend the noise level from the street was unbelieveable. Imagine cars driving at all hours of the night and your walls shaking from the deafening base. That was the good part. When we entered our room the smell was of old cigarettes and sewage. apparanely the hotel had a problem with their pipes. Our water was shut off for most of the first night so they could fix the situation but the smell never really went away. Did I mention the bedding? Dingy brown sheets that looked like they were ten years old and a rock hard mattress with the ugliest thin bedspread the looked like it should have been in whorehouse. There is no parking to be found anywhere and we were foolish enough to rent a car for those two days. Parking in the area of the hotel is impossible. the outside courtyard is nice and clean but this doesn't reflect the cleanliness of the rooms. Its not that the maids weren't doing a good job its that the place isn't maintained properly. And they don't take credit cards either. Oh yeah the pool is a big rat infested hole at the back of the courtyard!

  • Liked — it was cenrally located
  • Disliked — the horrible noise
  • Stayed May 2008
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank kimB2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Loreto hotels

Ontario, California
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 1, 2008

The location is perfect - Wander around, shop, dine out, party, crash comfortably, then get up & FISH!!!

If you are expecting the Westin, forget it. Loreto is a beautifully quaint town that caters to "old school" fishing. Me, my wife & my dearest of fishing buddies have been patrons of Hotel Plaza Loreto for years. They have been progressively adapting & upgrading through the years to keep pace with the modernizing environment in Loreto & the "benefits" that have come through acquisition of newer technology & finally being tied to a fiber optic network. They have always provided superior service, especially to our dearly departed friend Pat Harney, who even at 73 could still negotiate the stairwell to suite "A" after a night on the town (with Paco's help). Paco is a concierge at the hotel & will hook you up with whatever your heart desires & become a friend as well. You tell Paco & the rest of the famillia that borracho Kevin & Guierlmo from San Diego sent you. If you are looking for the BEST CAPITAN to FISH with ask Paco to hook you up with Placido Davis Murillo. We've been fishing with him for many, many years & he is by far the absolute best!!!

  • Liked — Service
  • Disliked — No Pool
  • Stayed May 2007, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank KMcCarthy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Clemente, California
Level Contributor
79 reviews
52 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 83 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 14, 2008

I stayed here with my wife and kids on Dec 28 on my way down to Cabo. The hotel is right in the center of town 1 block from the mission. Looks like it just got a fresh exterior paint job.

We had a ground floor room with 2 double beds. The room was plain but clean with firm beds and flat rock hard pillows. My kids were happy to have brought their own pillows with them. The TV worked, and we had plenty of hot water for 4 showers with good water pressure (that can be hit or miss in Baja). The hotel has a nice courtyard, but if people are in the courtyard talking you can here it in the hotel room.

I would recommend the hotel to anyone looking for an overnight stay, but there are better choices for longer stays. We paid $58 for one night.

  • Liked — Location in center of town
  • Disliked — Hard pillows
  • Stayed January 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank Bizztravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle
Level Contributor
60 reviews
47 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 2, 2008

The Plaza Hotel in Loreto is a beautiful building with a very nice courtyard. The location is good (you can walk to the beach) and there is a good coffee shop attached to the hotel. There is also free wi-fi in the lobby/courtyard. However, the rooms are not well-lit, the walls bare, and the water not very hot. If you are planning on spending all your time outdoors, then it's fine, but if you value cheerful rooms, better to stay someplace else. We paid $60 for a room, which I think is overpriced considering the rooms and lack of hot water.

  • Liked — The courtyard.
  • Disliked — The price.
  • Stayed January 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank lisarose
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Loreto hotels
0.7 mi away
Hotel Santa Fe
Hotel Santa Fe
#6 of 20 in Loreto
4.0 of 5 bubbles 312 reviews
0.6 mi away
Hacienda Suites
Hacienda Suites
#12 of 20 in Loreto
3.5 of 5 bubbles 59 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel 1697 Loreto
Hotel 1697 Loreto
#8 of 20 in Loreto
4.5 of 5 bubbles 52 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
21.3 mi away
Villa del Palmar Beach Resort & Spa at The Islands of Loreto
0.2 mi away
La Mision Loreto
La Mision Loreto
#2 of 20 in Loreto
4.5 of 5 bubbles 644 reviews
6.2 mi away
Loreto Bay Golf Resort & Spa at Baja
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Plaza Loreto? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Plaza Loreto

Property: Hotel Plaza Loreto
Address: Calle Miguel Hidalgo No. 2, Loreto 23880, Mexico
Location: Mexico > Baja California > Baja California Sur > Loreto
Hotel Style:
Ranked #11 of 20 Hotels in Loreto
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Plaza Loreto 3*
Number of rooms: 20
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, HotelQuickly and Hotels.com so you can book your Hotel Plaza Loreto reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing