We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Gracious service in Loreto”
Review of El Tiburon Casitas

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Loreto
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
El Tiburon Casitas
Ranked #5 of 20 Hotels in Loreto
Certificate of Excellence
Corralitos, California
Level Contributor
63 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
“Gracious service in Loreto”
Reviewed March 5, 2014

El Tiburon Casitas is another of the small service oriented hotels brought about by what I like to call the Trip Advisor Era. In these days of instant access to reviews for every hotel in the world, thanks to sites such as this, Many small hotels have the ability to compete with the large places based on merit.

Whether judged by merit, service or any other standard I can think of, El Tiburon and it's owner Liz Bracken will always be very near or at the top. Located only a block out of the town center, where the Mission and most of the restaurants are and only couple of blocks from the harbor, this is where you want to be in town. Remember that the sun sets over the desert on the east coast of Baja and there is no advantage to being further away from town by being closer to the water.

Others have accurately described the casitas, the pool, internet and of course the free use of the bicycles. What they haven't been able to convey is the synergy which is created from the return clientele. On my most recent visit everyone staying there except for us was a repeat visitor to the hotel. This leads to a casual feeling of returning to a favorite place.

Loreto is a wonderful town, a beautiful ocean, surrounded by pristine desert and full of colonial charm. Add to that the outstanding choices for dinning and it's a choice most would relish for a few days.

Over the years I've been fortunate enough to visit Loreto dozens of times, which has afforded me the opportunity to stay in most of the hotels there. Going forward this will be my first choice.

I almost didn't want to write this review for the selfish reason that it will certainly become more difficult to obtain reservation's at El Tiburon as ever more people here about this place...

Room Tip: this place is only a block from the best restaurants in town. Use the free bicycles for getting abou...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank pacair
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Liz B, Owner at El Tiburon Casitas, responded to this review, March 13, 2014
Wow- I do not even know what to say to respond to this! What a complete and thoughtful review.
It is a nice feeling to know all the hard work has paid off!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

220 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    212
    5
    1
    2
    0
See reviews for
41
100
17
4
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (76)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Delta, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed March 1, 2014

This was our first trip to Loreto, and we were delighted to find it was a quiet little Mexican town. Just what we were looking for.
We stayed at El Tiburon Casitas.as it caught our eye on the net. We spent two weeks there and Liz , the owner, was fantastic at all times. Liz was helpful from the moment we arrived showing us where to eat on our arrival, Orlando's was great. Then she helped to set up a visit to the local Sunday market with some other guests the next day.
Our casita #3 was very comfortable and spotlessly clean. It was very spacious with a well-equipped kitchen, and an endless supply of bottled water
Each of the casitas was completely separate from each other all set around a a large patio, with comfortable furniture and gas bbq., and a pool.The set-up was very conducive to talking to the other guests. We shared many happy hours, bbqs and boat and whale-watching trips with other guests.
El Tiburon is perfectly situated 2 blks from the town square ,restaurants , grocery stores and gift shops,and 1 blk. from the Malecon and the marina.
Liz's local knowledge was invaluable, and she had many stories to tell.
All-in-all the accommodation was 1st class, and all the people we met there, including Liz, were very friendly and we certainly plan to return there.

Room Tip: All casitas are great, just depends on the no. in your group.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank diandlar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Liz B, Owner at El Tiburon Casitas, responded to this review, March 10, 2014
Thank you for traveling all the way from Canada to stay in Loreto. I am glad you found the town to be quiet and charming like most people do. We do take pride in having the cleanest and most modern equipped casitas. Each Casita is different, in colors and design and layout, with different numbers of beds as you mention.. Casitas are designed for couples or 2-3 friends sharing each Casita.
And at 90 dollars a night, you get Bikes, Wi Fi, movies, and a Heated Pool!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lafayette, California
Level Contributor
15 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed February 26, 2014

We finally got around to going to the El Tiburon Casitas website to find availability in Loreto as a base to travel to whale watching sites. We found that they had availability even though other travel websites indicated no vacancy. We booked directly on their website and spent a week in one of their Casitas with everything in the room one would need for a very comfortable stay. We plan to return to this perfect place again for our 3rd time.

Room Tip: There are only 4 Casitas, all are furnished the same and each one as comfortable as the other
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank yzzbarw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Liz B, Owner at El Tiburon Casitas, responded to this review, March 6, 2014
Dear Guests, Thank you for sharing your booking experience with other travelers. It is true that the Trip Adviser Loreto page will prompt you to book with only Hotels that pay commission to businesses like Expedia, Booking.com and Hotels.com to name a few. As a very small boutique Hotel, we need to control all our booking directly with you! The Home Page here will go to "Search other Hotels in Loreto" because we do not partner with them and it can sometimes appear that we are not available because of this. I cannot control this. Trip adviser used to post all rates for comparison too, but that seems to be gone also with this new system and you have to actually put dates in to get complete info. To see our rates (90/night) please do go directly to our web site or call our US number! This info is posted on the Trip adviser site as we pay for this service.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Howey in the Hills, Florida
2 reviews
Reviewed February 13, 2014

Karen and I rented a casita for the week February 2-9. Our interaction with the owner started months before our arrival and continued on a daily basis during our visit. She recommended tours, restaurants, shops, a bank, and sight seeing. We were seeking the 'real' Baja and we found it and it was a great week. We did not have a rental vehicle and we had no need for one. We took the usual precautions to avoid problems, but we never felt unsafe and we had no problems with food. We prepared our own breakfasts and lunches and some dinners. We saw many whales on both coasts, many birds, some missions, a ranchito, and we had some conversations with local people.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank David L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Liz B, Owner at El Tiburon Casitas, responded to this review, March 6, 2014
Dear Friends, I am glad your Baja experience covered all the things I would have thought important to see here. Whale season from Jan to April is truly a magical time in Baja. Birds and all other wildlife are here all year. I am glad we lived up to our Traveler Choice Award standards for your stay and hope you will return.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oakland, California
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed February 7, 2014

We stayed at the Casitas for a week in January. Based on reviews, I was confident it would be a good experience, but it surpassed our expectations with flying colors! Liz (the owner) is possibly the most helpful and responsive host I have encountered anywhere. Our casita (queen) was much more spacious and tastefully decorated than we had anticipated from the photos, the kitchen was very well-equipped and even had a blender so we could make smoothies. The housekeeping services are amazing and very discreet. Liz goes out of her way to make sure you have everything you could possibly need and she is a mine of information for anything you could possibly want to know about while you are in Loreto. The property has wifi, so you can just email her with a question and she gets back to you very fast which was a big help on a couple of occasions. I loved the two dogs, the bikes, and the relaxed ambiance of the courtyard/pool area. The casitas are quite special and we will definitely return!

Room Tip: The casitas all seem to be a little different so make sure to find out which one will best suit your...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank madison108
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Liz B, Owner at El Tiburon Casitas, responded to this review, March 3, 2014
Your kind words are very much appreciated. Thank you for pointing out our well equipped kitchens. I try to make sure you will have what you need including wineglasses, Tupperware containers, ice tea pitchers, juice squeezers, toothpicks, etc.
The dogs and the Bikes always seem to be a hit. And you are correct, all casitas are different, both in design and number/size of beds. So depending on the lenght of stay and number of people in your group, we should have the perfect casita for you!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Whitehorse
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed February 2, 2014

The casitas are beautifully set up with kitchen and all the amenities that you would need. There are only 5 casitas so it is very relaxed and not overcrowded. The owner, Liz Bracken, is so great!!!! She is helpful and knows the area really well. She provides a warm and welcoming setting where it is easy to relax and enjoy your holiday. It is ideal for friends to gather as well. Each couple can have their own casitas but can enjoy each others company around the pool or the common area outside. It's the perfect combination of privacy and togetherness. We stayed at the El Tiburon Casitas for 9 days and then returned for another two before leaving the Baja. I hope to go back there next year.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Linegag
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Liz B, Owner at El Tiburon Casitas, responded to this review, March 3, 2014
Thank you for traveling all the way from Whitehorse to Loreto! You captured the intent of our small Hotel perfectly and it worked out great for you too since you had friends in neighboring casitas here in the gated compound..
Loreto is a perfect destination for a laid back trip, no big nightclubs but peaceful waters and magical islands to explore by boat or Kayak.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Phoenix AZ
Level Contributor
69 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed January 6, 2014

We stayed here for 11 days . Liz and Ivan are amazing hosts, attending to every detail and question. Ivan became our tour guide, taking us to Nopolo, Puerto Escondido, the San Javier Mission and even arranged for us to see some homes for sale. His command of the English language, his knowledge of the surroundings, attention to our multitude of questions and sense of humor were much appreciated.
We met some lovely people from Canada and Yukon territories and shared many tales ( and a few happy drinks) around the gathering place by the pool. Very private casitas, but much attention to detail when we wnated it. Thanks, Liz, for creating such a beautiful place, that is so close to the water.

Room Tip: We enjoyed Casita #3 and chose it because of the king-size bed.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank doctormaggie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Liz B, Owner at El Tiburon Casitas, responded to this review, February 15, 2014
Thank you Maggie for the positive review!
Casita 3 and 4 do have King beds, Casita 1 has 3 beds, and Casita 2 is a romantic Casita for 2!
We want to keep our reputation for not bothering our guests unless they need help.
Also thank you for booking direct off our website. If you try to book on the tripadvisor page (check price box) it will send you to another hotel! We have a business listing and our website and phone number is right on the TripAdvisor opening Page.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Loreto hotels
21.5 mi away
Villa del Palmar Beach Resort & Spa at The Islands of Loreto
0.2 mi away
La Mision Loreto
La Mision Loreto
#2 of 20 in Loreto
4.5 of 5 bubbles 650 reviews
0.8 mi away
Hotel Santa Fe
Hotel Santa Fe
#6 of 20 in Loreto
4.0 of 5 bubbles 314 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Las Cabanas de Loreto
Las Cabanas de Loreto
#3 of 20 in Loreto
5.0 of 5 bubbles 291 reviews
6.4 mi away
Loreto Bay Golf Resort & Spa at Baja
0.5 mi away
Hotel Oasis
Hotel Oasis
#9 of 20 in Loreto
3.5 of 5 bubbles 143 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to El Tiburon Casitas? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about El Tiburon Casitas

Property: El Tiburon Casitas
Address: Calle Davis Norte 65 | Corner of Agua Dulce steps from the water, Loreto 23880, Mexico
Location: Mexico > Baja California > Baja California Sur > Loreto
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 20 Hotels in Loreto
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Quiet, ultra clean, centrally located, with 4 charming and fully furnished Casitas around a Palapa and BBQ area and located between the Marina and the Mission and town Center. Sparkling heated swimming pool, Cold AC units and ceiling fans, full kitchens with coffee maker, water cooler, toaster, etc., Luxury Queen or king beds, Full baths with HOT showers and American toilets, secure parking behind gates, 24 hr arrival and check in, daily maid service, Free unlimited WiFi. Located just up from the beach and Malecon --- so much quieter than Hotels sitting right at the street. Walking distance to all shopping, restaurants, beach, Marina, Bank, Bakeries, liquor store, Dive Center, Museum. Complimentary Bicycles available on site. 7 years old and American owned and operated to the highest standards. Pool towels and all linens included. VHS and/or DVD player in room, Free Video and Book Library. This is a SAFE and secure hotel behind huge gates. Must book directly on Hotel Website. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing