We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful Stay”
Review of El Tiburon Casitas

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Loreto
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
El Tiburon Casitas
Ranked #3 of 20 Hotels in Loreto
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed November 16, 2013

We are B & B owners in Estes Park, CO and were looking for a relaxing place to unwind from a busy summer and re-cooperation from our flood. We found the perfect place in Loreto, Mexico. El Tiburon Casitas is in a very quiet part of town and the casita was exactly what we needed. King bed, lovely kitchen and bath with a beautiful area to sit by the pool. Liz and Ivan went out of their way to be sure we had everything we needed. We were privileged to have one of Ivan's wonderful meals, chocolate clams. We had caught fish and he even cooked up some of our fish for us to go with the meal. Ivan took us on a tour of the old mission and hiked to a waterfall. He was great. We would recommend coming to Loreto and the casitas. The people were very friendly and we felt very safe.
If you are planning a fishing trip Pedro (Peter) that has been fishing for 40 years was great. Went out of his way to be sure we had a great day of fishing.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank kokopelliinn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Liz B, Owner at El Tiburon Casitas, responded to this reviewResponded December 19, 2013

It is nice to know that someone else in the rental business appreciates a the effort it take s to run a first class establishment! And Yes, despite the American Media Hype, Loreto is still a quiet safe place to vacation. Pedro is a fun Mexican Captain and loves to make sure you have a wonderful day on the fabulous Sea of Cortez.. We hope to see you here again in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (224)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

127 - 133 of 224 reviews

Reviewed November 16, 2013

We stayed here with friends in November and had a great time. The casitas are super clean, comfortable and modern. We joked that they must have invisible elves for housekeepers. We would walk to breakfast at a restaurant nearby in the morning ( Orlando's and Cafe Ole were two of our favorites) and come back an hour or two later and everything was neat and tidy but we never saw anyone actually cleaning the whole week!

There were lots of little extras that really made this place exceed our expectations. Loved sitting under the palapa by the pool and getting caught up on email and news using the fast wifi internet connection. It was also close to the waterfront, shops, restaurants and most importantly, the awesome ice cream shop (La Michoacan ) that was a daily stop for us.

We all agreed that this was one of our most favorite places to stay in Mexico and a great value. We look forward to coming back again.

Room Tip: We stayed in casita 3 but all have similar amenities and are large and well equipped.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Marcy S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Liz B, Owner at El Tiburon Casitas, responded to this reviewResponded November 25, 2013

It is so nice you appreciated the quiet unobtrusive way our staff serves our quests and keeps the rooms spotless. We strive to let our guests enjoy the peace and quiet of our small Hotel. We upgraded our internet last year and have been happy with the results so far. Thanks for taking the time to post your comments!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 16, 2013

This trip couldn't have been better because of staying at El Tiburon! Perfect for a single traveler, a couple, or a whole group! It's not always easy to cater to a diverse group of travelers, and the owner of El Tiburon does just that - flawlessly! Separate and modern casitas with large bathrooms, kitchens, air conditioning, bottled water dispensers and super comfortable beds. Functional common area with plenty of room to hang out together for dinner or socializing, or find a quiet spot near the pool for you and a good book. Central location allows easy walking to the town center, great restaurants, the dive shop, or the marina and beach. Bikes are available no charge to cruise around town. If we wanted to venture further out, it was instantly arranged and the extent of the owners connections was obvious. El Tiburon is a secure property with the owner on site and two guard dogs and we felt completely safe at all times. Golfing, diving, fishing, and just plain relaxing for a whole week - HEAVENLY!

Room Tip: Choose a casitas based on sleeping configurations - they are all great!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank nickiwanderson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Liz B, Owner at El Tiburon Casitas, responded to this reviewResponded November 24, 2013

Yes! We agree- Our location is the best! And we are glad you took advantage of the free bikes. That is a very popular feature here! Hope to see you here next Fall for more Diving and Golfing.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 15, 2013

Pictures don't do this slice of heaven just. There are individual casitas, no common walls, very private and quiet. Each has everything you need including bottled water! The bathrooms have individual water heaters, great water pressure, and best of all shower heads high enough for us taller travelers. A must for all.

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank shirlamx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Liz B, Owner at El Tiburon Casitas, responded to this reviewResponded November 24, 2013

Thanks for noting our included amenities. And you are right the pictures on this site do not do us justice!, We have asked Trip Advisor to take the old pictures down- Taken before the property was complete and before big improvements were made in the last year- but they have refused...use the direct link to our website to book and see current photos please.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 13, 2013

The best thing about El Tiburon is how connected to the town Liz (the owner) is. She made golf, fishing, scuba, spa's, and trips to the missions super easy.

The first morning three of our party of 9 headed out to do a little fishing--the captain Liz arranged had us all ready to fish (he helped us with our licenses) and within an hour we were catching fish! We ended up with a nice bounty that fed our group for 3 days!

The next morning 2 of us headed to the golf course--the other 7 went snorkeling/diving and had a great time. Unfortunately the golf course has been damaged by the recent storm, the front nine taking the worst of it--the second hole is currently under water. We slogged along the front nine (playing #3 twice), but after the turn, our fortunes changed. The back nine was in great shape considering they had 8 inches of rain in 8 hours just a couple of weeks before. Quite a challenge, the back nine--be sure to bring some extra balls, as this re-designed David Duvall course can punish those who try to bite off more than they can chew. Pretty sure Duvall must have stock in several golf ball companies!

The vistas from the course are awesome--sometimes too distracting.

Back to the El Tiburon--it's location is prime--a short walk to the beach and town (and ice cream--just ask Liz). And the rooms are wonderful--nice beds, super clean, and the best construction I have ever seen in Mexico.

We usually travel as a gang--this time 4 couples and one single, and El Tiburon Casitas fits the bill perfectly!

Stayed: November 2013, traveled with friends
1  Thank Tim T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Liz B, Owner at El Tiburon Casitas, responded to this reviewResponded November 21, 2013

Thanks Tim- Your group was a great group to have. We can fit up to 12 people here and your group BBQ and fish dinners were awesome! Francisco is a great Captain and Rafa did a great job getting all the divers out in the beautiful waters around the Islands Yes the golf course is a challenge but definitely beautiful.. I appreciate that you recognized the quality of construction of all our Casitas- we think they are the best built in Loreto!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 12, 2013

We've traveled a lot of different places in Mexico and this was by far one of the best. El Tiburon is totally safe with the two guard dogs which is perfect for single travelers. There is plenty of bottled water too. Tons if great restaurants close by and only a couple blocks from the marina. Highly recommend!

Room Tip: Casita #2 was great
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Julie Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Liz B, Owner at El Tiburon Casitas, responded to this reviewResponded November 19, 2013

Thanks Julie! Loreto is safe even for single travelers such as yourself
Our location is Prime and we are glad you felt that way!.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 11, 2013

The reviews written by prior guest are spot on! I had a easy and super convenient flight out of LAX to Loreto, International on Alaskan Air. Check in for an international flight was incredibly easy!! I was traveling with my seven year old daughter, Olivia, to visit Loreto for the first time. Less than three hours and we landed at a beautifully modern airport. Customs was simple and smooth. Make sure that after you go through the glass doors you don't stop and talk with the guys at the table outside of the doors.. They appear to be officials, but they are actually selling time shares. They are polite but their persistence is irritating.
The shuttle to the front door was effortless.

We were greeted by the resident doggies, Serena and Lucy. Both were friendly and well trained so as not to be a nuisance..

The casitas were built to American standards; no wacky plugs, double paned windows, solid construction, microwave, hot water, fresh drinking water.. Everything yoou have at homme. Exceptional!!

I felt totally safe walking the short walk to the city center with my daughter!! Lovely little shops and restaurants. Liz will direct you to all the special spots. New grocery store was awesome. But, if you are a coffee lover as I am, bring YOUR OWN COFFEE!! There was a coffee maker, but Mexican coffee is not great!

We snorkeled, had Ivan take us up to the mountains for hiking. He is a super guide, took loads of pictures. Had my birthday dinner at a sweet restaurant in the city center. Thanks for folks like Liz, the dog population is well controlled with spaying and neutering programs; and the random dog found during our walks was not annoying or aggressive.

We took advantage of the large collection of movies Liz has in the library to enjoy in our room. It was fun to introduce Olivia to old faithfuls like; Home Alone, City Slickers, Fantasia and other classics.

This trip was made simple by the easy flight, effortless access to the city and kindness of Liz and Ivan.. I'm already looking into flights for next whale watching season! Thanks Liz and Ivan!!! We miss you both. Give Serena and Lucy some love from Olivia, too.

Stayed: November 2013, traveled with family
Thank Mechell93401
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Liz B, Owner at El Tiburon Casitas, responded to this reviewResponded November 19, 2013

Thank You for you complete review and notation of the little details that make a stay at El Tiburon a step above all other accommodations here in Loreto! Safety is an issue travelers are concerned with and Here in southern Baja we just do not have these issues like the border areas. I am glad you and your young daughter were able to experience all of Loreto and feel safe! We look forward to having you back in the Winter months for the Grey Whale Migration!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Loreto hotels
0.2 mi away
Coco Cabanas Loreto
Coco Cabanas Loreto
#6 of 20 in Loreto
322 reviews
21.5 mi away
Villa del Palmar Beach Resort & Spa at The Islands of Loreto
6.4 mi away
Loreto Bay Golf Resort & Spa at Baja
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
La Mision Loreto
La Mision Loreto
#2 of 20 in Loreto
685 reviews
0.8 mi away
Hotel Santa Fe
Hotel Santa Fe
#7 of 20 in Loreto
343 reviews
0.4 mi away
Las Cabanas de Loreto
Las Cabanas de Loreto
#5 of 20 in Loreto
293 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to El Tiburon Casitas? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about El Tiburon Casitas

Address: Calle Davis Norte 65 | Corner of Agua Dulce steps from the water, Loreto 23880, Mexico
Location: Mexico > Baja California > Baja California Sur > Loreto
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 20 Hotels in Loreto
Price Range: $110 - $120 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Quiet, ultra clean, centrally located, with 4 charming and fully furnished Casitas around a Palapa and BBQ area and located between the Marina and the Mission and town Center. Sparkling heated swimming pool, Cold AC units and ceiling fans, full kitchens with coffee maker, water cooler, toaster, etc., Luxury Queen or king beds, Full baths with HOT showers and American toilets, secure parking behind gates, 24 hr arrival and check in, daily maid service, Free unlimited WiFi. Located just up from the beach and Malecon --- so much quieter than Hotels sitting right at the street. Walking distance to all shopping, restaurants, beach, Marina, Bank, Bakeries, liquor store, Dive Center, Museum. Complimentary Bicycles available on site. 7 years old and American owned and operated to the highest standards. Pool towels and all linens included. VHS and/or DVD player in room, Free Video and Book Library. This is a SAFE and secure hotel behind huge gates. Must book directly on Hotel Website. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing