We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Aussies hit Loreto Mexico”
Review of El Tiburon Casitas

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Loreto
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
El Tiburon Casitas
Ranked #5 of 20 Hotels in Loreto
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed October 3, 2013

El Tiburon Castitas have everything! Free bikes for the guests, great pool and close to the beach and Marina. Owners of the Castias helped with every request and were really friendly and spoke English. Rooms were really big and comfortable and you had a fully equipped kitchen. They were cleaned daily and chilled spring water was in the room. Really great value for money!

Room Tip: All rooms have same facilities and are in common courtyard with great security.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Rob K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Liz B, Owner at El Tiburon Casitas, responded to this reviewResponded November 1, 2013

Dear Rob and Gail,
It was truly a pleasure to have you here and all the way from Australia, no less!
I appreciate your positive comments and am glad you found our property to be a good value. We are proud of our Trip Advisor rating for 2013 Best bargain Hotel in Loreto, Mexico. We too feel our location is special and convenient for all local activities. And our complimentary bikes are a great way to explore the town. Gracias, Liz

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (225)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

138 - 144 of 225 reviews

Reviewed October 1, 2013

Julie and I love Loreto, and were delighted to discover El Tiburon Casitas! We could not be happier with our stay in Casita #3! I love to cook, so the full kitchen and full size refrigerator suited us well. The biggest challenge was not buying too many provisions! We loved the vibrant colors of the walls and the artwork. There is nothing bad about waking up to a Yellowtail Tuna or Roosterfish! You can't beat the central location! We rode the provided bicycles everywhere! There is a new supermarket a very short walk or bicycle ride away. One late night we watched lightning in the East during a full moon, riding bikes and sitting on the rocks along the Malecon'. Priceless! Thanks to Liz, the owner, and her two pups, Lucy & Sirena! We are dog lovers, and we enjoyed lounging around the pool, hanging with the pups! We will certainly be back! Salud!

Room Tip: Todas las habitaciones son excelentes!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank SteveO2024
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Liz B, Owner at El Tiburon Casitas, responded to this reviewResponded November 1, 2013

Dear Julie and Steve,
We so enjoyed having you here and so did the dogs! We look forward to your return and appreciate your wanting to spend your precious vacation time here in Loreto at El Tiburon.
We have made a huge effort to provide everything you may need and love the fact that you noticed!
Lucy and Sirena will be awaiting your return!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 11, 2013

We stayed here for a week in August during our kayaking trip. The Casitas are well maintained, exceptionally clean, and very comfortable for a long term stay. There is small pool, pool chairs, and covered outside sitting area. The beach and restaurants are a very easy walk from here. The Casitas have a complete kitchen, but we only used the refrigerator and the coffee maker. Our favorite though was the guard dogs, Lucy and Sirena. We had left our girls at home, so it was really nice to have a friendly pair greet us each day.

If I could change anything it would be to add more drying racks. There is one small one near the pool, but one for each Casita would be nice. Especially since there aren't many place inside the Casitas to hang wet stuff.

My husband was very concerned about safety, this being Mexico and all. But, we found Loreto as a whole to be very safe. People were mostly friendly and the food was excellent.

I highly recommend this place and hope to return!!

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank mclewis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Liz B, Owner at El Tiburon Casitas, responded to this reviewResponded November 1, 2013

Dear Mary,
Thank you for your thoughtful and positive review, I am so happy you liked the features of our Casitas. I will personally see about more hanging racks for wet suits and kayak gear. That is an excellent idea! Gracias, Liz

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 8, 2013

This was just the relaxing week I needed! Casitas ( with a King or Queen bed) are chock full of everything you need to eat in or relax around the small but fabulous pool. Since my visit here last summer, lots of nice improvements were seen- beautiful new artwork in the rooms and lovely new pots and plants in the patios and gardens. This place gets better and better now that all buildings are complete and the finishing touches have been lovingly applied by the American owner. Fishing was good and the marina is just down the street. Orlando's restaurant and Mita Gourmet is just around the corner. I will definitely be back next summer.

Room Tip: Casita #4 has a super comfy King Bed and a fabulous bathroom. Be sure to book with the hotel directl...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Nevadagirls
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Liz B, Owner at El Tiburon Casitas, responded to this reviewResponded August 10, 2013

I am happy you were able to take advantage of our 490/week+tx TripAdvisor summer special.
(one of the advantages of booking direct with us) Our direct email contact and website info is at the top of the TripAdvisor Listing. Our Hotel is a great value at 490-590/week , depending on the Casita and number of persons..... Looking forward to seeing you next summer!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 2, 2013

Compared to other Loreto Hotels, the location, value and ambiance here is unmatched! Rooms are spotless, great beds and hot showers, cold A/C. It was safe, quiet, and the closest hotel to the Marina and beach.

Room Tip: I stayed in Casita #1 which has 3 beds and a full big kitchen, also ask Liz for a discount if stayin...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Peggy L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Liz B, Owner at El Tiburon Casitas, responded to this reviewResponded August 5, 2013

Peggy, thanks for coming to Loreto and experiencing our small town charm. We are so happy you enjoyed the ambiance here and that you felt that we offered an excellent value for your vacation dollar!t
At $450-590 a week we do offer unmatched quality and location.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 28, 2013

What a wonderful place to stay. Our Casita was extremely well built and decorated. Very comfortable. Ivan cooked a great meal for a group of us one night. We look forward to staying at El Tiburon on our next trip to Loreto.
Lori and Thomas Ritter

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank LoriThomas1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Liz B, Owner at El Tiburon Casitas, responded to this reviewResponded August 5, 2013

Thank You Lori and Thomas for being our guests!. We certainly look forward to hosting you again. Ivan is glad you appreciated his poolside BBQ skills and I appreciate your notice of our American quality standards in all of our Casitas, including roomy, tall showers and one flush toilets. We went to alot of work and expense to have the best built Casitas around!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 20, 2013

My wife and I have stayed at ETC four consecutive years and continue to find it to be a very nice and comfortable place to stay. Liz, Ivan, Lucy and Sirena all contribute to make our stay there as easy as possible. New artwork and completed construction welcomed us this year and further enhanced the beauty of the grounds. The location is perfect for our needs as most everything we want is nearby. Orlando's restaurant, Mita, grocery stores, fruteria, Michoacana, cervezeria, Rey's tacos!! This place is quiet, quiet, quiet - as long as you don't mind the neighboring roosters! Peace and tranquility abound. If you want a big, noisy hotel with a restaurant and bar you will need to go somewhere else. If you want a place to relax and rest in peace stay at ETC.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank bendorbreak
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Liz B, Owner at El Tiburon Casitas, responded to this reviewResponded August 5, 2013

Thank You for your positive review, and I hope we will see you for a fifth year in a row in 2014.
I think the neighbors just got rid of that pesky rooster! So let's hope for another quiet year here at El Tiburon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Loreto hotels
21.5 mi away
Villa del Palmar Beach Resort & Spa at The Islands of Loreto
0.5 mi away
Coco Cabanas Loreto
Coco Cabanas Loreto
#6 of 20 in Loreto
324 reviews
6.4 mi away
Loreto Bay Golf Resort & Spa at Baja
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Las Cabanas de Loreto
Las Cabanas de Loreto
#4 of 20 in Loreto
297 reviews
0.8 mi away
Hotel Santa Fe
Hotel Santa Fe
#7 of 20 in Loreto
346 reviews
0.2 mi away
La Mision Loreto
La Mision Loreto
#2 of 20 in Loreto
692 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to El Tiburon Casitas? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about El Tiburon Casitas

Address: Calle Davis Norte 65 | Corner of Agua Dulce steps from the water, Loreto 23880, Mexico
Location: Mexico > Baja California > Baja California Sur > Loreto
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 20 Hotels in Loreto
Price Range: $110 - $120 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Quiet, ultra clean, centrally located, with 4 charming and fully furnished Casitas around a Palapa and BBQ area and located between the Marina and the Mission and town Center. Sparkling heated swimming pool, Cold AC units and ceiling fans, full kitchens with coffee maker, water cooler, toaster, etc., Luxury Queen or king beds, Full baths with HOT showers and American toilets, secure parking behind gates, 24 hr arrival and check in, daily maid service, Free unlimited WiFi. Located just up from the beach and Malecon --- so much quieter than Hotels sitting right at the street. Walking distance to all shopping, restaurants, beach, Marina, Bank, Bakeries, liquor store, Dive Center, Museum. Complimentary Bicycles available on site. 7 years old and American owned and operated to the highest standards. Pool towels and all linens included. VHS and/or DVD player in room, Free Video and Book Library. This is a SAFE and secure hotel behind huge gates. Must book directly on Hotel Website. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing