We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful Memorial Anniversary Week for $80 a Night”
Review of El Tiburon Casitas

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Loreto
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
El Tiburon Casitas
Ranked #5 of 20 Hotels in Loreto
Certificate of Excellence
Minden, Nevada
Level Contributor
69 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
“Wonderful Memorial Anniversary Week for $80 a Night”
Reviewed May 28, 2013

This wonderful collection of casitas is the best value we have found on the Baja. Between the bike availability, crystal clean pool, convenient location to shops and restaurants, modern kitchen and bath facilities, a better price can not be found in Loreto. The fish were biting & we landed three really big ones.
Happy Anniversary to us. And thanks Liz for celebrating with us

  • Stayed May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Harvestdrmr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Liz B, Owner at El Tiburon Casitas, responded to this review, May 3, 2015
Happy Anniversary to you too! I am pleased that you have decided to come every year for your anniversary! That speaks volumes to the quality of our casitas. Gracias!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

221 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    213
    5
    1
    2
    0
See reviews for
41
100
18
4
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (77)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Anchorage, Alaska
Level Contributor
31 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed May 27, 2013

The friendliness of the on-line booking and directions foretold that Liz and El Tiburon were very special. Brought her a box of chocolates and were welcomed to a wonderful dinner party on the patio upon arrival. There are just 4 individual casitas each of which are very comfortable and well appointed. The pool is small but gets wonderful sun all day. There is no view per se but the walls surrounding the property have wonderful art painted on them. The experience felt like joining Liz's family from the moment we arrived. She could not be more gracious, helpful or fun to be around. If you are looking to be by yourself and not interact with others, this would not be for you. We have found a second home here and will be coming back often. As for Loreto, it is a very special place indeed. Beautiful, clean, very relaxing and friendly.

Room Tip: Three casitas have queen size bed and futon. One unit has two double beds and a twin.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank William D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ventura, California
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed May 26, 2013

My hope was to experience a simple place to stay that allowed me the opportunity to access the marine diversity of the Sea of Cortez.
El Tiburon was it! I was within a block of the sea wall. The snorkeling beach was very close. Bikes on the premises made the town and Sea accessible quickly.
Liz helped with arranging a boat trip to Coronado Island. Coronado was amazing. I will return again.
Liz helped arrange for a guided tour to the area on the way to and around Mission San Javier. Cave drawings, water falls, desert flora and fauna were fantastic. The Mission it self was worth the trip away from the beautiful Sea.
Liz pointed n the direction of El Picazon. Wow! El Picazon is off the grid. It has the cool and refreshing elegance of open hospitality. The snorkeling here was fantastic.
The Casitas were comfortable and well maintained. The pool and patio were a great place to relax and be refreshed. The pool was clean and did not feel full of chemicals that usually hurt my eyes.
I am looking forward to returning again.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank PatriciaE12594
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pismo Beach, California
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed May 25, 2013

This is the best kept wonderful little secret in Loreto, Baja California. It is in an excellent location as it is within walking distance from key places such as restaurants, the main plaza, stores and grocery store; and a couple of blocks from the waterfront which puts it far enough from the main drag and its noisy traffic. Rooms are nicely decorated, kept in pristine condition with brand new appliances, and all the bathrooms have beautiful tile work skillfully done by the owner. Every room has filtered water (hot and cold), and I never lost sleep worrying about safety as there are two of the most loving yet -serious- guard dogs that remain vigilant 24/7. Liz, the owner is super knowledgeable and friendly who can tell you all about the ocean wildllife and the best places to go to see it. It is one place I will easily come back to again and again.

Room Tip: Beds are firm, if you like yours to be softer, you can ask for a mattress topper.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank pismoplanner
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pismo Beach, California
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed May 25, 2013

I came with friends to celebrate a friend's special birthday and the El Tiburon Casitas was the perfect fit for us without a doubt. It is exactly as it is portrayed in the pictures. The inside of the casitas are darling as well. The owner put great care into her rooms and has decorated each one different from the others which makes me want to come and stay in a different one each time in future visits. You feel at home in them. It is very quiet there and located just one block away from the waterfront. We rode the bikes which she offers to those staying there a number of times and it was a blast. The owner is extremely knowledgeable and helpful in every way. It is definitely a place you feel welcome and want to return to.

Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank Linda H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Liz B, Owner at El Tiburon Casitas, responded to this review, August 5, 2013
Thank You Linda! The Bikes are a popular attraction and a good way to explore the small town. It was great to have all of you here to celebrate a special event! Since you have been here, we have added yet more artwork in the casitas and on the walls! Please come again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Luis Obispo, California
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed May 21, 2013

I celebrated my 50Th birthday here in Loreto and stayed at the Tiburon Casitas. Clean, quiet, perfectly safe. 5 girlfriends in two casitas was a perfect fit. Highly recommended for any occasion. Hostess was the best and very helpful in every way. Definitely coming back to the casitas!

Room Tip: casita 1 has three beds.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lisatrips63
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pismo Beach, California
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed May 21, 2013

We came to celebrate our friend's 50th birthday, and had a marvelous time. Located just a block from the beach. The "casitas" are self contained units with an excellent set up. Nothing to envy the expensive hotels along the waterfront. Outstanding finishes, air conditioned, filtered water in every room (hot and cold), full refrigerator and stove, and a small pool outside that is pristine and well maintained. Bicycles available for guests to use and cruise around town. Gated and safe. Owner managed, and she is super friendly and knowledgeable of the area, customs and what the best places to go are. I would definitely come back.

Room Tip: A honeymoon suite is available.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sylvia G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Loreto hotels
21.5 mi away
Villa del Palmar Beach Resort & Spa at The Islands of Loreto
0.2 mi away
La Mision Loreto
La Mision Loreto
#1 of 20 in Loreto
660 reviews
0.5 mi away
Coco Cabanas Loreto
Coco Cabanas Loreto
#6 of 20 in Loreto
317 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Hotel Santa Fe
Hotel Santa Fe
#7 of 20 in Loreto
316 reviews
0.4 mi away
Las Cabanas de Loreto
Las Cabanas de Loreto
#3 of 20 in Loreto
292 reviews
6.4 mi away
Loreto Bay Golf Resort & Spa at Baja
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to El Tiburon Casitas? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about El Tiburon Casitas

Property: El Tiburon Casitas
Address: Calle Davis Norte 65 | Corner of Agua Dulce steps from the water, Loreto 23880, Mexico
Location: Mexico > Baja California > Baja California Sur > Loreto
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 20 Hotels in Loreto
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Quiet, ultra clean, centrally located, with 4 charming and fully furnished Casitas around a Palapa and BBQ area and located between the Marina and the Mission and town Center. Sparkling heated swimming pool, Cold AC units and ceiling fans, full kitchens with coffee maker, water cooler, toaster, etc., Luxury Queen or king beds, Full baths with HOT showers and American toilets, secure parking behind gates, 24 hr arrival and check in, daily maid service, Free unlimited WiFi. Located just up from the beach and Malecon --- so much quieter than Hotels sitting right at the street. Walking distance to all shopping, restaurants, beach, Marina, Bank, Bakeries, liquor store, Dive Center, Museum. Complimentary Bicycles available on site. 7 years old and American owned and operated to the highest standards. Pool towels and all linens included. VHS and/or DVD player in room, Free Video and Book Library. This is a SAFE and secure hotel behind huge gates. Must book directly on Hotel Website. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing