We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The staff is as wonderful as the hotel itself.”
Review of La Mision Loreto

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
La Mision Loreto
Ranked #2 of 20 Hotels in Loreto
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Reviewed March 14, 2014

I could have stayed here forever. The rooms are wonderful and sunrise from our balcony was the perfect place to start each morning. The staff was incredibly helpful and pleasant. I was with a group of ten in the dining room who often needed a bunch of separate checks, changed their minds when ordering and in general were a pain in the neck. The staff in the restaurant was unfailingly positive and accommodating. I don't know how they do it.

If ever I visit Loreto again, this is where i'll stay.

Room Tip: It would be hard to beat a room overlooking the bay.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Patricia022
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (685)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

349 - 355 of 685 reviews

Reviewed March 9, 2014

I live in San Juanico, BS, but travel to Loreto often because of the airport and shopping. I always stay at La Mision after spending years trying every hotel in Loreto. The food is great and the service is remarkable. Walking distance to shopping and historical district. The view from the private balconies out to the island and harbor is well worth getting up early for to see the sun rise over the island. Magnificent!

Room Tip: Try to stay away from south corner rooms as the building blocks view of the island.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Andrea P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 7, 2014

Two nights at La Mision Hotel Loreto was not enough! We were forced to cut our trip to Loreto short by one day, due to weather at home. But once we arrived at La Mision Hotel, all our worries slipped away. Everyone was nice and our room was fantastic. Delicious breakfast buffet, and free sunrises from the balcony each morning!
We'll be back to see all our amigos at La Mision Hotel.

Room Tip: Ocean view suite! We were on the third floor. Next time, we'll spring for the deluxe ocean vie...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 190FlyGirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 28, 2014

We stayed at La Mision in February and we could not fault the hotel, the staff or the food. Everything was excellent and the staff went out of their way to make sure we were happy. Alan on reception was especially good. The restaurant is fantastic and the service is wonderful.

Great place in a great location with the most fantastic sun rises ever

Go stay and chill out it is great

We will definitely be back

  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AlanM_L0nd0n
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 28, 2014

Excellent property with excellent service, staff, bar and restaurant. Clean and polished with Old World elegance yet modern rooms. I was particularly pleased with the personalized service from waiters Jaime and Juan during our extended stay there.

Room Tip: Best view from second or third story, "ocean view". This is a U shaped building, so side...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Julie M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 27, 2014

The hotels name “the mission” suggested to me that it would be built in the mission style, but there its resemblance to anything mission like ends. Public rooms are grand tall ceilinged affairs with grand chandeliers, and imposing furniture, there’s a Starbucks coffee shop with a huge balcony overlooking the swimming pool; and our 4th floor bedroom was a spacious affair overlooking the pool, the waterfront promenade and the Sea of Cortes. Fabulous fruit plate for breakfast, husband and daughter enjoyed hearty egg dishes with a modern Mexican flair. Look forward to having dinner there on our next visit. Short walk to THE mission and pedestrian heart of Loreto.

Room Tip: Well worth paying extra for a room at the front overlooking the swimming pool and the Sea of Cortez
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JB-San-Mateo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 27, 2014

Beautiful hotel in the perfect, central location on the malecon. Walking distance to the center of town, restaurants, shopping and the boat pier. Just walking along the malecon daily was nice exercise and a pleasant experience. Great accommodations with large, comfortable and clean rooms. I had a mountain view from my balcony--which was ok as it was cheaper. Facilities included a very good restaurant with the perfect view of the bay, two bars and a swimming pool--all of which I enjoyed. I did not have a chance to check out the spa during my six-day stay. The staff members were always courteous, friendly and helpful. Special thanks to Filiberto and Alan for all of their assistance (especially with the day trips). Day trips from the hotel were very enjoyable with knowledgeable and friendly guides (cheaper tours were available from town, but I appreciated having superior guides--Mickey and Efren). This was a solo trip and I felt very comfortable and safe at the hotel and the friendly town of Loreto. I met great people from all over and had a wonderful time! I plan to return with my family (including grandchildren) someday in the future.

Room Tip: Rooms near the elevator are a little noisy.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Carolyn F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Loreto hotels
21.4 mi away
Villa del Palmar Beach Resort & Spa at The Islands of Loreto
6.3 mi away
Loreto Bay Golf Resort & Spa at Baja
1.0 mi away
Hotel Santa Fe
Hotel Santa Fe
#7 of 20 in Loreto
343 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Coco Cabanas Loreto
Coco Cabanas Loreto
#6 of 20 in Loreto
322 reviews
0.3 mi away
Las Cabanas de Loreto
Las Cabanas de Loreto
#5 of 20 in Loreto
293 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hotel Oasis
Hotel Oasis
#9 of 20 in Loreto
148 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to La Mision Loreto? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about La Mision Loreto

Address: Rosendo Robles s/n | Loreto Waterfront & Historical District, Loreto 23880, Mexico
Phone Number:
Location: Mexico > Baja California > Baja California Sur > Loreto
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in Loreto
#2 Spa Hotel in Loreto
#4 Family Hotel in Loreto
#5 Romantic Hotel in Loreto
Price Range: $134 - $200 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — La Mision Loreto 3.5*
Number of rooms: 68
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel La Mision is a renovated historical masterpiece in Baja México. There are two restaurants Los Olivos (fine dining) & Mesquite Pizza Grill for the most fantastic pizza in the world. Our Bar Agave Cantina is known for fantastic margaritas and friendly service. La Mision has large beautiful new and clean rooms with very comfortable and high quality beds. Plaza TV with American and Mexican channels. Every room has a breathtaking view of the Sea of Cortes & Islands of Loreto or the Bell tower and the mountains. We have a new beautiful resort style swimming pool with views of the sea of Cortez. A spa with great massage services, wedding services, Tours and activities service that will arrange your fun, from beach parties to whale watching and everything in between. Friendly and courteous staff that will make you feel right at home. Loreto is a safe town, bring family and friends and relax in the true Mexican way, set out for adventure or both. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, Hotwire, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your La Mision Loreto reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
La Mision Loreto Hotel Loreto
La Mision Hotel Loreto
Loreto La Mision Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing