We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beware! Your guests may be prohibited from La Mision Hotel”
Review of La Mision Loreto

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
La Mision Loreto
Ranked #2 of 20 Hotels in Loreto
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Reviewed October 6, 2013

I stayed at La Mision in July this year for five days in a very nice suite with so-so service at the restaurant, pool and bar. My friend who lives in Loreto and has previously danced at a local bar joined me for my stay. We celebrated her birthday and thoroughly enjoyed our time there. Skip ahead two months to the last week in September and i booked a suite again for two nights, two adults. I arrived and was greeted by name, given the same suite and when asked was given two keys. i got settled in and then went to pick up my friend and return for a nice dinner at the hotel restaurant. We came back in through the lobby and my friend was stopped by the front desk manager. I couldn't believe this was happening. My guest who was welcome in July was now prohibited from the Hotel two months later. i protested and the manager picked up the phone and spoke to the general manager, Maria Gamez, who was seated in her office not more than 15 feet away. He said sorry that's our policy and i can't do anything about it she is not allowed in our hotel even though you booked the room for two adults and we gave you two keys. Totally unprofessional service! I will never stay there again and i will advise everyone i know visiting Loreto to do the same.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank spacekowboi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Serven, Director General at La Mision Loreto, responded to this reviewResponded October 15, 2013

Dear John,

Thank you for taking the time to share your comments and feelings.

We at La Mision have the up most respect and appreciation for all of our customers and we are sincerely sorry that this presented a disappointment to you.

However, our policies are in alignment with our commitment to offer always an excellent Customer Service and we have been recognized year after year as a friendly, beautiful, clean and wholesome Hotel.

We appreciate your promise to spread the word and we look forward to seeing you in the near future.

Kind Regards,

Maria Gamez
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (701)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

416 - 422 of 701 reviews

Reviewed September 27, 2013

Hotel is nicest in Loreto. The staff is extremely nice and very eager to help. The views are the nicest in the city. The restaurant is very good and traveler friendly for any children.
Happy hour included all you can eat Pizza for a small charge, even the locals joined in.

Only downside was the elevator went out due to a storm. We were on the third floor and the stairs were very easy to climb.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Ken G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Serven, Director of Sales at La Mision Loreto, responded to this reviewResponded October 18, 2013

Dear Ken,

Thank you for your nice review about your stay at La Mision. We apologize for the elevator inconvenience but as you mentioned was to protect it from the tropical storm.

We hope to see you soon en the near future.

Kind regards,

Mario Hurtado
Director of Sales, Marketing & Restaurants

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 18, 2013

My friends and I have been fishing in Loreto for nearly 25 years now and will be fishing for another 25. We have probably stayed in every hotel in Loreto at one time or another.
This trip was with my wife and we stayed at the new La Mission by the harbor. I would easily rate this hotel and it's staff an A+. Their attention to detail is impressive and their willingness to make your stay at the hotel over the top. The hotel itself is beautiful and very well kept.......

The bottom line: If your headed to Loreto, you probably want to stay at the La Mission

Room Tip: Easy on the Tequila!!!!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Stacey C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Serven, Director of Sales at La Mision Loreto, responded to this reviewResponded September 20, 2013

Dear Stacey,

Thank you for giving us the opportunity to recieved you for you first time in Loreto after 25 years of being a Loretor visitor.

We are so glad and proud to constantly hear how much our guests appreciates La Misión Hotel, the building by itselft is a piece of art and we love to provide warmth and profesional service.

We truly appreciate your review and we look forward to have you again in the near future for Yellow tail fishing season.

Kind regards,

Mario Hurtado
Director of Sales, Marketing & Restaurants
La Misión Loreto

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 14, 2013

I have stayed at numerous tourist areas in Mexico that border the ocean and Loreto, MX is certainly one of my favorites. My first time and only time to Loreto was August 25th 2013. I have been to Cabo San Lucas and Mazatlan more times than I deserve but I did appreciate the slower pace of Loreto, MX the town of about 16,000 locals. Hotel La Mission was a very good choice for us. All of the staff are more than willing to help with anything questions or needs. Their food at the restaurant is great. (Do not miss all you can eat pizza on Thursday nights) La Missions location is great, right on the water. The place is very clean and well maintained. All the restaurants we ate at in town were great. I will definitely return and bring friends to show them my newly found secret quiet place.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank David E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Serven, Director of Sales at La Mision Loreto, responded to this reviewResponded September 20, 2013

Dear DavidE

We are very pleased to read your awesome review about Loreto, your new secret quiet town, this is what Loreto is... a clean and beautiful historic peaceful town, with friendly people and surrounded by the most amazing natural richness of the Sea Of Cortez and Sierra La Giganta.

Thank you very much for your kind comments about our restaurants, hotel and our Staff.

Please return soon to La Misión.

Kind regards,

Mario Hurtado
Directos of Sales, Marketing & Restaurants

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 7, 2013

I stopped off in Loreto on my way north at La Mision. Having stayed once before, I knew the quality to be first rate. I was not disappointed. The large room with king bed was super comfortable. The down pillows made up for my having forgot to bring my own. Ocean view rooms are great for watching the sunrise. My only complaint is that there is no mirror for short-sighted people. The big, beautiful mirror in the bathroom seemed miles away and, in fact, was greater than an arm's length. This makes it near impossible to put on one's make up because, without glasses, one cannot see that far. I highly recommend the inn invest in cosmetic mirrors for the benefit of their myopic guests.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SanLuisLover
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Serven, Director Comercial at La Mision Loreto, responded to this reviewResponded September 16, 2013

Dear SanLuisLover

We are so glad to hear your comments about the quality and comfort of our rooms , our priority is without a doubt to offer the highest sleeping experince in Baja and are very proud because we often recieved compliments about it.

Thanks also for your suggestion about the vanity mirrors, we are already working in adding this amenity in the rooms.

We look forward to host you again at La Mision in the near future.

Sincerely,

Mario Hurtado
Director of Sales, Marketing & Restaurants

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 4, 2013

The Mision Hotel is located directly across the street from the ocean. Very nice and clean. Javier was very friendly and helpful. We had a first floor room. I preferred this because you could walk out you slider right to the pool. You still had a view of the ocean. The food was excellent. My compliments to the chef. The other guest we spoke to that have stayed in Loreto told us nobody will hound you to buy anything or push service on you. This is correct. Im am use to getting a drink or food without any waiting. The service is low key, they do not want to disturb their guest. Once you understand this, its great. I woyuld highly recomend this hotel if you want to get away and relax. But not in August

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank riweric
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Serven, Director of Sales at La Mision Loreto, responded to this reviewResponded September 6, 2013

Dear Riweric,

La Misión staff would like to thank you for taking the time to write a review and for your valuable feedback about our hotel, food and our service.

Loreto is a relax getaway and we love to make our guest feel the tranquility of our destination, our commitment is to provide this experience along with great service so thank you for your comments.

Kind regards and we hope to see you soon.

Mario Hurtado
Director of Sales, Marketing & Restaurants

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 28, 2013

This was fourth trip to Loreto and we again chose to stay at La Mision. As always, the accommodations, staff, food and ambience were excellent! La Mision continues to provide great value and positive experiences. The smallest details always receive the same focus and attention as the more complex requests. It's nice to return to a premier hotel and have your expectations once again exceeded. We will return again in 2014, and yes, we do enjoy the Loreto fishing. If you want to experience Mexico the way it was in the past, here is your opportunity. To Mario, Maria, Rudy and the entire staff we extend our thanks and appreciation. Hasta la proxima estadia!

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank amigoviejo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Serven, Director Comercial at La Mision Loreto, responded to this reviewResponded August 29, 2013

Dear AmigoViejo,

It is always our pleasure to have you and your wife with us at your home La Mision.

We all the staff truly enjoy having you here and we also appreciate your nice comments about our service and the facilities.

Thank you for taking the time to write such a nice review and we look forward to see you and you wife pretty soon at La Mision again for the 5th time!

I proudly will extend your message of appreciation to the team.

Warms regards,

Mario Hurtado
Director of Sales, Marketing & Restaurants

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Loreto hotels
21.4 mi away
Villa del Palmar Beach Resort & Spa at The Islands of Loreto
6.3 mi away
Loreto Bay Golf Resort & Spa at Baja
1 mi away
Hotel Santa Fe
Hotel Santa Fe
#7 of 20 in Loreto
348 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Hotel Oasis
Hotel Oasis
#10 of 20 in Loreto
152 reviews
0.2 mi away
Posada de las Flores Loreto
0.6 mi away
Coco Cabanas Loreto
Coco Cabanas Loreto
#6 of 20 in Loreto
327 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to La Mision Loreto? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about La Mision Loreto

Address: Rosendo Robles s/n | Loreto Waterfront & Historical District, Loreto 23880, Mexico
Phone Number:
Location: Mexico > Baja California > Baja California Sur > Loreto
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in Loreto
#2 Spa Hotel in Loreto
#4 Family Hotel in Loreto
#5 Romantic Hotel in Loreto
Price Range: $163 - $200 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — La Mision Loreto 3.5*
Number of rooms: 68
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel La Mision is a renovated historical masterpiece in Baja México. There are two restaurants Los Olivos (fine dining) & Mesquite Pizza Grill for the most fantastic pizza in the world. Our Bar Agave Cantina is known for fantastic margaritas and friendly service. La Mision has large beautiful new and clean rooms with very comfortable and high quality beds. Plaza TV with American and Mexican channels. Every room has a breathtaking view of the Sea of Cortes & Islands of Loreto or the Bell tower and the mountains. We have a new beautiful resort style swimming pool with views of the sea of Cortez. A spa with great massage services, wedding services, Tours and activities service that will arrange your fun, from beach parties to whale watching and everything in between. Friendly and courteous staff that will make you feel right at home. Loreto is a safe town, bring family and friends and relax in the true Mexican way, set out for adventure or both. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Priceline, Travelocity, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com, Cancelon and TripOnline SA so you can book your La Mision Loreto reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
La Mision Loreto Hotel Loreto
La Mision Hotel Loreto
Loreto La Mision Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing