We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful setting and views”
Review of La Mision Loreto

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
La Mision Loreto
Ranked #2 of 20 Hotels in Loreto
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Santa Rosalia, Mexico
Level Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Beautiful setting and views”
Reviewed May 4, 2012

Great accommodation, spectacular views out onto Sea of Cortez and a great bar/restaurant overlooking the pool and the ocean.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mark H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

657 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    500
    118
    22
    8
    9
See reviews for
129
296
27
23
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (242)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
65 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
Reviewed April 16, 2012

Great location, comfortable beds, quality linens, spacious and well-decorated rooms, lovely pool area. So, a lot that is very good about this hotel.

We stayed for two nights in March. The first night was extremely restful and relaxing. On the second night there was a large party at the poolside bar. Like McMarbles we were in a mountain view room and the noise carried into our room. We expected it to stop after 10pm as per the quiet time rule but it did not. I rang down to reception at 10.30 but the noise continued until 11.30pm. This spoiled my impression of what is probably a very good hotel.

Room Tip: If you want a sea view be prepared for the sun on your East facing room to have gone by late afterno...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Dawn W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Holmes, NY
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed April 5, 2012

Location - perfect. The place is gorgeous. Food presentation & quality are excellent. Very nice spa. The staff are accommodating. Plan to bring ear plugs for sleeping if you are a light sleeper; just in case. We couldn't hear our neighbors or anything, but could hear the singer at the pool from a mountain view room on the opposite side of the hotel! Their rule is quiet time after 10pm, so it wasn't so bad.

Room Tip: In mountain view room, try to get a room above the 3rd floor - it's quieter (not right above the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank McMarbles
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alaska
Level Contributor
43 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed March 31, 2012

La Mision is a brand new hotel on the Malecon overlooking the Gulf of California, Loreto. We chose La Mision because it is a new hotel and it got good reviews on Tripadvisor. We visited in March, 2012 and stayed a week. We stayed in Room 416, which is an ocean view room; it also overlooked the pool, hot tub and the outside bar. The hallway leading to the room is outside, with a view of Loreto and La Giganta Mountains to the west.

The room was large with a king bed, television, marble floors in the main room and balcony and tile in the bathroom. Everything was VERY clean and the bed was comfortable. The staff was friendly and helpful. We didn’t experience the noise others talked about even though we left the sliding doors open during the night. The view is: the Gulf, how can you go wrong there?

La Mision is about a block away from Avenue Salvatiera which has been converted to a walking street that also carries local vehicle traffic. As you walk west on Salvatiera from the Malecon you pass restaurants, the Central Square, lots of local touristy shops and Our Lady La Mision Church.

At the end of the walking portion of Salvatiera (at the corner of Salvatiera and Independencia), just across Independencia, is a large food store (El Pescador). It carries: food and beer, liquor and wine. We made daily trips to El Pescador to buy yogurt, fruit, beer and snacks. We bought a cheap cooler and ice to keep things cold.

The hotel offers Happy Hour daily from 4:00 to 7:00 (2 for the price of one, $1.50 beer and $2.50 margaritas (US)) and on Thursdays offers all you can eat pizza baked in the hotel’s outside oven for about $10 US. The pizza was some of the best I’ve had anywhere.
We really enjoyed the trip. When walking down the street everyone was friendly. We’d go to Loreto again and stay at La Mision, no question.

Room Tip: Stay in an Ocean View for views of the Gulf, pool and bar. Stay in Garden View for city view and (po...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank BennyBAlaska
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gig Harbor, Washington
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed March 29, 2012

We were very hesitant about traveling to Mexico until some friends encouraged us to try Loreto (“where is Loreto??!!”). We spent a week at La Mision and had a fabulous time. The hotel was perfect is every way. Superb food & beverages at the hotel restaurant & lounge. The rooms were five-star with nice views of the water and the gentle sound of the waves on the beach. A previous commenter mentioned the noisy street between the hotel and the water but we found it interesting to watch the “cruising” by the locals on Friday night. We always felt totally safe throughout our trip, even taking walks at night were both fun and very safe. We visited several of the surrounding resorts, including a new, big mega-hotel about a ½ hour drive south which was pretty “sterile” (a bit gross). La Mision is in a perect location if you want to enjoy the local cultures and places to eat and meet with visitors & locals. Everyone was very nice! The concierge services at the hotel were especially helpful – Rudi & the entire staff were always very helpful. We both felt this was a vacation that was fun, relaxing and included spectacular scenery. We took several hikes, went snorkeling, drove both up & down the coast and got to pet huge whales which were a real blast. On one trip to swim & hike a nearby island we were surrounded by porpoises which was really cool. Highly recommend La Mision and Loreto for a safe, fun and unique vacation. Brad & Elisa

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Brad P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chino Valley, Arizona
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed March 28, 2012

Six of our family arrived at La Mision as part of a 5 day kayaking adventure. We stayed at La Mision for a total of seven days and six nights and recommend La Mision very highly. The staff was very pleasant and extremely helpful, the accomodations were top-notch and the restaurant is something to write home about!!! We are definitely planning a return trip to La Mision and the lovely town of Loreto!

Room Tip: All rooms are nicely appointed. Some overlook the pool and the sea and some do not.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Edwina T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Camano Island, Washington
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed March 4, 2012

We finalized our reservations today for our July 2012 stay at La Mision hotel in Loreto. We've eagerly anticipated our return since our incredible visit there last summer. While going through the reservation process, the first thing I noticed was the recognition of excellence award recently bestowed upon La Mision as a Travelers Choice 2012 Winner. There's a tremendous amount of competition for tourist dollars in Mexico and La Mision was rated in the top 25 of all hotels in Mexico...an acknowledgement of quality, value and overall excellence! It is said that most things in life are certain. There is truth in that statement when you visit Loreto. The weather will be warm, the fish will bite and the hospitality you'll be afforded at La Mision will be outstanding. Why are we returning to La Mision? The accomodations are beautiful; nothing is left to chance. The hotel is safe and secure, the staff is courteous and helpful, the food is great and we know our expectations will be met.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank amigoviejo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Loreto hotels
21.4 mi away
Villa del Palmar Beach Resort & Spa at The Islands of Loreto
6.3 mi away
Loreto Bay Golf Resort & Spa at Baja
1.0 mi away
Hotel Santa Fe
Hotel Santa Fe
#7 of 20 in Loreto
314 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Las Cabanas de Loreto
Las Cabanas de Loreto
#3 of 20 in Loreto
292 reviews
0.6 mi away
Coco Cabanas Loreto
Coco Cabanas Loreto
#6 of 20 in Loreto
317 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hotel Oasis
Hotel Oasis
#9 of 20 in Loreto
145 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to La Mision Loreto? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about La Mision Loreto

Property: La Mision Loreto
Address: Rosendo Robles s/n | Loreto Waterfront & Historical District, Loreto 23880, Mexico
Phone Number:
Location: Mexico > Baja California > Baja California Sur > Loreto
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in Loreto
#2 Spa Hotel in Loreto
#4 Family Hotel in Loreto
#5 Romantic Hotel in Loreto
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — La Mision Loreto 3.5*
Number of rooms: 68
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel La Mision is a renovated historical masterpiece in Baja México. There are two restaurants Los Olivos (fine dining) & Mesquite Pizza Grill for the most fantastic pizza in the world. Our Bar Agave Cantina is known for fantastic margaritas and friendly service. La Mision has large beautiful new and clean rooms with very comfortable and high quality beds. Plaza TV with American and Mexican channels. Every room has a breathtaking view of the Sea of Cortes & Islands of Loreto or the Bell tower and the mountains. We have a new beautiful resort style swimming pool with views of the sea of Cortez. A spa with great massage services, wedding services, Tours and activities service that will arrange your fun, from beach parties to whale watching and everything in between. Friendly and courteous staff that will make you feel right at home. Loreto is a safe town, bring family and friends and relax in the true Mexican way, set out for adventure or both. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Priceline so you can book your La Mision Loreto reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
La Mision Loreto Hotel Loreto
La Mision Hotel Loreto
Loreto La Mision Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing