We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Don't believe all of the reviews about this place”
Review of Hacienda Del Sol

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in La Paz
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Hacienda Del Sol
Ranked #19 of 39 Hotels in La Paz
Summerland, California
Level 2 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Don't believe all of the reviews about this place”
Reviewed January 29, 2011

This place is definitely not the top hotel in La Paz. First of all, it
is not at all a hotel, as the proprietors will repeatedly insist (in
case the housing authorities appear for inspection) once you are duped
into renting one of their desolate desert bungalows. Secondly, it is not in La Paz but in the remote village of Comitan, some 30 minutes away by car
which necessitates a $20 cab ride to downtown or a $60+ daily car rental
to fetch groceries, access a decent sandy beach or water sports and/or
enjoy any of the many delights that charming La Paz has to offer. Fortunately
we were able to escape and happily ended up in a bay front hotel with
spectacular views to the Sea of Cortez and Isla Espiritu Santo - and
within walking distance or a $4 cab ride to downtown - for the same
weekly rate as HDS, but with daily housekeeping, breakfast buffet, functioning WiFi and
full amenities included.

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
12 Thank Juvenescenttraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
everhardo, Owner at Hacienda Del Sol, responded to this review, February 11, 2011
After some research we should have done before accepting this guest, we learned that he had problems in other places before.
We make absolutely clear at our web site, that we are a vacation rental and not a hotel. It is also stated there, that we are at the inner bay, 11 miles from downtown on a 4 lane which is easy to see on Google Earth. Anyone who needs 30 minutes to drive this short distance should get a ticket for wrong parking. The next grocery store is in walking distance and Walmart in about 7 miles.
There is also a bus service by the city for 9 Pesos, about 70 US Cents one way and we even give our guests a free car to roam around. They only have to visit an agency in town to make the insurance for it. We won't let them drive without it.
It is also easy to see on Google Earth, that we have a lovely sandy beach with shady Palapas in walking distance.
This guest was also afraid of dogs. A neighbor has a little Chihuahua and he had almost a panic attack when he saw the tiny dog which barked at him. He demanded that the neighbor keep his dog inside his house or he would call the police.
We have a nice restaurant in walking distance and our guest enjoyed dinner and breakfast there. Since he did not have money at this time, he had credit as a guests of our Hacienda, even so we have nothing to do with the restaurant. We are guests there like everybody else.
He was very satisfied with the food until he received the bill the next day. Even so the restaurant is very reasonable, he found everything extremely expensive and not good at all.
He even cheated us out of money with the restaurant bill. He told us that he paid for us and wanted it reimbursed. But as it turned out he did not pay for us, of course not.
It seems like this guest had a problem with the truth. Not he "escaped" the Hacienda, which proved that he likes exaggerating, we ask him at first nicely and then more "clear" to look for another place to stay.
In the two days he was with us he managed to do some damage, proudly pointed some of it out but never offered to replace or pay for it.
The Hacienda is our hobby and all income is donated to different charities here in La Paz.
We don't accept guests who don't fit into our little place of peace.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

79 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    59
    13
    2
    3
    2
See reviews for
18
51
2
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (18)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
portland oregon
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed January 4, 2011

In the past three years of travel we have not stayed in a resort or tradition hotel
and places like Hacienda Del Sol are the reason why.

If you are going to explore La Paz Mexico we highly encourage you to consider Hacienda Del Sol your base camp.
First the facility. This is a small, comfortable, friendly and joyous collection of rental units and guests.
It’s safe, beautiful and affordable. Located across the bay from La Paz this environment affords you quiet beauty and short walks to two beaches. You’ll find yourself in a small neighborhood of full time and part time residents of Mexico, the US, Canada and Italy. It’s real and authentic like Baja at its best.
The short drive around the bay to La Paz allows you to be in touch with a great little city just 7 minutes and then retreat back to a more natural world.

The people. And isn’t always about the people you meet along your journey.
Eberhard and Renate are the owners of Hacienda Del Sol. They are world travelers who settled in La Paz and built their welcoming compound 30 years ago. They are beautiful people who are knowledgeable and so very helpful. And that’s what we needed. Local expertise on everything from where to buy the best fresh bread and coffee beans to off the beaten paths to explore… box canyons, coastal drives, Scuba diving to “you have to get a taco at this little restaurant”.
They even allowed us to borrow a 1969 VW bug (made in 1994) to explore for a week.
Can you imagine a resort or hotel trusting you enough to give you one of their personal cars for a week?
You're beginning to see the Hacienda Del Sol difference.
The only endorsement I can give you is this… we have so much more to explore in La Paz so we are going back in June. And the only place we will consider is Hacienda Del Sol.

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank torheim
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland, Oregon
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed December 30, 2010

What an experience! Eberhard & Renate made us feel right at home ~ Lots of places to go & Eberhard guided us in the best directions... we were here for 3 weeks & were thankful for that! Comfy bed, slept like babies & a little VW bug to cruise around in... what more is needed?!? We will be going back & hopefully to stay! Hope all the positive reviews will leave us a place! Is there room?!? HA!
Adios Amigos! B & B Jones

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank BajaBound2017
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Novato, California
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed August 5, 2010

My husband and I had a fabulous time on our recent trip to Baja. The Hacienda del Sol is a nice, peaceful place to stay and a good value at just over $50 a night for a studio apartment. We appreciated Eberhard and Renate's hospitality, and Eberhard is very knowledgeable about where to go for the best snorkeling, beaches, restaurants, sightseeing and more. We called him when we were pulled over by police and he convinced the policeman not to give us a ticket! Now that's good service! However, some of the things he shared with us included negative comments about women, Jews, Americans etc. - hopefully all in jest. If you don't mind hearing opinionated remarks and appreciate guidance from a local, you'll have a great time. Also, be ready to drive at least an hour or more each day. It's about a half hour each way to the Malecon (boardwalk along the beachfront in LaPaz) and about an hour each way to the nicer places for snorkeling or beaches. Don't miss a trip to the island Espiritu Santo - great snorkeling, sea lions, frigate brids, blue footed boobies and more. Enjoy your trip and give Eberhard and Renate a hug for us!

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DrWendyL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
everhardo, Owner at Hacienda Del Sol, responded to this review, February 10, 2011
It is always a pleasure to have such wonderful guests. Then we go out of our way to show them the most beautiful places in Baja, send them on trips not mentioned in any guide book, wonderful beaches, fantastic coast line drives and our "secret places" to hike, swim and snorkel.
Of course there are not in "walking distance", but we thought it would be appreciated if we give away our "secrets".
There are many wonderful places very close to here and looking at Google Earth, we also have a nice sandy beach with shady Palapas to walk to.
It is also great sitting down with a "happy hour drink", talking with the guests, making some jokes about everything, but if you ask us for our opinion about President Bush, don't! We really don't have a very high opinion about him.
Just to set something straight, it is exactly 11 miles to the Malecon on a 4 lane and even if you obey the speed signs, which nobody does, you shouldn't use 30 minutes for this short distance. You might get a ticket for obstructing the traffic.
We are looking forward to welcome this guests again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Puebla
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed July 4, 2010

Hacienda del Sol in Baja California left in us mix of feelings. The fist what you will note is that the whole facility is like a combination of tropical garden, small lovely pools with several buildings and RV’s parking lot. Outside seem that hacienda quite interesting, the real challenge is inside. In seven days which we spent there our score reached 15 killed cockroaches and two, yes is hard to believe, but really two killed scorpions. Just for information, yes we really maintained the main door closed. So consider that the cleanness is definitively up to you.
On the other hand Mr. Eberhard is quite friendly fellow with lot of tips around the Baja. Just consider what you want really to see. What we consider is the little bit tricky price policy. However the price for Cabana which we rent looked very outstanding on the final balance we paid cleanness, which was originally considered as optional (quite a wonder after what we had). So the final bill maybe quite different from the price originally published.

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
8 Thank Ces2vatele
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
everhardo, Owner at Hacienda Del Sol, responded to this review, July 7, 2010
As with every vacation rental, the guests are responsible for their place. We offer maid service, but only a few guests like to use it.
Every lodging is professionally cleaned and bug free before new guests arrive. It was even appreciated by these guests when they moved in, when finding that everything is nice and clean.
We know that there is a challenge to keep a clean house with 2 small children. We are still wondering that there where no more cucarachas when we saw the place after the guests left.
We always explain to our guests, not to bring any cardboard and cardboard boxes with the beer into the house. They are full of cucaracha eggs and even life cucarachas. Also, the kitchen counter should be clean since this will attract bugs.
Our cleaning crew really earned very hard the common $ 20 Dollar final cleaning fee every vacation rental place charge. Actually, we charge the lowest fee of all other places, we know.
This is also listed on our web site, so there can't be any surprise if someone takes the time to read it.
It is also listed on our web site, that we have a charge of $ 10 Dollar / day for extra guests and also a small charge for using the internet since we have extreme high connection cost in our area.
We thought we have to give a family with two children a break since kids are expensive.
The Hacienda del Sol is extreme low cost and all proceeds are donated to different charities here in La Paz. See it on our web site.
We are here in the tropics and to avoid any crawling creatures, you have to be clean. No dirty dishes or pots standing in the kitchen for a longer time. This is a no no we tell all guests.
We also have first class orthopedic mattresses at every house to guarantee a perfect rest.
The Hacienda del Sol is NOT a hotel, we are renting a furnished place like it is up north and the renter is responsible for his own need and cleanliness.
All we can do is hand the place over to our guests in perfectly clean and sanitary condition. What our guests do from then on is their responsibility.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scottsdale, Arizona
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed May 14, 2010

My husband and I stayed at Casa Sonrisa for 7 days, a quaint little house surrounded by beautiful bouganvillas, cactus and tropical trees. This area is so beautiful and peaceful, it really was invigorating and helped us get the rest we so much needed. Our hosts, Eberhard and Renate were wonderful, sweet and really fun to get to know them. They helped us so much giving us great advice about the best places to go to, best restaurants, shops, and activities. Thanks to them we had a restful and unforgetable vacation in La Paz. Can't wait to go back!!! Thanks Eberhard and Renate!

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank catlady05
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Woodinville, Wa.
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed March 20, 2010

We stayed in the Sonrisa casita which was stocked with all the kitchen equipment that we needed. It was cozy and quiet and every morning Eberhard would swing by and give us advice on what to do that day. He was full of great tips for finding good coffee, a great bakery, deserted beaches, snorkeling trips, or box canyons. He and Renate made the whole stay there so enjoyable and really unique. You wouldn't get this experience if you stayed anywhere else, I'm sure.
We thought we could do La Paz without a car, but that didn't end up being the case. We used one of Eberhard's cars and found the driving around La Paz and to some nearby towns and beaches to be quite easy. Teenagers looking for action probably wouldn't like it here, but for us it was really great!

  • Stayed March 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank wanderlings
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these La Paz hotels
5.5 mi away
La Posada Hotel & Beach Club
9.7 mi away
Hyatt Place La Paz
Hyatt Place La Paz
#2 of 39 in La Paz
526 reviews
6.3 mi away
Posada LunaSol Hotel
Posada LunaSol Hotel
#6 of 39 in La Paz
336 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.9 mi away
Hotel Paradise Pasion La Paz
22.4 mi away
Rancho Las Cruces
Rancho Las Cruces
#22 of 39 in La Paz
25 reviews
8.1 mi away
Club El Moro
Club El Moro
#12 of 39 in La Paz
172 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hacienda Del Sol? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hacienda Del Sol

Property: Hacienda Del Sol
Address: Calle 3, Lote 6 | Colonia Comitan, La Paz, Mexico
Location: Mexico > Baja California > Baja California Sur > La Paz
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Romantic Hotel in La Paz
#7 On the Beach Hotel in La Paz
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hacienda del Sol is different from any standard hotel. Our guests have the option of a Studio, Palapas or Bungalows. They all are complete furnished with a full kitchen, not just a kitchenette, have their own patio, nice swimming pool with a shady palapa, a little bar to use and a BBQ. The beach is in about 100 yd and to downtown are 11 miles to drive on a four-lane. Great restaurants are close by and the next grocery store is in 3 driving minutes. Our community here is very quiet for a good night rest with our fantastic, firm, orthopedic mattresses.We also have kayaks, sail boats, fishing boats (Pangas)and Hobby Cat 16 for rent.All proceeds are donated to different local organizations like the Red Cross, Orphanage, Old Folks Home and more. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Hacienda Del Sol Hotel La Paz
Hacienda Del Sol La Paz

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing