We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“A relaxing experience”
Fortunato the baby 'Vaca'
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Fortunato the baby 'Vaca'
Main view Hidalgo and sea view Front ironwork
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Inquiry
Excellent
7 reviews
Fortunato the baby 'Vaca'
Main view Hidalgo and sea view
Front ironwork
Garden entrance and BBQ/Smoker area
Condition of the house in 1975
Main house living room
Landmark Aramburo market across the street
Casita patio from above
Stairs to Casita bedroom
Main house bedroom
Vaca sombrero
Casita from central courtyard
Casita studio cows
Blue wall in garden
Main house bathroom
Main house kitchen stove
Garden shade
Main bedroom carpet of tiles
Main house second bedroom
Main house Frida
Garden
Stenciling
Main house patio
Main house patio entrance
Casita upstairs bath
Casita studio bathroom
Main house old door
Etched glass, casita bedroom
Casita studio dining
Casita studio bathroom
Casita studio
Fleur de Lys
1975
1975
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Rental Home -
4 Bedrooms, 3 Bathrooms, Sleeps 8
La Paz, Baja California

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 7 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Eli G
Vancouver, Canada
Level 5 Contributor
70 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“A relaxing experience”
Reviewed December 14, 2014 for a stay in December 2014
1
person found this review helpful

We were a group of 7 staying at Casa de la Vaquita. This was our first time traveling to La Paz. Traditionally, our group had gone to Puerto Vallarta and really enjoy the traditional Mexican-Spanish style homes and a place quiet and close to town and the beach. Casa de la Vaquita met all our requirements. This is a beautifully restored home with all of the comforts of a regular home still with a touch of the past. This home still has the fire place built in 1890 and high ceilings that make such a big difference in hot weather places. The many windows allowed for fresh air as well as light throughout the house. There is a laundry room and a nice sitting area in the courtyard ideal for sipping wine, cervesas or whatever you are up to drink with friends/family. Our beds were comfortable and the bathrooms had an excessive amount of supplies including fresh towels. I was a bit ambivalent that the house was not going to be big enough for 7 people, but there was plenty of room for everyone. The used all of the house including the apartment in the back and everyone had their own space. Christine and Kevin renovated this home thinking about every possible detail. They also provided us with a cell phone with minutes, which was great as we could communicate with Christine and others in the group that had a cell phone. The pictures included in the posting do not make justice as to how beautiful this home is.

The house is also located right next to an excellent tortilleria made. We ate from this tortilleria every day and across is a great grocery store, which has a woman selling the second best tamales I have tried in my life (the best are my mom's of course). There are many good restaurants nearby. Christine went out of her way to show us and gives us recommendations of her favorite spots in town. Kevin provided our group with a hike outside of town showing us the beauty the dessert has to offer as well as both Christine and Kevin provides us with a boat ride around the bay. Christine and Kevin made themselves always available and went out of their way to ensure all of our 7 demands were accommodated. Christine and Kevin made our stay very enjoyable.

I am looking forward to going back to Casa de la Vaquita again. This home made me want to live permanently in a house like this. Christine and Kevin, thank you for your generosity to our group. Having stayed in many hotels/guest houses, Christine and Kevin showed genuine care for their guest.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The attention to detail throughout the home
Traveling group: Large Group
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
Large groups People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Mar 5, 2015
Thanks guys! So glad you liked La Paz. We hope you make it a habit! :-)

Christine
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
svn356
Melbourne
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Beautiful accommodation in central location”
Reviewed October 29, 2014 for a stay in October 2014
1
person found this review helpful

My sister and I had the pleasure of staying at Casa de la Vaquita for two nights in October 2014. Because the purpose of our trip to La Paz was a celebration of her birthday, I wanted to find some place very special to stay and Casa de la Vaquita didn't disappoint. Laundry, bathrooms, kitchen, living area . . . every room was well appointed and had whatever we needed. In addition, it was beautifully decorated. Everywhere you looked, there was something interesting or colorful or clever to catch your eye. Christine couldn't have been more accommodating and helped us with everything from restaurant to shopping recommendations, and every place was easily within walking distance. We felt very lucky to discover Christine and her lovely Casa de la Vaquita and can recommend it to anyone looking for a wonderful place to stay in the center of La Paz.

Traveling group: Other
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Mar 5, 2015
Thanks for the kind thoughts,

We hope to see many many more birthdays at Casa de la Vaquita. Let the fiestas warm up the walls!

Christine
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
rossouwad...
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“The location is perfect!!”
Reviewed August 18, 2014 for a stay in August 2014
3
people found this review helpful

We have visited Paz 4 times in the past 2 years and have tried different accommodation options during our previous stays. We now believe that we have found our spot for all future visits!!

My partner and I thoroughly enjoyed our stay in this wonderful accommodation and wish that we could have stayed for another week.
Both of us are well traveled and have been in many hotels and private accommodations.
What makes this stand out from the rest is the attention to details and the care the owners have taken to ensure their visitors are able to totally relax.
The decor of the accommodation is vibrant and showcases the vibrant colors of Mexico.
Small details like the hand painted borders on the walls, luxurious beds and fluffy towels are what stand out.

We enjoy fine dining and the the owners are a great source of information on the best restaurants in La Paz. There are 3 great restaurants within a few minutes walk from the house.

And the Malecon (beach promenade) is only 2 minutes away.
We spent many nights on the Malecon watching the sunset and enjoying the atmosphere.

Thank you for a great experience.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Service
Liked best: the decor
Liked least: having to leave
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Mar 5, 2015
Thanks for your appreciation,

We were indeed very lucky to find that property. They quit making those houses in the 1890's! :-) Really glad to see your guests appreciating the setting.

Christine
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Al K
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“All the comforts of home!”
Reviewed August 13, 2014 for a stay in July 2014
3
people found this review helpful

A Review of Casa Vaquita

My good friend Keith, an actor and musician, and I, a construction contractor,

decided, since we are both scuba divers, to do a low cost trip to La Paz in Baja

California, Mexico.

So, Keith and I, finding a window of opportunity in July

2014, decided to stay, at the recommendation of local friends, with Kevin and

Christine, ex-pats from our own area in Los Angeles. They were, as expected,

delighted to see us and did all they could to make our stay at the newly

renovated Casa Vaquita enjoyable. Keith made himself at home in the upstairs

room of the little casita on the property, enjoying a view of the bay from the

balcony, while I chose to stay in a room attached to the main house, where I

needn't climb any stairs.

The rooms are all beautifully decorated with local art, and authentic touches

are apparent. Going from the stressful and often rude world of Los Angeles to a

vastly more polite society added greatly to the enjoyment of our vacation!

The courtyard of Casa Vaquita has a barbeque grill and smoker, so I foresee some

raucous parties there in the very near future. It's in a perfect spot, close to

the boat docks, for Scuba clubs looking for an inexpensive warm-water

destination.

The four of us were able to get away on their boat several times for scuba

diving and snorkeling. We visited the wreck of the Salvatierra, huge ferry boat,

and the island chain, Ispiritu Santos. 85 degree water temperature is easy to

take! Great visibility and lots of critters to admire and photograph.

We also had the opportunity to vist several great local restaurants for many of

our meals. All were very reasonably priced. Imagine: full breakfasts including

coffee and juice for less than $4.00!

On one of the days that Kevin had to attend to the needs of a friend, we visited

Todos Santos, a little town of artisans and quint bars and restaurants on the

Pacific side.

On our last day, Christine made a wonderful fresh clam sauce and pasta for all

of us so we'd remember to come back!

Al Kholos

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Close to restaurants and the marina
Liked least: A few hazards on the streets nearby. Watch your step!
Traveling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
Large groups People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Mar 5, 2015
Mi casa es su casa! Come back soon! :-)

Christine
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Helen C
Los Angeles, California
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Best location”
Reviewed August 12, 2014 for a stay in August 2014
3
people found this review helpful

We had such a great stay at Casa de la Vaquita. We were looking for an old Mexican home but renovated to current standards. That place delivers! The main bedroom has the best bed I ever slept in. We enjoyed the large living room, so nice NOT to feel stuck in a small box on the foot of your bed like most hotels. The house is decorated exquisitely, some antiques and lots of art. Lots of color. It should be in a magazine.

I like to cook, and the kitchen is very well equipped. I was the first person to use the stove! You need anything, the supermarket is right across the street. Having a laundry room makes travel so much easier. We did not need to bring too many clothes.
We walked around town a lot, the best restaurants are all within 2 blocks. Had fun at the organic market (Saturdays and Tuesdays). I had no idea that there was so much local agriculture.

Friends came to join us and they stayed in the Casita. Super cute place! Well equiped little kitchen, new appliances, great AC units, Talavera tile everywhere and a cocktail hour balcony overlooking the street and the sunset. It was fun to cook dinner and sit down at a large table that sits 8 in the main house.

We felt very safe, even though it is located downtown, once inside you do not hear any street noise. It is also kept immaculate. I highly recommend it. We will be back with more friends since there is room for 8 and spend our next Holiday in La Paz! We are kayakers and there is room to safely store them in the garden.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The charm of the old house and the amazing location
Liked least: I liked everything
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
Large groups People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Mar 5, 2015
We will be glad to accommodate you again next year for your yearly vacation. Thanks for the lovely thoughts.

Christine
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing