We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Gem in La Paz”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Baja Bed and Breakfast
Ranked #18 of 28 La Paz B&B and Inns
Reviewed January 22, 2008

Nice, clean, reasonably-priced B&B conveniently located within walking distance of all that La Paz has to offer (malecon and downtown). We found it by sheer luck: walking by. Breakfast was served daily and was simple and adequate (fresh yogurt, cereal, fresh coffee, tea and juice). The cost was 60usd for a comfortable king size bed at cozy bathroom and adequate shower. Pool and hot-tub in courtyard. For the price we felt it was of good quality. Cecilla and her son, were very helpful.

  • Stayed: January 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank R Bruce B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (24)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

14 - 20 of 24 reviews

Reviewed December 31, 2007

We spent Christmas in La Paz at the Baja Bed and Breakfast. The owner, Cecillia is a wonderful lady, very nice and easy going. The location was great if you want to be downtown and walk to everything. We booked the big apt. with the kitchen, right on the street. Only a stovetop, no microwave.
We were a little disappointed with some of the expectations. We have traveled to Mexico before, so we did understand what to expect. The "extra" bed was just a mattress on the floor in the living room for our 15 year old. Our matress was a very thin one on a concrete bed, so not very comfortable. I had expected noise from previous reviews, but this was VERY noisy, with no relief until around 3:00 am. The other people staying in the back apt. had to tolerate a group of 20 dogs barking through out the day and night. Not a very restful vacation.
Breakfast is a misunderstanding. Cecilla only serves it if it is absolutely necessary and she never offered it to us. Other guests were told by her that she didn't really want to cook it, but some one nighters got it. The family all left over Christmas Eve and Christmas, so no one was there at all to help out. One couple lost their keys and fortunately, we knew where the maid hid hers, or they wouldn't have gotten in.

  • Stayed: December 2007, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
3  Thank cazzer8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 22, 2007

I found this inn using a well known search engine. My husband is pretty particular and was quite pleased with the choice.
Our first time in La Paz; I didn't wish to stay with or near Americano's and this inn was charming and clean as a whistle.
This Bed and Breakfast was perfect for our needs--a couple in their 40's w/ no children. We will return!
Note some items that are not addressed or clear on the inn website.
First; the location. There is no such thing as 'numbered' areas in La Paz. We went up and down the streets numerous times, because the address are literally jumbled all over the place.
The Inn is painted mustard yellow and is behind a large tree. Look for it that way.
What isn't clear on the website; is all the 'standard rooms' are together on the same floor-'dorm style'. Room 101 is nearest the street, room 102, in the middle, and 103 nearest the shared bath. Each room has it's own key and lock. The bath is shared and also locks for privacy. Bonus points for a sparking clean and well-maintained bathroom.
There is a very small 'living area' and community kitchen. Very small TV w/ stations only in spanish. No phones/no clocks.
This area could be EXTREMELY noisy if shared with others who are not courteous or have different times for moving about. We had the first floor to ourselves and loved it.
The 2nd floor apartment is large, airy, and can ONLY be reached by a set of spiral stairs. This apt is very large and can sleep 4+. It is 100% self contained and faces the street. The pool area is open to all. Owner lives on the top floor.
Our queen bed was very firm, and you are given top-of-the-line fluffy towels for the bath. Sheets were soft and your area 'neatened' daily. I liked the fact the Inn was not wasteful and kept our used soap bar for our entire stay. There are also mini shampoos and conditioner. You might wish to bring a hair dryer.
Also, the 'AC' that is mentioned on the website isn't quite correct for the 1st floor. The AC unit flows into the shared living/kitchen area ONLY. Unless you sleep with your room door open, you will NOT have 'AC'. There are ceiling fans in every room with lights. Thankfully, we didn't need the AC the entire visit, but did have the fan on to move the air.
There are new units being built in the back to the right of the pool with private baths. The rear patio area is small, but has tables, chairs, a tiny bath and BBQ, etc. The pool is not heated. A large 10+ gallon bottled water is available to all guests for drinking.
Also, we were told that breakfast is no longer being served with no reason. Get clear on that in your email communication, as no mention was made to us otherwise. Also, we were not offered the use of the 'free internet' which we assumed was in the owners unit on the top floor.
You are centrally located near a tienda (market-1 block) and farmica (pharmacy 1/2 block). We needed both and loved the location. It was within walking distance of EVERYTHING.
The market gave the best exchange rate for Travelers checks and US dollars. You are also literally across the street from the Buffalo Grill and Tres Virgenes; two popular 'american' eateries.
Free street parking for your car. We paid Ceclia US cash for the room.
The inn was noisy, but tolerable. You are located on a busy street and will hear people chatting as they walk by (a locked gate and entryway goes right to the street), as well as cars, sirens and the local church bell chimming, and so forth. Also, there is a neighbor with 2-3 barking dogs that bark intermittently day and night. If you want QUIET....this may not be the place for you (especially if there are other guests).
We were very very pleased with the Inn, and would return.
If this is your first time to La Paz, bring a Spanish dictionary. We speak and read high school spanish which was good enough to get us through meals and such. You are the minority speaking English. If you choose to go to more popular hotels and eateries, plenty of engish is spoken.

  • Stayed: May 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank kahnartist
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 10, 2007

My husband and I spent 8 nights at the Baja B&B in La Paz in late Feb/early March, 2007. Cecilia, the owner, is warm and friendly, speaks excellent English and she's a terrific cook!

The B&B has free wireless internet and there is an open courtyard in back of the house with a small pool. The B&B is located very near the main square, a few blocks uphill from the Malecon. Within a 2 block radius, you'll find a fair sized neighborhood grocery store, a laundramat (self-service or inexpensive full service), restaurants, shopping, lots of street parking, an ATM, and almost nightly entertainment on the main plaza!

Cecilia's beautiful house is 3 stories, and she serves a lovely breakfast on the top floor. So if stairs aren't your thing, check with her about room rates without breakfast.

Right now the B&B has 3 bedrooms with shared bathrooms which are very economical. Four larger units will be completed soon. The biggest drawback is that the walls to the current rooms are thin and windows are kept open for ventilation, so the level of privacy can be fairly low, depending on the number of guests. And occasionally the neighbors' hounds break into a raucous canine chorus at any hour of the day or night.

The Buffalo BBQ restaurant is across the street – excellent! The Tres Virgenes restaurant (named after a Baja volcano with 3 peaks), is on the next block – take your sweater for open air seating. Be sure to make reservations on weekends at any nice restaurant. Other great eateries we checked out were Mar Y Pena, El Michoacano, Bermejo at the Los Arcos, and of course La Fuente (unique and delicious ice cream!).

The city's tourist office on the Malecon gave us some great advice. For example, we opted to take a second tour with Alberto Susarrey, phone 612-131-77-55, after our first afternoon with him.

There are so many places we've yet to see in the world, but La Paz is definitely a place that we will return to!

1  Thank LWL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 4, 2007

My husband and I spent one week in a small one bedroom apartment hosted by Cecilia at Baja Bed and Breakfast. The apartment was spotlessly clean, and very well equipped. There were dishes, pots and
pans in the kitchen, and everything we could ask for. The bathroom was huge, the shower very roomy and everything clean. There is a small grocery store a block away. The town square is 1/2 block, and the Malecon a quick two block walk. There are excellent restaurants and taco stands within a block.

The apartment faces the street and therefore can get a little loud withthe traffic going by, but it didn't really bother us. We enjoyed breakfast with Cecilia twice during our stay, and the rest of the time cooked ourselves.

We walked to the public market, took the bus out of town to the mall to go to the movies, and took a different bus out to the beautiful Tecolote beach for the day. Cecilia was a great hostess, full of information. La Paz is a wonderful city. We can't wait to go back.
Property web site: [----]


  • Stayed: March 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank patit
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 8, 2016
Google Translation

Room Tip: La más cercana a la cocina
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2016, traveled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank G Jimena R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 28, 2016 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: February 2016, traveled as a couple
Thank Marine13320
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these La Paz hotels
0.7 mi away
Posada LunaSol Hotel
Posada LunaSol Hotel
#6 of 39 in La Paz
339 reviews
1.6 mi away
La Posada Hotel & Beach Club
0.3 mi away
Hotel Catedral La Paz
Hotel Catedral La Paz
#2 of 39 in La Paz
168 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.1 mi away
Hotel Paradise Pasion La Paz
0.2 mi away
Hotel Perla
Hotel Perla
#8 of 39 in La Paz
248 reviews
4.3 mi away
Hyatt Place La Paz
Hyatt Place La Paz
#3 of 39 in La Paz
551 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Baja Bed and Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Baja Bed and Breakfast

Address: Calle Francisco i. Madero 354 | B/ 5 de Mayo y Constitucion, La Paz 23006, Mexico
Location: Mexico > Baja California > Baja California Sur > La Paz
Amenities:
Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #18 of 28 B&Bs / Inns in La Paz
Price Range: $63 - $65 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 29
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Baja Bed and Breakfast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Baja b&b
Baja Hotel La Paz

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing