We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Incredible Stay”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
CostaBaja Resort & Spa
Ranked #5 of 39 Hotels in La Paz
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed June 4, 2014

We had a two week stay in Costa Baja Resort for our honeymoon. The resort was everything we had hoped it to be and more. We were amazed by how friendly all of the staff were - nothing was ever too much trouble. We were staying in May, which we were told is the off season and the resort was fairly quiet. We often had the use of the pool and the beach club to ourselves which was extremely relaxing. Everything was clean and kept in immaculate condition. Our room was spacious and quiet. The breakfast at the Mosaic Restaurant was fresh every day and we enjoyed a couple of trips to the golf club for breakfast too with amazing views. Most days we enjoyed lunch at the beach club which had a great selection. The pool had a swim up bar with delicious cocktails - the pina coladas were great. There was plenty of selection for evening meals too. The hotel restaurant Steinbecks was outstanding and their tasting menu was really good value for a five course meal. There were several excellent restaurants in the marina - a short walk away. We also used the hotel's free shuttle service to travel down town several nights for our evening meal. It was then easy to get a taxi back to the hotel. We were happy to spend most days relaxing by the pool but really enjoyed our one day trip, which was a boat trip to the local Espiritu Santu island organised by Fun Baja. Overall, our stay could not have been any better.

Room Tip: We had a room with a sea view and it was definitely worth it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Andrew G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
costabajasales, Director General at CostaBaja Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded June 17, 2014

On behalf of all the Costabaja Resort & Spa family, I would like to thank you for choosing our property for your recent stay in Baja California Sur.
I truly appreciate your feedback, since it is a fundamental management tool to keep improving our services.
We look forward to receiving you back in Costabaja in a near future.
Best Regards

Eduardo Herrera
Gerente General
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (715)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

285 - 291 of 715 reviews

Reviewed May 29, 2014

We enjoy our stay at Costabaja. Looking forward to return soon. great resort, great restaurants, we spent all day at the pool and beach club.
staff is excellent. La Paz is a great city, friendly people, clean and safe

  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jooojooo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
costabajasales, Director General at CostaBaja Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded June 17, 2014

On behalf of all the Costabaja Resort & Spa family, I would like to thank you for choosing our property for your recent stay in Baja California Sur.
I truly appreciate your feedback, since it is a fundamental management tool to keep improving our services.
We look forward to receiving you back in Costabaja in a near future.
Best Regards

Eduardo Herrera
Gerente General
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 21, 2014

We learned of this resort by looking thru Trip Advisors and online sources. It met our expectations in every way. The hotel is very new and clean and what one would expect of a very good resort. Our room was very new and clean with a great view. Would like to have had a bigger balcony but this is only a minor item. Had a friendly and quick check in...the staff were all excellent and very friendly. The resort itself is beautiful, two pools with the beach club being incredible. We used the smaller restaurant for breakfast and the food was good. We found the main restaurant (I forget the name) most excellent....service was incredible and the food exceptional. The prices for this restaurant were typical US resort prices but well worth it.

Overall a very relaxing 6 days

  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Brian L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
costabajasales, Director General at CostaBaja Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded June 17, 2014

On behalf of all the Costabaja Resort & Spa family, I would like to thank you for choosing our property for your recent stay in Baja California Sur.
I truly appreciate your feedback, since it is a fundamental management tool to keep improving our services.
We look forward to receiving you back in Costabaja in a near future.
Best Regards

Eduardo Herrera
Gerente General
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 13, 2014

For a new resort, claiming to be a 5 star, with a world-class golf course (which in four days we saw no one on), Costa Baja was a bit of a lunch-bag let down. First of all, the location is not walking distance to La Paz, so if you want a day or evening "off the compound" it's a bit inconvenient. It's clean, and comfortable but they miss the mark on so many levels: Like having (really bad) live pool-side entertainment when people are attempting a siesta (all rooms open up to the pool). Bad enough for one day, but the sad-sack crew come out and play the same set daily; Like having a balcony not big enough for sitting out on (why bother?). In four days, we saw NO ONE sitting out; Like having your huge shower stall in the middle of your room. I suppose it's avant-guard design good for group showering, but practically, since we didn't find anyone wanting to shower with us, a sitting area would have been more practical space; Like boasting a beach with absolutely no one and nothing on it, except a huge sign warning bathers about stingrays. I guess that gets everybody over to the Beach House, where they can order their drinks poolside and eat their nachos lathered in processed Cheez Whiz. Are you kidding me? A 5-star serving Cheez Whiz on their nachos and Hamburgers. Yikes. Steinbeck's was a good restaurant, but the priciest meal I had in Baja - the best restaurants are at the Marina. Thankfully, we had great weather - there's nothing to do if it's not. The one thing this place is good at is Marketing.

  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank CaboSanAntonio
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
costabajasales, Director General at CostaBaja Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded June 17, 2014

On behalf of all the Costabaja Resort & Spa family, I would like to thank you for choosing our property for your recent stay in Baja California Sur.
I truly appreciate your feedback, since it is a fundamental management tool to keep improving our services and quality of food, we are working with all the people involved.

Best Regards

Eduardo Herrera
Gerente General
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 30, 2014

Lovely views, specially from the infinity pool at the beach club, the white beach is beautifully groomed each morning and you can walk forever in the sea which seems more like a lake because it is so serene.
It is worth upgrading to a suite which have lovely terraces where we enjoyed dinner from room-service with the view of the sea and the marina and the shower is outside which was great fun.
They could improve on their reception skills as it does take forever to check in and the room was not ready until 4 o'clock which after a five hour drive from Loreto did not sit well, we were sent to the beach club where the service unfortunately was not very good because the place is very nice.
All in all a very agreeable stay, housekeeping was very helpful and the food was good, would definitely go back.

Stayed: April 2014, traveled with friends
Thank Patricia247
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
costabajasales, Director General at CostaBaja Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded June 17, 2014

On behalf of all the Costabaja Resort & Spa family, I would like to thank you for choosing our property for your recent stay in Baja California Sur.
I truly appreciate your feedback, since it is a fundamental management tool to keep improving our services.
We look forward to receiving you back in Costabaja in a near future.
Best Regards

Eduardo Herrera
Gerente General
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 28, 2014

Excellent choice if you want to have a relaxing time in La Paz. Costa Baja has everything you need to have a great time. The golf club house is not in the hotel and you need transportation to take you to the club house and back to the hotel. This is not a big deal!!! I thought the prices for the stay were reasonable and the staff was very friendly and helpful...We are going back to La Paz and Costa Baja in Jan of 2015...I would recommend this hotel for families with children...You wont be disappointed!!!

Room Tip: Get the ocean view not the hills or golf course view...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank flyfisherken
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
costabajasales, Director General at CostaBaja Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded June 17, 2014

On behalf of all the Costabaja Resort & Spa family, I would like to thank you for choosing our property for your recent stay in Baja California Sur.
I truly appreciate your feedback, since it is a fundamental management tool to keep improving our services.
We look forward to receiving you back in Costabaja in a near future.
Best Regards

Eduardo Herrera
Gerente General
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 22, 2014

Do not miss out on this great hotel. Personnel is extremely helpful and kind, the view is amazing and everything is super great!! Beds are super comfortable, location is wonderful, service great... really, something to talk about

  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank claudia v
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
costabajasales, Director General at CostaBaja Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded June 17, 2014

On behalf of all the Costabaja Resort & Spa family, I would like to thank you for choosing our property for your recent stay in Baja California Sur.
I truly appreciate your feedback, since it is a fundamental management tool to keep improving our services.
We look forward to receiving you back in Costabaja in a near future.
Best Regards

Eduardo Herrera
Gerente General
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these La Paz hotels
5.4 mi away
La Posada Hotel & Beach Club
0.1 mi away
Hyatt Place La Paz
Hyatt Place La Paz
#3 of 39 in La Paz
566 reviews
4.5 mi away
Hotel HBlue
Hotel HBlue
#1 of 39 in La Paz
205 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
14.0 mi away
Rancho Las Cruces
Rancho Las Cruces
#24 of 39 in La Paz
25 reviews
4.0 mi away
Hotel Catedral La Paz
Hotel Catedral La Paz
#2 of 39 in La Paz
186 reviews
3.6 mi away
Las Gaviotas Resort
Las Gaviotas Resort
#9 of 39 in La Paz
192 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to CostaBaja Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about CostaBaja Resort & Spa

Address: Calle Bahia Pichilingue Km 7.5, La Paz 23010, Mexico
Phone Number:
Location: Mexico > Baja California > Baja California Sur > La Paz
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Luxury Hotel in La Paz
#1 Spa Hotel in La Paz
#1 On the Beach Hotel in La Paz
#1 Top resorts Hotel in La Paz
#3 Romantic Hotel in La Paz
Price Range: $143 - $278 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — CostaBaja Resort & Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 115
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
CostaBaja™ Resort and Spa is just 10 minutes south from downtown La Paz, the capital of Baja California Sur. The resort is set on the magnificent Sea of Cortez overlooking a 250-slip double-basin marina and a white sand beach. Just north of the hotel, lies Isla Espiritu Santo where you'll discover one of the greatest marine reserves in the world, along with the best sport fishing in Baja Sur. Endless Activities and Options on the Sea of Cortez Within the resort, activities are endless! Costa Baja offers exclusive access and preferred rates at Mexico's only Gary Player-designed golf course, the tranquil Espiritu Spa - featuring locally-inspired treatments and full spa services, three pools, as well as multiple dining options. Unmatched Guest Rooms and Acommodations: Unmatched in La Paz, Costa Baja features luxuriously-appointed resort hotel rooms with views of the surrounding area, private balconies and 24-hour room service. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Orbitz, Hotwire, Cancelon, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com, Cheap Tickets and TripOnline SA so you can book your CostaBaja Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Costabaja Resort And Spa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing