We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
CostaBaja Resort & Spa
Nearby Hotels
Hyatt Place La Paz(La Paz)(Great Value!)
$82
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$118
$112
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Seven Crown La Paz Centro(La Paz)(Great Value!)
$79
$73
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hotel Marina(La Paz)
$68
$46
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Club El Moro(La Paz)(Great Value!)
$94
$67
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Posada LunaSol Hotel(La Paz)(Great Value!)
$58
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$44
$40
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$490
$480
Travelocity
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
$68
$66
Travelocity
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Reviews (756)
Filter reviews
756 results
Traveler rating
461
191
60
18
26
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
461
191
60
18
26
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsbeach clubcosta bajagolf coursegary playerazul marinofun bajainfinity poolsushi placetennis courtsfree shuttleswim up barmarina areabeautiful hotelthe general managermin driveocean viewbreakfast buffet is
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
335 - 340 of 756 reviews
Reviewed February 12, 2014

I note with interest that of the handful of very negative reviews, almost all are fairly dated -- which tells me that they've cleared up whatever problems they may have had here a couple years ago. My wife and I are just finishing up a five-night stay at CostaBaja with another couple. We all found it outstanding. Great personal service at the front desk, by the parking valets, by the concierge, by the waiters in the restaurants - absolutely everyone we dealt with was eager to help. The property is extensive, very well designed, and in great shape, with all sorts of amenities. The food in both restaurants we ate at here was excellent. The biggest complaint we can think of -- and we tried hard -- was that one day there was only one towel in the room. When I said we needed another, housekeeping showed up in about five minutes with several more. Management has done a terrific job here.

  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank dennisfr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 3, 2014

I was very impressed with the friendly staff upon arrival! Gentleman helping with bags made sure me and my friend had a Welcome Drink while our wives were checking us into the resort!! That was just what was needed due to a long drive we endured coming from Loreto. The staff also made sure we had an understanding of our premises before we went to our room.

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sandybutt11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 3, 2014

Just got back from 6 days at Costa Baja in La Paz. The hotel was great, the staff was truly wonderful (from the front desk [thank you Alejandra] to the concierge [thank you Origami] to the maid service [thank you Silvia] and all the gentlemen who man the doors & help with the baggage) - all friendly, attentive and bi-lingual. The room was quite comfortabel, especially the bed, with a nifty Moulinex coffee machine, a private terrace, lots of drawer space. The view of the Sea of Cortez was worth the extra cost, and at night you can see the lights of La Paz across the bay, very romantic!

However, there are some nits that keep this hotel from 5 stars in my opinion. Not the fault of the staff in anyway, but poor planning. The shower is glass and acts as the wall between the bathroom and rest of the room. Not a problem, but what is odd is there's no way to hang a towel near the shower so you can dry off without driping across the floor. There are two hooks, but nowhere to hang a hand towel near the sink. Made it a bit impossible to not end up leaving towels on the floor - no where to hang them. Also, the room comes with a bathrobe - one. And all the rooms (except the larger suites) seem to be adjoining rooms, meaning there is a door between them. This makes them a bit noisy. Our first night we were disturbed by loud neighbors, but lucky for us the left the next day and no one else came for the rest of our stay. All this are nits, the hotel is lovely, but just shy of excellent.

There are 3 restaurants at the hotel, one for breakfast and lunch, Steinbeck's just for dinner, and the Beach Club, for bkfst & lunch. We recommend the beach club for breakfast, just lovely, good choices and beautiful view. Steinbeck's is riduculously expensive and the food mediocre. If you stroll to the marina, there are 3 choices - we enjoyed Azul Marino very much and had dinner there twice. More expensive than in La Paz proper, but very good. La Paz proper and a myriad of dining choices, all types, cuisines and price points, so enjoy a day on the malecon and take your pick of affordable food!

Room Tip: Pay the extra for a sea view - otherwise, what's the point?
  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank sleeplessinajijic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 23, 2014

Its hard to say anything bad about this place. The staff are amazingly friendly and helpful, the place is new and very clean, the facilities are excellent and all of the food we had was top drawer.

If we were to note any shortcomings they would be these.

1. It's a bit far from town. There is a free shuttle service that runs every 2 hours, but last one back is at 7:30PM. Cabs are about $11 US.
2. The price of food and beverages is well out of line with what you pay in town. Not that it is crazy expensive but you feel taken advantage of.
3. The beach isn't very big if beach walking is your chosen exercise.

Tips - the Breeze mini-market in the marina is a gem. Great espresso beverages, great breakfast/lunch tacos and burritos and the rice pudding is to die for. Super friendly.

Stayed: January 2014, traveled as a couple
3  Thank fussyyetcheap
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 21, 2014

Great stay at this resort. It is one of the best we've stayed at. Excellent location and beautiful property. All of the staff were excellent but Jorge, Jonathan and the concierge were great. Food was excellent at all the restaurants. Concierge was very helpful in setting up the whale shark trip. Golf course looks fantastic but I don't play. Definitely going back for another stay.

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Tom R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews