We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic Stay!! Beach Resort Area was top notch!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
CostaBaja Resort & Spa
Ranked #3 of 39 Hotels in La Paz
Certificate of Excellence
Grand Island, Nebraska
Level 2 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Fantastic Stay!! Beach Resort Area was top notch!”
Reviewed February 3, 2014

I was very impressed with the friendly staff upon arrival! Gentleman helping with bags made sure me and my friend had a Welcome Drink while our wives were checking us into the resort!! That was just what was needed due to a long drive we endured coming from Loreto. The staff also made sure we had an understanding of our premises before we went to our room.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sandybutt11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

687 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    432
    171
    48
    13
    23
See reviews for
162
320
20
35
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (164)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Norwalk, Connecticut
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed February 3, 2014

Just got back from 6 days at Costa Baja in La Paz. The hotel was great, the staff was truly wonderful (from the front desk [thank you Alejandra] to the concierge [thank you Origami] to the maid service [thank you Silvia] and all the gentlemen who man the doors & help with the baggage) - all friendly, attentive and bi-lingual. The room was quite comfortabel, especially the bed, with a nifty Moulinex coffee machine, a private terrace, lots of drawer space. The view of the Sea of Cortez was worth the extra cost, and at night you can see the lights of La Paz across the bay, very romantic!

However, there are some nits that keep this hotel from 5 stars in my opinion. Not the fault of the staff in anyway, but poor planning. The shower is glass and acts as the wall between the bathroom and rest of the room. Not a problem, but what is odd is there's no way to hang a towel near the shower so you can dry off without driping across the floor. There are two hooks, but nowhere to hang a hand towel near the sink. Made it a bit impossible to not end up leaving towels on the floor - no where to hang them. Also, the room comes with a bathrobe - one. And all the rooms (except the larger suites) seem to be adjoining rooms, meaning there is a door between them. This makes them a bit noisy. Our first night we were disturbed by loud neighbors, but lucky for us the left the next day and no one else came for the rest of our stay. All this are nits, the hotel is lovely, but just shy of excellent.

There are 3 restaurants at the hotel, one for breakfast and lunch, Steinbeck's just for dinner, and the Beach Club, for bkfst & lunch. We recommend the beach club for breakfast, just lovely, good choices and beautiful view. Steinbeck's is riduculously expensive and the food mediocre. If you stroll to the marina, there are 3 choices - we enjoyed Azul Marino very much and had dinner there twice. More expensive than in La Paz proper, but very good. La Paz proper and a myriad of dining choices, all types, cuisines and price points, so enjoy a day on the malecon and take your pick of affordable food!

Room Tip: Pay the extra for a sea view - otherwise, what's the point?
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank sleeplessinajijic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary, Canada
Level 6 Contributor
192 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 80 helpful votes
Reviewed January 23, 2014 via mobile

Its hard to say anything bad about this place. The staff are amazingly friendly and helpful, the place is new and very clean, the facilities are excellent and all of the food we had was top drawer.

If we were to note any shortcomings they would be these.

1. It's a bit far from town. There is a free shuttle service that runs every 2 hours, but last one back is at 7:30PM. Cabs are about $11 US.
2. The price of food and beverages is well out of line with what you pay in town. Not that it is crazy expensive but you feel taken advantage of.
3. The beach isn't very big if beach walking is your chosen exercise.

Tips - the Breeze mini-market in the marina is a gem. Great espresso beverages, great breakfast/lunch tacos and burritos and the rice pudding is to die for. Super friendly.

Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
3 Thank fussyyetcheap
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kerrville, Texas
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed January 21, 2014

Great stay at this resort. It is one of the best we've stayed at. Excellent location and beautiful property. All of the staff were excellent but Jorge, Jonathan and the concierge were great. Food was excellent at all the restaurants. Concierge was very helpful in setting up the whale shark trip. Golf course looks fantastic but I don't play. Definitely going back for another stay.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tom R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed January 20, 2014

This is my second time staying here, this time as a meeting planner. It's a beautiful hotel, the meeting planning was easy and affordable. Rooms are modestly sized, but clean and well decorated. The front desk and the events staff was great. Robin was really helpful during and after my stay, and next time I come back I'm going to bring my family to harass him too. Luis at the front desk was great, as was Ismael on the events side. They were accommodating to my complex billing requests and constantly changing the number of people at our meals.

It's a bit far from town, but the food is great for hotel food, so eating meals there isn't disappointing. There are fantastic restaurants in La Paz, though, so be sure to get into town. The beach is great, if a little sterilized.

The walls of the rooms are a bit thin. I could hear people in the hall and TVs very easily. The hotel wasn't very crowded, and it would have been nice to space us out a bit, but it is what it is.
I'm looking forward to returning next year.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ophiodon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego, California
2 reviews
Reviewed January 20, 2014

Went to CostaBaja for my honeymoon and had an amazing time. The property is beautiful, the pool/beach club are incredible and you can get really nice tropical drinks which are relatively affordable considering you are within the walls of a high-class resort. Nearby beaches to the property are well worth a visit as well. The dinner restaurant in the hotel is quite tasty but a bit expensive, we tried the Italian place in the marina next door and it was also delicious and a better value. Highly recommend CostaBaja for a relaxing La Paz trip.

Room Tip: Get an oceanview room. Costs a bit more but the view of the golfcourse is not nearly as nice.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank rpd142
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bullhead CIty, AZ
Level 6 Contributor
164 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 148 helpful votes
Reviewed January 15, 2014

We spent a week at CostaBaja after a family member recommended it as one of the most beautiful hotels she has stayed in and was a great value. We planned to stay for a week after the holidays, as a "buffer" between another vacation and getting back to work.

First the pros: the property is beautiful and well cared for. The infinity pool at the Beach Club is very nice and warm enough to swim even on cooler days. The beach is mostly sand (with some rocks - not a natural beach) and the warnings about sting rays could apply to most any protected sand beach along the Sea of Cortez but is clean and has a nice view of the Bay of La Paz. Rooms are nice (with a few cons I will address) and have nice higher end toiletries as would be expected, and comfortable beds. The biggest "pro" is the staff -- all of the staff from the front desk, to the ladies who clean the rooms, to the ladies who bring chocolates door to door in the afternoon (a nice touch!) we very customer service oriented. Golfers were very impressed by the course and facilities -- I do not golf, so cannot comment directly.

The cons: Although the property and rooms are nice, there are a few things that make for a less-than-5-star property. First are the rooms themselves; there is no mini-bar or even refrigerator or microwave, and instead they provide a "food preserver" (looks like a mini wine cabinet) that is not cool but humidity controlled. Likewise, if you want ice, you need to call the front desk and request it. It is not provided automatically, and it is clear the hotel does not want guest drinking or enjoying snacks in their room but rather encourages people to drink/eat in the restaurants (I even had trouble finding a bottle opener on the property when I brought a beer from in town and the restaurant staff who opened it made a gesture as though he was not supposed to open drinks from outside doing me a favor by doing so). The shower is nice, roomy, and romantic; but is all glass in the center of the room frosted in the middle - so, keep this in mind if staying with families or if any sort of privacy is desired. Likewise the toilet stall: just a glass door that hinges without sealing so every noise and... well, you can use your imagination. It was easy to tell from the bed when the toilet was last used :) The rooms are not soundproof, so the TV in the adjacent room was very noticeable as well as the noises from the hallway. The hotel itself is a few miles out of town along a not-pedestrian-friendly roadway, so the free hotel shuttle is used to go downtown (leaves mostly every one or two hours depending on the time of day) but a taxi ride is required outside of shuttle times - about $10 USD each direction. The spa menu is inviting and we did not partake so cannot comment on the actual services themselves, but are overpriced considering the actual spa facility. No jacuzzi, steam room/sauna are very basic and similar to any fitness center I have been in).

Their are five restaurants on the CostaBaja property; two of them are in the hotel itself, two in the marina shopping area, and one in the golf clubhouse. We ate in four of them and overall found all of them with the exception of the Italian restaurant to be very overpriced, even considering this is a resort. We spent the equivalent of $30 USD for one very small and plain breakfast burrito, a few potatoes, and coffee at the golf clubhouse. Steinbeck's is nice, has a nice ambiance, but again - $10 USD for a margarita and mixed drinks; $40 USD for an OK steak -- better to eat in town.

One more thing to keep in mind: it is actually cheaper to fly into Los Cabos and take the free shuttle (about 1 1/2 hr away), than fly into La Paz, only about 30 minutes away: the hotel will provide free transportation to Los Cabos - but from the La Paz airport you will be charged $32 USD (or 350 pesos) each way. Taxis are more expensive in La Paz than some other cities, but prices are fixed and consistent. We were able to haggle a little in town, but not much.

Overall, the positives outweigh the negatives and the price value was good, just remember this is a "nice" hotel, the pool and beach very nice, and you will pay more than US prices for most food and drink; but, it is not really a five-star resort. All in all, we would definitely go back assuming were were able to get a good around $100-per-night per-night deal.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Qualnurse
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these La Paz hotels
5.4 mi away
La Posada Hotel & Beach Club
0.1 mi away
Hyatt Place La Paz
Hyatt Place La Paz
#2 of 39 in La Paz
526 reviews
14.0 mi away
Rancho Las Cruces
Rancho Las Cruces
#22 of 39 in La Paz
25 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.5 mi away
Hotel HBlue
Hotel HBlue
#1 of 39 in La Paz
187 reviews
3.6 mi away
Las Gaviotas Resort
Las Gaviotas Resort
#8 of 39 in La Paz
189 reviews
4.8 mi away
Posada LunaSol Hotel
Posada LunaSol Hotel
#6 of 39 in La Paz
336 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to CostaBaja Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about CostaBaja Resort & Spa

Property: CostaBaja Resort & Spa
Address: Calle Bahia Pichilingue Km 7.5, La Paz 23010, Mexico
Phone Number:
Location: Mexico > Baja California > Baja California Sur > La Paz
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Top resorts Hotel in La Paz
#1 Spa Hotel in La Paz
#1 Luxury Hotel in La Paz
#1 On the Beach Hotel in La Paz
#3 Romantic Hotel in La Paz
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — CostaBaja Resort & Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 115
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
CostaBaja™ Resort and Spa is just 10 minutes south from downtown La Paz, the capital of Baja California Sur. The resort is set on the magnificent Sea of Cortez overlooking a 250-slip double-basin marina and a white sand beach. Just north of the hotel, lies Isla Espiritu Santo where you'll discover one of the greatest marine reserves in the world, along with the best sport fishing in Baja Sur. Endless Activities and Options on the Sea of Cortez Within the resort, activities are endless! Costa Baja offers exclusive access and preferred rates at Mexico's only Gary Player-designed golf course, the tranquil Espiritu Spa - featuring locally-inspired treatments and full spa services, three pools, as well as multiple dining options. Unmatched Guest Rooms and Acommodations: Unmatched in La Paz, Costa Baja features luxuriously-appointed resort hotel rooms with views of the surrounding area, private balconies and 24-hour room service. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, Orbitz, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your CostaBaja Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Costabaja Resort And Spa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing