We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Only played golf...”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
CostaBaja Resort & Spa
Ranked #4 of 39 Hotels in La Paz
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed July 14, 2013

My wife and I have had the opportunity to play Costa Baja Golf Club a number of times. This Gary Player designed course is a fun test of golf with tremendous views of the bay of La Paz. There are numerous tee boxes to fit anyone's game. The fairways are generous and the greens challenging but not impossible. The elevation changes are really dramatic!! This is one of Mr. Players really good designs. He uses the land well.
Fore-caddies are available and I would recommend one for your first round.; there are a few tee shots where knowing what to hit and where are vital. The course has been in very good condition every time I have played it. It naturally is a little more lush in the winter when the temperatures are cooler. However, we just played there on the 12th of July and other than a few brown spots in the fairways and the greens being a little slower than normal, it was as enjoyable as always!
Upon completion of your round, you should definitely stop in at the bar and have a margarita while watching the bay. A great way to end the day!!

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
1  Thank John C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (700)
There are newer reviews for CostaBaja Resort & Spa
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

336 - 342 of 700 reviews

Reviewed July 9, 2013

We stayed here for a week with my wife. Beautiful grounds, excellent location, outstanding service, very good value. We stayed initially in one of the "sea view" rooms (it was next to the lobby, on the third floor, with very limited views. The initial room was nice but bit small and it is odd to have the shower in the middle of the room. We upgraded to a suite and it made all the difference in the world. It was exceptionally nice, with the most beautiful views and a large terrace. If you can afford it and it is available, treat yourself. Buffet breakfast is excellent and very reasonable (130 pesos for continental, 160 pesos for american with an egg dish, and 220 for the whole menue with some entrees). The pool by the hotel is the perfect resting place. Also, around the marina there are a few nice restaurants so it is very pleasant to go for a short stroll and have dinner by the marina. The only downside is that the Spa prices are way too high (higher than what we pay in San Diego) so a massage costs more than 2/3 the daily cost of the room. However, all in all, a wonderful experience. We will go back.

Room Tip: go to the 4th floor and pick sea view rooms. The ones on the third floor above number 326 do not hav...
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank John S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 7, 2013 via mobile

Service is very good. Employees always looking for solutions and showing attention. We tried the steinbeck restaurant which is good. The beach house with the pool is really relaxing. We tried this resort before high season.

  • Stayed: July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Citlali76
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 30, 2013

If you want a place to chill rewind and feel treated like you are on holiday then don't look further than this place. Very good service esp. from Alejandra at the Concierge and Savana. very nice rooms although the tiled floor made them feel a bit cold at times, but otherwise really clean. The cerviche in the restaurant downstairs is worth a try and we spent some nice time at the beach club. overall the whole staff made us feel at home esp. with our baby and the massage was also very good.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Muffer26
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 28, 2013

My husband and I stayed for 3 nights at the CostaBaja. Wonderful views, very clean hotel, confortable and modern, but the most important is the really good service representated by the supervisor Sylvain Paruy.
The large Marina besides the Hotel is a great option to whom wants be a fisherman for a couple of days. The "pangas" can pick you up and drop you off there at the end of the day. Very easy!
The restaurant Steinbecks is amazing with a good chef.

Room Tip: My room was 305 with sea view.
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Eliane M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 25, 2013

Costa Baja is a great little hotel, just a few miles from downtown La Paz, with spectacular views, very nice, comfortable and super-clean rooms, two great restaurants and a beach club. Service is fantastic. We particularly enjoyed the food at Mosaic. Waiters Freddie and Jose were outstanding.

Room Tip: Request the Ocean view. It is worth every penny.
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Paladarselectivo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 7, 2013

My husband and I had a quick, kidless getaway to Costa Baja May30-June 4. I cannot say enough positive things about this resort. Please, please, please Lord, let me be able to go back here someday!!!!!!

The service at the entire resort was top notch! In fact, I had made the comment to our shuttle driver about how many people were available and constantly at our service and he said that since they were in a slow part of the season that half the staff had just been laid off for the season. I can't even begin to fathom the level of service we'd receive if they had been fully staffed. I was overwhelmed enough with what we did receive.

Our condo (#304) in the Vista Mar area was posh, tastefully furnished, clean and had such a gorgeous view out to the water. Each day a staff member would come to our room and provide us with as many bottled waters as we wanted. You get a golf cart to drive around the property during your stay. This was nice since we had not rented a car. There is also a shuttle that goes back and forth many times to La Paz each day. Nicely equipped workout room. Game room with billiards, ping pong and foosball. Condo area has it's own large pool area (don't think there's a swim up bar area here), but you can also use the hotel pool and the beach club infinity pool.

We also stayed a couple nights in the hotel. Our room was very nice with another great view. I thought the glass enclosed shower (on 3 sides) in the middle of the room was so unique (see photo). It was clear glass on the top and the bottom and then frosted in the middle. It was very cool taking a shower and being able to see out to the Sea of Cortez while showering. Yes, the room was small, but we were only there a short time and didn't spend much time in the room anyway. If I were staying for a week I'd prefer something bigger. Workout room at both the hotel and at the beach club nearby. Hotel has it's own large pool with swim up bar. You can also use the beach club area and the infinity pol there.

The beach club is so beauftiful, relaxing and fun to hang out at (see photos). The view out to the Sea of Cortez is spectacular. There are these cool lounge chairs that look like little weaved lounging boats (see photo) and they sit right in the shallow area at the infinity pool. Sooooooo relaxing. There's a beach volleyball area. You can even play ping pong if it's not too windy. You can rent sea kayaks, paddle boards and other ocean fun items. There is an onsite business where you can arrange snuba, scubs, snorkleing outings. Found lots of great shells on the beach. There is a large marina on site. We signed up for a sunset cruise one night and really enjoyed that.

We played golf twice. Fantastic course. Pretty much every hole has an ocean view. The clubhouse is very Frank Lloyd Wright-esque.....clean lines, cool architecture (see photo). It sits high atop a hill and has the most amazing views (try not to pay too much attention though to the power plant off to the right....that's truly the glaring negative about this resort). We loved that after the 9th hole we were given free tacos from the snack shack.

I enjoyed a fabulous spa experience......60 minute massage and 40 minutes herbal body wrap, scalp and facial massage/treatment. Heaven! The facility is so inviting, relaxing and pleasant.

There were so many restaurants to choose from....sushi (you cannot even believe how much sushi you get for a minimal price....in US you'd pay 3 times what we paid and get less); at sushi place be sure to order the plate that's named after their restaurant (Odakaya....something like this)....you will not regret it. Itallian (excellent meal, atmosphere and service...see photos). There are 3 or 4 others that we didn't eat at, but we heard from other guests they were also great. One of the 3 we did not eat at is up at the golf course club house. Unfortunately they close at 6, but if they were open for dinner I would have eaten there in a heartbeat just for the view alone. They really should offer dinners there....sunset would be amazing! There is also an onsite mini-grocery store (like a 7-11).

We did take a sales tour since we were interested in what type of program they offered for ownership. It was the most low pressure sales tour we'd ever been on. Our guide, Jim (so nice), asked us up front what our interest level was, we told him this was not the right time in our lives to be buying due to private highschool coming up for both our kids, he totally understood this and just gave us a really quick tour of the homes and a basic rundown of the program, then told us to get back to the beach and enjoy the sunshine.

All in all we highly recommend this resort. If you're fortunate enough to be able to buy here let me know as we'd be interested in renting time from you, if the price is reasonable. We are looking forward to coming back someday...hopefully soon! Would like to bring the kids next time too.

Room Tip: We had condo #304. Great view out to Sea of Cortez. Nice view of pool area. It can be a one or 2...
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank OregonDuckFan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these La Paz hotels
5.4 mi away
La Posada Hotel & Beach Club
0.1 mi away
Hyatt Place La Paz
Hyatt Place La Paz
#3 of 39 in La Paz
540 reviews
4.5 mi away
Hotel HBlue
Hotel HBlue
#1 of 39 in La Paz
193 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
14.0 mi away
Rancho Las Cruces
Rancho Las Cruces
#25 of 39 in La Paz
25 reviews
3.6 mi away
Las Gaviotas Resort
Las Gaviotas Resort
#8 of 39 in La Paz
190 reviews
4.8 mi away
Posada LunaSol Hotel
Posada LunaSol Hotel
#6 of 39 in La Paz
337 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to CostaBaja Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about CostaBaja Resort & Spa

Address: Calle Bahia Pichilingue Km 7.5, La Paz 23010, Mexico
Phone Number:
Location: Mexico > Baja California > Baja California Sur > La Paz
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Luxury Hotel in La Paz
#1 Top resorts Hotel in La Paz
#1 Spa Hotel in La Paz
#1 On the Beach Hotel in La Paz
#3 Romantic Hotel in La Paz
Price Range: $124 - $288 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — CostaBaja Resort & Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 115
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
CostaBaja™ Resort and Spa is just 10 minutes south from downtown La Paz, the capital of Baja California Sur. The resort is set on the magnificent Sea of Cortez overlooking a 250-slip double-basin marina and a white sand beach. Just north of the hotel, lies Isla Espiritu Santo where you'll discover one of the greatest marine reserves in the world, along with the best sport fishing in Baja Sur. Endless Activities and Options on the Sea of Cortez Within the resort, activities are endless! Costa Baja offers exclusive access and preferred rates at Mexico's only Gary Player-designed golf course, the tranquil Espiritu Spa - featuring locally-inspired treatments and full spa services, three pools, as well as multiple dining options. Unmatched Guest Rooms and Acommodations: Unmatched in La Paz, Costa Baja features luxuriously-appointed resort hotel rooms with views of the surrounding area, private balconies and 24-hour room service. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your CostaBaja Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Costabaja Resort And Spa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing