We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“What a Surprise!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
CostaBaja Resort & Spa
Ranked #3 of 39 Hotels in La Paz
Certificate of Excellence
Piedmont, CA
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“What a Surprise!”
Reviewed May 14, 2012

An elegant European style small luxury hotel with all the amenities and it is a great value.
The best hotel in town and the Odayaka sushi bar in the boat marina is also excellent.
I have traveled the world and I could not find any fualt with this operation, given the value and overall quality of offerings. If I fished, boated or golfed, I would be triple five starring the place.
I will suffice with tennis and water sports. La Paz was also a surprise and quite a delight where I had the best steak ever at the Estancia Uruguaya in town, a recomendation from Carlos at the Beach Club. All his eating spots were spot on, including Tacos del Sur.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ken S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

687 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    432
    171
    48
    13
    23
See reviews for
162
320
20
35
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (164)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Columbus, Ohio
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed May 2, 2012

Many thanks for the wonderful staff and spa services at CostaBaja! We took a chance at an unknown spot for a long weekend. The hotel is absolutely gorgeous! Food great, location beautiful, and we will be returning soon. And overlooking the marina...a sight for sore eyes! Thanks for the rest and respite!

Room Tip: All rooms are great!
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Weisel L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Anchorage, Alaska
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed April 9, 2012

My wife and I stayed at the CostaBaja before starting our Moorings sailing charter. We were pleasantly surprised by the quality and beauty of the hotel and its food. But the best part was the quality and competance of its staff and the friendly nature of the other people we encountered in La Paz. This is a first class hotel with good service.

Room Tip: We had reserved a sea view room but accepted one on marina side because it was closer to the room of...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ref056
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
Reviewed April 8, 2012 via mobile

The staff was very friendly and helpful. Rooms looked like new and in great condition. Marina provided good access to/for boats and water activities. Would stay here again next time in La Paz.

Stayed April 2012
Helpful?
Thank Ben K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vernon, Canada
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed March 28, 2012

One of the most beautiful views in a lifetime. Golf to your hearts content if you can finish the course. It is extremely difficult. Many only get to the 16th hole before they have to agree that the golfing extremity has taken hold. Go for lunch at the top of the world in its clubhouse mountain top view of the entire bay. You may want to stay indoors vrs the patio. The natural pests may bother your delectable lunch.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Roxanne N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto
Level 3 Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed March 20, 2012

As Canadians, my wife and I wanted to go to Mexico but avoid the commercial destinations such as Cancun and Cabo San Lucas. We decided on La Paz due to the ease of flying into the destination from Toronto with an easy connection in Mexico City. We decided on Costa Baja Resort and Spa since we love the beach, spa and like to golf.

Upon our arrival, we were greeted by the bellman who was both professional and courteous. The lobby / reception area of the hotel is very well decorated and comfortable to sit in and read a book if you wish. The front desk staff was very fast in checking us in and we were in our room in less than 5 minutes.

Our room was a King bed over looking the beach and marina. The room was well appointed, spacious and clean. The quality of the linens and towels would be comparable to a Ritz Carlton or Fairmont hotel in Canada...Very high end and upscale. The room had all the amenities of any luxury hotel (safe, large closet, free wifi, high end soaps and shampoos).

The food and restaurants at this hotel is amazing! We had breakfast and lunch at Mosaic's and dinner at Steinbeck's. My wife and I enjoyed the fresh seafood which La Paz is famous for and each meal was very reasonably priced.

The Spa (Espirtu) was an experience that I recommend to each and every guest. My Wife had a Swedish massage and I had the deep tissue massage in the couples treatment room. The one hour treatment felt like 15 minutes since the massage therapist was so good that I was relaxed and fell a sleep. The pricing for the treatment was very cheap in comparison to getting a massage treatment in Toronto.

The golf course we played 3 times since it is by far the best course that I have played. I have played Pebble Beach, Torrey Pines, The Teeth of the Dog and this Gary Player designed course will offer the best conditions and view of any golf course. The golf course is built into the desert but with ocean views. The greens, fairways and facilities would be comparable to a PGA tour sanctioned venue. The green fee is discounted when staying at the hotel and would make this a mandatory to-do-list item if you are a golfer. You will not be disappointed.

After golfing, we went to the private beach club of Costa Baja which offers food, drinks and excellent service and facilities. You have access to the beach, pool or jacuzzi all free.

The downtown area of La Paz offers excellent restaurants, shopping and walking the Malecon is highly recommended. It is VERY SAFE here and we never had any issues with walking the streets after 1100pm after a late dinner.

For excursions ask the hotel concierge to book the swimming with the sea lions and Todos Santos where you can visit the Hotel California (Yes, the one the Eagles made famous).

I was so impressed with Costa Baja that I would recommend this hotel to couples, families and even groups since I plan on bringing my annual golf trip of 20 golfers plus spouses to La Paz.

Canadian travellers is very easy to get to La Paz from Toronto via Mexico City with Air Canada connecting with Aero Mexico. We met some guests from Vancouver and Calgary and they flew direct into La Paz via Los Angeles on the same plane.

The value for money is excellent and will be returning this summer with the kids.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
9 Thank Canadian_Travel_Guru
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed February 20, 2012

Yes this is a premier hotel, only a year and a half old, and yes the private beach, natural environmental beauty, beach club with infinity pool, and hot tub was luxurious. But the key to our delight with the Costa Baja is the beautiful people who staff the establishment. Very present, genuinely kind, attentive, happy, easy to laugh with and honestly connect with, very professional and unobtrusive and gentle. My husband, son, and I booked this hotel as a package with the Cortez Club Scuba Diving Outfit (btw with superb dive masters!) and I think received a price break as a result - made it doable for us. It was so lovely to dive for 6 hours and then come back to the tranquility, rest and natural pampering offered by the hotel staff, (...delicious food by one of pools), as we rested for the next day of diving. We stayed 4 nights, and only scratched the surface of what is available at this hotel and environs. I hear on good authority that the golf course is one of the best in the world on par with Pebble Beach. Highly recommend the Costa Baja. One of our best vacations ever. Cheers, Maggie

Room Tip: We had a deck level room on the third floor, ( 321) facing the pool which was perfect to keep an eye...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Maggie H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these La Paz hotels
5.4 mi away
La Posada Hotel & Beach Club
0.1 mi away
Hyatt Place La Paz
Hyatt Place La Paz
#2 of 39 in La Paz
526 reviews
4.5 mi away
Hotel HBlue
Hotel HBlue
#1 of 39 in La Paz
187 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
14.0 mi away
Rancho Las Cruces
Rancho Las Cruces
#22 of 39 in La Paz
25 reviews
3.6 mi away
Las Gaviotas Resort
Las Gaviotas Resort
#8 of 39 in La Paz
189 reviews
4.8 mi away
Posada LunaSol Hotel
Posada LunaSol Hotel
#6 of 39 in La Paz
336 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to CostaBaja Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about CostaBaja Resort & Spa

Property: CostaBaja Resort & Spa
Address: Calle Bahia Pichilingue Km 7.5, La Paz 23010, Mexico
Phone Number:
Location: Mexico > Baja California > Baja California Sur > La Paz
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 On the Beach Hotel in La Paz
#1 Top resorts Hotel in La Paz
#1 Spa Hotel in La Paz
#1 Luxury Hotel in La Paz
#3 Romantic Hotel in La Paz
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — CostaBaja Resort & Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 115
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
CostaBaja™ Resort and Spa is just 10 minutes south from downtown La Paz, the capital of Baja California Sur. The resort is set on the magnificent Sea of Cortez overlooking a 250-slip double-basin marina and a white sand beach. Just north of the hotel, lies Isla Espiritu Santo where you'll discover one of the greatest marine reserves in the world, along with the best sport fishing in Baja Sur. Endless Activities and Options on the Sea of Cortez Within the resort, activities are endless! Costa Baja offers exclusive access and preferred rates at Mexico's only Gary Player-designed golf course, the tranquil Espiritu Spa - featuring locally-inspired treatments and full spa services, three pools, as well as multiple dining options. Unmatched Guest Rooms and Acommodations: Unmatched in La Paz, Costa Baja features luxuriously-appointed resort hotel rooms with views of the surrounding area, private balconies and 24-hour room service. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Orbitz, Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your CostaBaja Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Costabaja Resort And Spa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing