We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“An Older Gem”
Review of Club El Moro

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Club El Moro
Ranked #11 of 39 Hotels in La Paz
Certificate of Excellence
Loreto, Mexico
Level Contributor
38 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“An Older Gem”
Reviewed October 6, 2011

This hotel is an older gem located on the northern end of the malecon. It is an older property but very well kept and clean. Close to the restaurants but far enough north as not to be noisy at night. The staff was very helpful with our needs when we arrived with two small dogs. The rooms were large and the kitchen was well equipped for those who wanted to cook or were planning an extended visit.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BajaAlley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

171 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    66
    56
    26
    12
    11
See reviews for
46
74
6
5
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (27)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Las Vegas & Cabo San Lucas
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed April 20, 2011

I've been to the El Morro for the last 5 years. I've watched them survive some very bad weather and keep improving after every hardship. Any one who does not ratethis place high was either blind or happen to drop in after one of the hurricanes hit! The staff is very friendly and will go the extra distance for you. It is charming and a great location on the malacon. Many of my friends from Cabo San Lucas have stayed here and loved it! We all stay here when we are in La Paz!

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank DrTesterman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tucson
Level Contributor
105 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
Reviewed April 12, 2011

I have stayed at the El Moro four times over several years. The rooms are large and very nice and clean. Free wifi. The common area is beautifully landscaped with a very nice pool. Both shade and sun are available. Breakfast is included at the adjacent cafe. Morning coffee is available before breakfast - something I have not found at many hotels in Mexico. The location is 10 - 15 min walk to center of malecon (which is the ocean boardwalk) and is located on the ocean (road in front). You walk to restaurants along the malecon which is very pleasant. This hotel would be a good stay for an extended resort visit.

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Tom K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
26 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed March 20, 2011

El Moro is pretty and had a great position and lovely atmosphere. We stayed in one room we loved and one which was more disappointing (few things not working properly, needing maintenance work). Our main issue was that we had a poor response from staff at times which really impacted on our experience. One was (the trip advisor legendary) Carlos who failed to put our passports, money, cards etc in the safe after we handed them to him and he assured us he would (staff had to hunt around for them when we tried to get them back - doesn't inspire confidence!). And on another occasion Sylvia on the front desk was very rude and in fact quite insulting to us when we made a simple request, which was upsetting and really very unprofessional. However, Sergio on the bar and the friendly restaurant staff were great and overall we enjoyed our time there. Others have commented on the walk into town; we walked everywhere in la Paz and thoroughly enjoyed it!

  • Stayed March 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lozzer55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed March 11, 2011

Actually bad job . This person Ricardo it's a fake he only want money for himself and the hotel is in bad condition .. Needs everything new and employers too .. The smells is like a old old old old person dog house etc.. He only tell things to take more chances about inversions .. The money isn't all Ricardo and Carlos.... Shame!!!

  • Stayed January 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Carolian28
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
67 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed February 20, 2011

We've been taking short trips from our homebase in San Jose del Cabo to La Paz for 15 years and have tried many different accomodations in the city. Friends recommended El Morro so we gave it a whirl.

Upon our arrival the only type of room available was a "family suite" which we negotiated. The suite was clean and well equipped, but in desperate need of an update and an upgrade. There was mismatched old furniture in the living area, odd placement of wall art, noisy refridgerator, hard mattress, thin pillows, thin towels, claustrophobic smelly bathroom, poor water pressure, not enough hot water for a quick shower.

OK, we were only to be there for two nights. We thought we could cope. The location of the hotel is pretty good, on the far end of the malecon right across from the water. There is quite a bit of traffic on the road in the evening, especially on the weekends as the locals cruise the malecon for entertainment.

My husband an I were laid down to take a nap before heading out for dinner only to discover a barking dog next door. That dog barked for over 7 hours without stopping. Needless to say, no nap. We complained about the dog noise and the lack of hot water to no avail. The woman on duty at the front desk was kind and courteous but could do nothing about our concerns. We told her we would not be staying for another night.

Next morning we complained to Carlos, who was on duty. I've since read many Tripadvisor reviews mentioning rude Carlos. Why is this guy still employed at El Morro?? He was hostile and unprofessional. This guy should not be working in contact with the public.

Breakfast in the cafe attached to the hotel was wonderful and I'd highly recommend it.

We will not return to El Morro and would never recommend it to our friends.

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank sanda38
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Anchorage, Alaska
Level Contributor
12 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed January 18, 2011

Great location at the end of the malecon . Away from the noise & across from the ocean. If you are coming to La Paz , do yourself a favor & rent a car at the airport. It's easy going traffic & the maps are easy to follow. You would get peso'd to death paying for cabs all the time here. Everything is spread out & there is a lot to see. The drive to cabo & todos santos is an easy one day round trip if you leave early in the morning.

  • Stayed March 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank alaskaviking
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these La Paz hotels
3.1 mi away
Hyatt Place La Paz
Hyatt Place La Paz
#2 of 39 in La Paz
490 reviews
2.9 mi away
La Posada Hotel & Beach Club
1.6 mi away
Hotel HBlue
Hotel HBlue
#1 of 39 in La Paz
183 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.1 mi away
Posada LunaSol Hotel
Posada LunaSol Hotel
#6 of 39 in La Paz
335 reviews
0.6 mi away
Las Gaviotas Resort
Las Gaviotas Resort
#8 of 39 in La Paz
188 reviews
8.4 mi away
Hotel Paradise Pasion La Paz
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Club El Moro? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Club El Moro

Property: Club El Moro
Address: Calle Bahia Pichilingue Km 2, La Paz 23010, Mexico
Location: Mexico > Baja California > Baja California Sur > La Paz
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #11 of 39 Hotels in La Paz
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Club El Moro 3*
Number of rooms: 27
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotwire, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, getaroom.com and Hotel.de so you can book your Club El Moro reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Club El Moro Hotel La Paz
Hotel El Moro

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing