We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely relaxing B&B with a wonderful hostess, gardens and breakfast!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
El Angel Azul Hacienda
Ranked #4 of 28 La Paz B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed January 7, 2011

I would highly recommend this bed and breakfast. It's a lovely oasis in La Paz where you immediately feel safe and comfortable. The gardens are just an amazing place to relax and unwind. The breakfast is delicious with a variety to suit everyone.
We obtained great information from the owner on sites and food around La Paz. I will definitely stay here again next time I come to the area.

  • Stayed: December 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Joseffa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (292)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

142 - 148 of 292 reviews

Reviewed January 3, 2011

I have tried other places. This is the cleanest and the nicest place to stay. Breakfast is always good, the coffee is great and the staff is friendly. The internet is fast, the rooms are clean and I always get a good night sleep. The location is perfect. Quiet at night and close to all the fun and businesses downtown. After traveling the world I always feel at home here.

  • Stayed: December 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Vomodo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 6, 2010

I think this place is average at best. I don't see how people can rave about how great it is unless they are used to camping, and then the accommodations at this inn would be a step up i suppose. For what you get, this place should be priced at around $75US at the most. The only thing going for it is the lovely courtyard. The location is pretty good as well and within walking distance of many restaurants and the malecon. The rooms are a major let down. The only thing going for them is the cleanliness. They are not very private; people will be walking right by your 1 window, which looks right onto the bed and the neighbours can easily be overheard through the walls. Keep these in mind if you are planning a romantic stay. The rooms are also uninspiring in their decor and let's face it, downright depressing at times in their darkness and gloomy pallor. Breakfast is a let down as well. Just basic food with only 1 choice of 3 possible options; eggs, meusli or fruit/yogurt. Portions are rather small by North American standards of breakfast so keep this in mind and coffee is pretty bad, but i found that trend through most places in Mexico unless you order an espresso. They have a Nespresso machine at the bar which makes a decent espresso and i took that option at breakfast, however they do charge you for it and it is not included with the breakfast. Most disappointing was the service from the owner, Esther. She seemed very cold and businesslike from the moment we arrived. Anything we asked her for, be it advice or help, she was very quick and to the point and didn't seem interested in helping us or making us feel at home. She has so many rules and is on top of everything that is going on at the Inn and it almost makes you feel like a prisoner, or at least unwelcome when around there, and though she lives on the premises, she sets rules to when you can ask her something. The office is only open between 5 and 7pm if i remember correctly and she advises you to come into the office at that hour with any queries. I don't know about most people, but if i ran a small B&B that i lived in myself, i would make myself available to my guests at any time of day. We never could get to feel "at home" in this environment and if i wanted that experience, i would have stayed at an all-inclusive resort just down Hwy 1 in Cabo San Lucas.

  • Stayed: November 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank BuceoMan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
elangelazul, Owner at El Angel Azul Hacienda, responded to this reviewResponded December 8, 2010

Thank you for taking the time to write such a long review.
As your visit was quite recent, I remember you well even though there were 15 other guests at the Angel at the same time. We were, to say the least, surprised and saddened to read your comments about our B&B Inn.
I would like to mention a few facts to give other readers a different perspective.

You may wish to be aware that our office is open 6 hours a day so every guests has time to get the info from us they can´t find on one of our info tables or in the rooms.
The rules you are talking about are to make your stay more efficient so that you don´t have to ask the more basic questions that are easily answered in our information packet. We feel that the information about your stay and our rules are self explanatory but after 12 years experience as an Innkeeper I must say that some guests must be reminded of simple things like turning off lights and/or the air conditioning while not in their room. Guests not familiar with Bed and Breakfast accommodations may expect the same type of service that a hotel offers such as 24 hour front desk service, an a la cart breakfast menu and other optional amenities such as gourmet coffees etc.
A Bed and Breakfast Inn is a place where you enjoy a independent stay with a nice room including breakfast every morning. We don´t advertise ourselves as a Hotel where many options (at additional cost) are available to you. .
Our breakfast is exactly what we promise on our website and we usually receive many compliments about it from our not only North American guests.
I highly recommend you try to run a B&B yourself for a while and then we can talk about "I would make myself available to my guests at any time of day." It is impossible to please every guest but we try!
Sincerely
Esther Ammann,Innkeeper

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 27, 2010

hostess supreme!

let me tell you a little about esther. shes a little like your mother, your sister, your favorite sister in law or aunt. shes warm, knowledgeable, helpful, enthusiastic, a great chef, smart, frank, honest, clever, assertive, classy.

dont you want to stay there already?

she made our stay memorable. on top of a fantastic room. the building is incredible. if you stay, ask to see the photo album of the place when she first bought it and started her dream. this says so much about her vision and character.

we had an upstairs room that had an open floor plan. we had an outdoor shower (in addition to an indoor one), done authentically mexico with tile,an upstairs veranda cactus, desert wood arbor over a table and chairs, lounge chairs, and a view of the neighborhood. private! the bed was very comfortable-if i sleep thru 8 hours and dont wake up-that, my friend, is an excellent bed. everything about this place was authentic.

what really set this apart was esthers willingness to go the extra mile or two. she was helpful when she didnt need to be. she kept in safe keeping some items we purchased at one of the shops for a week while we were out to sea. we felt so befriended that we had to go back and say goodbye on our last day in baja.

esther will make you feel welcome and at home. she will see to your every need. this place stands apart as a very fine stay in any part of the world, but especially in old baja mexico.

esther, if you are reading this, we love you.

  • Stayed: August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank sunriselmi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 7, 2010

take time to enjoy the serenity and Esther's hospitality. The sound of the cathedral bell is most comforting. Parking is easy and safe. Breakfast is delicious. A reason to return to La Paz and Esther is a wealth of information.

  • Stayed: October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank 32780richard
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 26, 2010

The rooms are supposed to have a "separate" bathroom, but in reality the walls separating the toilet area from the room do not go all the way to the ceiling, so you do not have any privacy.
The airconditioning system is inefficient and noisy: we ran it starting at 9pm with 31degrees Celsius (86F) and at 7am the next morning the room was at 27 C (81F), and it was really noisy all night long. While the solid food for breakfast was good, the "coffee" could not be recognized as such. Considering that we paid 125USD, this B&B is way overpriced for what you get.

  • Stayed: September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank plant_a_tree_now
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 18, 2010

I've stayed there several times already. I think that this small beautiful B&B is the best secret of La Paz. The owner - Esther - really makes your mornings and evenings great! All rooms are clean and nicely decorated. Inner garden is a marvel. Next time in La Paz I absolutely will stay there again!

  • Stayed: September 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank KiRaSiR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these La Paz hotels
1.9 mi away
La Posada Hotel & Beach Club
0.5 mi away
Hotel HBlue
Hotel HBlue
#1 of 39 in La Paz
205 reviews
1.1 mi away
Posada LunaSol Hotel
Posada LunaSol Hotel
#6 of 39 in La Paz
341 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Hotel Catedral La Paz
Hotel Catedral La Paz
#2 of 39 in La Paz
186 reviews
0.5 mi away
Las Gaviotas Resort
Las Gaviotas Resort
#9 of 39 in La Paz
192 reviews
1.9 mi away
Hacienda Paraiso de La Paz Bed and Breakfast/Inn
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to El Angel Azul Hacienda? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about El Angel Azul Hacienda

Address: Calle Independencia 518 | Centro, La Paz 23000, Mexico
Location: Mexico > Baja California > Baja California Sur > La Paz
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 28 B&Bs / Inns in La Paz
Price Range: $99 - $101 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
El Angel Azul Hacienda offers you rooms where you will find privacy and a quiet ambiance right in the center of La Paz. El Angel Azul is housed in a national landmark - the former courthouse of Baja California Sur and you are invited to use our big Mexican kitchen,living areas and our courtyard garden and we offer everything you need to feel at home ! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Booking.com and Agoda so you can book your El Angel Azul Hacienda reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing