We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice location but....”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
El Angel Azul Hacienda
Ranked #4 of 26 La Paz B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Oakville, Canada
Level 4 Contributor
29 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
“Nice location but....”
Reviewed April 12, 2007

We loved La Paz! We visited here the day after a glorious night in Todos Santos. This Inn was nice enough, the rooms are interesting and the location is good.
The owner is cold, we got the impression that the social aspect of running an Inn wasn't really her thing. She was not even willing to offer eating establishment advice to her guests!
There are more rules posted then my mother could ever have come up with during the worst of my teenage years.
When we go back to La Paz next year we will definitely try a different place to stay. El Angel Azul was an interesting establishment but it didn't enhance our La Paz experience in any way.

  • Liked — The uniqueness of the building.
  • Disliked — The owner, the rules, the sparten room accomodations.
  • Stayed March 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank GoBigOr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

292 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    244
    35
    8
    1
    4
See reviews for
44
138
29
11
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (30)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed April 1, 2007

I fell in love with La Paz, and this happened especially thanks to Esther the owner of the El Angel Azul.
When I walked into the hotel and I w the inner courtyard I immediately felt at home. The place is out of time, out of space, delightful, full of topical plants, created and designed to relax and to rest.
The rooms are spacious absolutely clean and full of colours, as the real old style Mexico is supposed to be.
People working there were kind and helpful, the hotel is minutes walking from the town center and the sea.
Esther is a great lady, passionate about her job, ready to give you any information you need to make your stay memorable.
Breakfast was great as well as the aperitif later in the afternoon, the perfect moment to get to know the other guests and have a good time together.
You will also be able to enjoy the company of a very friendly dog, cat, and rabbit!
I recommended this B&B to everybody, and I am looking forward to going back soon.

  • Liked — Everything
  • Disliked — Nothing
  • Stayed April 2007, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
15 Thank EnricaLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
elangelazul, Owner at El Angel Azul Hacienda, responded to this review, April 4, 2007
Thanks Enrica!It is always a great pleasure to welcome guests from all over the world and if they turn out to enjoy the angel the way I do,it is is a bliss for a owner.Thanks again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
Reviewed June 3, 2006

My fiance and I decided on El Angel in La Paz after extensive research for a reasonably priced place that seemed safe. We got so much more than we bargained for. As we drove up to the hotel, the area seemed a little run down and we were skeptical. However, upon opening the huge (and always locked) blue wooded doors, we entered a place that seemed from a dream. Huge arched ceilings and unique presentation of Mexican folk art surroung you. There is a bar, eating area, amazingly romantic courtyard with fountain, rocking chair, flowers, bunny, catci, pathways, cat -- you name it! Gorgeous!!! We could not believe our eyes. The rooms were quaint and comby with AC and again beautiful colors and decorations. Overall, the place was incredibly romantic, incredibly Mexican small town feel -- exactly what we were looking for. The luxury in this place is not from amenities, it is from pristine and beautiful Mexican soul that exudes from here.The staff was exceedingly friendly, courteous, and eager to help -- though mainly only spanish speaking. The owner was accomodating with suggestions on nearby activities/restaurants -- though very cold and stand-offish. This was the only downside to the hotel. I wish we could have stayed longer, as it was the most romantic place in Mexico.

  • Stayed June 2006
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
40 Thank alumba
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Palm Coast, FL
Level 5 Contributor
38 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 143 helpful votes
Reviewed May 29, 2006

From the moment we were greeted at the door by Esther, the owner of El Angel Azul, we felt like we were home. She has created a lovely, calm oasis within walking distance of the city of La Paz and the malecon on the Sea of Cortez. The rooms surround an inner courtyard which is gorgeous, full of topical, flowering plants. We could have stayed there relaxing for the duration of our stay enjoying the animals: a friendly cat, the cutest rabbit you have ever seen and Luna, the dog. Esther gave us wonderful recommendations for restaurants and things to do and even invited us to "movie night" where we sat on her large veranda and watched a movie on the wall. The charming rooms are simple and spotless and very comfortable. We wish we had planned to stay longer and hope to go back again soon . Definitely check out the El Angel Azul. P.S. Esther makes a great margarita!!

  • Stayed May 2006
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
42 Thank bellakitty
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
Reviewed April 17, 2006

We had an absolutely wonderful experience at El Angel Azul. We stayed in the suite which for $145/night is great value. Nicely furnished with a great terrace for reading or napping (or using the outdoor shower). Included in the price is an excellent cooked breakfast. The owner (Esther) is a happy and cheerful Suisse emmigrant who provided great recommendations for dining out in La Paz as well as places to see in the area. We will certainly be back soon and would recommend this hotel to anyone visiting La Paz.

Janelle & Pontus

  • Stayed March 2006
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
44 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these La Paz hotels
1.9 mi away
La Posada Hotel & Beach Club
4.1 mi away
Hyatt Place La Paz
Hyatt Place La Paz
#2 of 39 in La Paz
526 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hotel HBlue
Hotel HBlue
#1 of 39 in La Paz
186 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
Posada LunaSol Hotel
Posada LunaSol Hotel
#6 of 39 in La Paz
336 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Catedral La Paz
Hotel Catedral La Paz
#4 of 39 in La Paz
142 reviews
15.0 mi away
Rancho Las Cruces
Rancho Las Cruces
#22 of 39 in La Paz
25 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to El Angel Azul Hacienda? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about El Angel Azul Hacienda

Property: El Angel Azul Hacienda
Address: Calle Independencia 518 | Centro, La Paz 23000, Mexico
Location: Mexico > Baja California > Baja California Sur > La Paz
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 26 B&Bs / Inns in La Paz
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
El Angel Azul Hacienda offers you rooms where you will find privacy and a quiet ambiance right in the center of La Paz. El Angel Azul is housed in a national landmark - the former courthouse of Baja California Sur and you are invited to use our big Mexican kitchen,living areas and our courtyard garden and we offer everything you need to feel at home ! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your El Angel Azul Hacienda reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing