We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“We had the best time!!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
El Angel Azul Hacienda
Ranked #4 of 29 La Paz B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed October 10, 2012

My girlfriend and loved staying El Angel Azul.
We had just driven from Todos Santos and were welcomed into the most charming court yard.
It felt like we entered into an oasis after a hot drive.
We found the Swiss staff reall personable and nice, im actualy amazing that people have reviewed this place badly. Everything about this place is charming and feels real and extremly safe.

If your looking for something authentic and don't care and not having shower gel then this place if great.

Room Tip: Take the Terrace room its amazing to have a balcony all to yourself.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
10  Thank WilliamSandy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (295)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

123 - 129 of 295 reviews

Reviewed September 30, 2012

Our very first response upon arriving at the Angel was "oh wow!". As we entered the front door we felt as if stepping into a live set of "Frida", the movie. We were heartily greeted by Esther, the proud owner of the Angel. Esther is a hostess through and through; not only is she relentless in ensuring everything looks impeccable and story book like, she also goes out of her way to make her guests feel very much at home with excellent tips on where to dine, drink and (in our case) dive. She arranges everything for her guests (even a movie night on a particularly rainy evening when nobody felt like going out) so you can just sit back and relax.
Esther's staff too, are extremely friendly, always smiling and willing to give a helping hand to tend all your needs.
Our room (one of the "historical" ones) was lovely, beautifully decorated, nice and cool (didn't even need the airconditioning at night) with a great walk-in shower.
Thanks to Esther and all the staff at the Angel we had a most wonderful stay in La Paz that saw us leaving revived and re-energised. THANK YOU!

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
10  Thank aflyingdutchman_1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 22, 2012

A beautiful B&B with a lovely and photogenic courtyard, funny and beautiful rooms, a very hospitable atmosphere and a really helpful owner. We spent 5 nights and 5 wunderful days in La Paz, a safe city, where we could walk from the B&B to the Malecom, different restaurants (on suggestion of Esther,thanks!) without any problems. We have spent wunderful hours on the different nearby beaches. We will come back!

Room Tip: We had a look in all rooms. All are very nice, different and decorated in a mexican style.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank Sandra S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 2, 2012

The first impression was very pleasant as the atmosphere seems to be hospitable and the courtyard is really cute. However, after we dealt with the Swiss manager/owner and paid approx. 110$ per night in advance for a double room, we found on the bed the so called "rules of El Angel Azul" composed by 3 sheets and more than 40 detailed and really strict orders explaining the real "environmental friendly" spirit of the maison. Just to give a very preliminary taste:
1) The first statement of the decalogue is that they "WANT TO EDUCATE THE TRAVELER". This sounds like a very bizarre statement to people in their 40's..
2) They do no provide shampoo nor bathfoam since they say each traveler has to bring its own necessaire.
So if you don't have yours, forget about having a restorative shower...
3) Even if you don't care tto much about foam, forget also about having a hot shower since El Angel Azul do not provide you hot water during the summer...and you know about that only when you are taking your shower.
4) Finally if you want to take a rest and enjoy some cool air from your air conditioning split forget about regulating the temperature as you prefer since the air conditioning system will not allow you to do so but will just moderately refresh the room.
5) And don't be afraid about forgetting to turn off the air conditioning or the lights when you go out, since the management reserves the right to do that on your behalf by entering into your room....

If you are looking for a true military experience go somewhere else and for sure you will pay less....

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank jack f
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 22, 2012

My partner and I recently stayed at this fabulous place after 4 straight nights of primitive camping in Baja. It was the perfect respite from the elements. A warm welcome from the owner was followed by ice cold glasses of limeade. The owner also arranged for off street parking of our car (full of camping gear) for a small fee. The room was welcoming, peaceful, simple, tastefully decorated and cool, with excellent air conditioning and a very comfortable bed. The shower was refreshing, although it was interesting that there was no hot water (it is not provided in the summer months). I didn't need it, as La Paz was very hot indeed in July, but the lack of hot water in the summer should probably be more prominently advertised. The courtyard is an beautiful, quiet, colorful and shady place to hang out and unwind. The location of this B and B is wonderful, also, within short walking distance of La Paz's beautiful town square, cathedral and many shops and just a few blocks from the malecon. The summer breakfast of fresh fruit and yogurt was a delightful contrast to a lot of heavier Mexican food we had been eating on the trip. Esther, the owner, was friendly and helpful and the staff in general was quiet, efficient and very hospitable. The combination of the ambiance of this magical place and the delightful spirit of La Paz makes for wonderful memories.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank zorgalfish
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 27, 2012

Two (also female) friends and I just spent a truly wonderful week at this incredible hotel - one of my favourites I've ever stayed in (which is really saying something!).

The room was lovely, but the real jewel in the crown is the garden courtyard - what a beautiful spot! Hidden away from the world but packed full of beautiful things from it, it's its own little paradise; leafy trees and plants nestle next to little sculptures and artifacts, and nature is all around - both in the incredible hummingbirds that come and drink from the little fountain, just inches away from where we were eating breakfast, and in the sweet, gentle resident dogs, Luna and Manchi, and the cat, who aren't imposing, but will come and visit as you sit on a deck-chair and read. If we weren't so close to so many jaw-droppingly beautiful (and not busy) beaches, it would have been tempting to sit there all day!

Esther and the crew were all incredibly friendly and helpful. I felt completely at home.
It also feels wonderfully safe there, given that at night you're not only behind your own locked door, but also the impenetrable ones of the property. La Paz is a really easy-going, safe place to visit, but when you are ladies in a distant country, it's nice to have that extra feeling of safety. It felt like the benefits of staying in a big hotel, but without the bad taste in your mouth that can bring, and with the added bonus of feeling like you are in on one of the world's greatest secrets!

I will remember this spectacular hotel for years and really hope I can come back.

I truly recommend El Angel Azul as highly as is possible to! If you're thinking of going to the coast in Mexico, please consider La Paz and El Angel Azul - it really is a wonderful find.

  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank mariaanneLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 16, 2012

The reasons we loved this place is quite long...let's start with how beautiful it is. Add that the owner, Esther, is wonderful as is all her staff. The fact that is women owned and all women employees was something that appealed to us. The other travellers that we met there were very nice and from all over the world. Mostly straight couples but this would be an ideal location for lesbians travelling. Okay, back to why we loved it...we stayed in the suite and was never so relaxed and comfortable just hanging out on our open sky deck that it was hard to leave and go to the Mericon (sp) in La Paz. We were just a few blocks away from the water front and a most beautiful location it was. We walked up and down several times during our stay and ALWAYS felt safe. We even passed a gay bar with rainbow flags waving outside on our way to and from the strip. Esther made excellent restaurant recommendations and even wrote down for us what we should order as we were at a disadvantage with limited Mexican Spanish knowledge. The breakfast served at El Angel Azul was scrumptious and healthy. They are very environmentally focused and support local farmers and merchants in their meals. There is even a small bar open in the afternoon. The courtyard was also beautiful and we relaxed there a few times as well while we took photos of a hummingbird that was busy each day we were there. Let me repeat...this is a completely safe place to be stay and the town of La Paz is very safe. We walked about until very late and felt completely comfortable. The people of La Paz are very warm and friendly.

Room Tip: We thought afterward that we should have looked at the regular rooms for this review but, alas, we d...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Leslie N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these La Paz hotels
1.9 mi away
La Posada Hotel & Beach Club
0.5 mi away
Hotel HBlue
Hotel HBlue
#2 of 39 in La Paz
220 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Catedral La Paz
Hotel Catedral La Paz
#1 of 39 in La Paz
207 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
Posada LunaSol Hotel
Posada LunaSol Hotel
#6 of 39 in La Paz
348 reviews
4.1 mi away
Hyatt Place La Paz
Hyatt Place La Paz
#3 of 39 in La Paz
592 reviews
0.6 mi away
B&B Casa Juarez
B&B Casa Juarez
#1 of 29 in La Paz
119 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to El Angel Azul Hacienda? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about El Angel Azul Hacienda

Address: Calle Independencia 518 | Centro, La Paz 23000, Mexico
Location: Mexico > Baja California > Baja California Sur > La Paz
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 29 B&Bs / Inns in La Paz
Price Range: $99 - $101 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
El Angel Azul Hacienda offers you rooms where you will find privacy and a quiet ambiance right in the center of La Paz. El Angel Azul is housed in a national landmark - the former courthouse of Baja California Sur and you are invited to use our big Mexican kitchen,living areas and our courtyard garden and we offer everything you need to feel at home ! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your El Angel Azul Hacienda reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing