We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“ElAngel Azul B&B a delight.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
El Angel Azul Hacienda
Ranked #4 of 26 La Paz B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
chicago
Level 5 Contributor
71 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
“ElAngel Azul B&B a delight.”
Reviewed January 24, 2008

El angel azul is a delightful place to stay in La Paz, a very charming city. The B&B is comfortable, very authentically mexican, charming and the courtyard is wonderful. The owner, Esther Ammann, is also charming and very helpful. A great bargain! Definitely recommended.

Stayed December 2007
Helpful?
4 Thank helenwChicago
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

292 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    244
    35
    8
    1
    4
See reviews for
44
138
29
11
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (30)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Italy
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed January 24, 2008

We stayed in La paz for a couple of days in August.
El angel azul is the only place to stay in this lovely town. We were lucky enough to stay in the suite, which has an amazing terrace decorated with mexican tiles, a wonderful outdoor shower, sunloungers and so on; from the terrace you are able to see the beautiful garden which is perfectly looked after. The room decor is perfect and has a true mexican feel, full of charachter and charme. Esther, the owner, is such a special person: she helped us in every way with the espiritu santu island trip ( which is a must by the way..), giving us recommendations on restaurants, places not to miss..etc..she also directed me to a pottery shop where I was able to get the special "gekko tiles" of the outdoor shower in the suite...so nice!!!
going back to the angel azul after a day spent relaxing on the beaches of la paz was really like going back home!!
I absolutely recommend this b&b and be sure not to miss a chat with Esther...and one of her special margaritas!!!!!
A special thanks to Esther who has really created a magic place in La Paz!!!
p.s. excuse me for my english..( an italian tripadvisor member)

  • Liked — Everything!!
  • Disliked — nothing
  • Stayed August 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Paola80
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed January 23, 2008

Five guys riding motorcycle in the Baja in Mexico.
The day didn't start out well as one of our riders had an accident with his moto.
Up until now it had been your average hotel/motel in the Baja but we were now expecting to be in one place for a few days and needed to look after our injured rider in some comfort.
El Angel Azul seemed just right as it blended the History of Old Mexico with some new world comforts and an amazing courtyard, right in the centre of La Paz.
When we arrived, we were treated to a very comfortable and beautiful spot.
It was really a shame to waste it on 5 guys riding motorcycles.
Our wives would have been proud at our choice.
The beautiful courtyard, well decorated rooms and a very social lounge and veranda that doubled as the Breakfast Spot for the morning had us all feeling like it was home.
Esther (the hands on proprietor) was an inspiration to us all as well.
She had taken the place single handedly (with a most capable staff) from a run down courthouse to an oasis in the middle of the Baja. No small feat for a petit single gal from Switzerland.
We had safe parking for out bikes, great breakfasts, a wonderful three nights rest and lazy days spent reading in the courtyard, exploring the sites of La Paz and a wonderful time for healing our amigo and his bike.
Esther was a great guide to the best eateries in town (one of which was a Fish Taco stand just around the corner)
You meet the nicest people in these sorts of places.
If you are planning a trip to Baja, El Angel Azul has to be on the list.

  • Liked — The history and the proprietor made this a great stay
  • Disliked — Internet
  • Stayed January 2008, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
6 Thank ST1300ABS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed January 13, 2008

In my twenty years of travel in Baja this is by far the nicest place to stay. Always clean, quiet and pleasant with a beautiful courtyard to sit in. The location is excellent for walking around La Paz and the
owner, Esther, is always helpful. The included breakfast and free internet are a great bonus.

  • Liked — Clean, nice, location
  • Disliked — Not enough time to stay longer
  • Stayed December 2007, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
6 Thank randomeye
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed December 21, 2007

We just spent seven (7) nights at El Angel Azul and I must say the place is absolutely perfect, and was probably one of the biggest surprises and best parts of our trip altogether.

The owner, Esther and her staff are all amazing people and exceptionally gracious hosts. From starting the day with breakfast in the lush garden, to ending the night with tequila under the stars... the angel azul is truly a magical place located in the center of town and just a short stroll to the waterfront.

This place is for people who enjoy traveling and know how to embrace the culture and people surrounding them as they do. If your looking for the Ritz.... go to the Ritz. If your looking for a slice of culture and an amazing setting to introduce you to this wonderful city... this is the place!

Truly unforgettable!

Oh, did I mention Cynthia makes the best margaritas ever!!
I'll be back soon.

  • Stayed December 2007, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
7 Thank bzank
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zuerich
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed December 16, 2007

We spend 5 days at the El Angel Azule, 2 in one of the charming historic rooms on the courtyard and 3 in the suite. Both rooms were wonderful. The Suite offers in addition great space that was fantastic to stay in with a terrace which is completely private.

We really loved to stay there and enjoyed especially the beautiful courtyard with its plants. I can only say : Just the best !

Thanks Esther for your hospitality, we will come back for sure.

Stayed November 2007
Helpful?
7 Thank phil_60
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Salt Lake City, Utah
Level 3 Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed November 26, 2007

Found El Angel Azul on Trip Advisor and spend 5 days there, 2 in the suite and 3 in one of the historic rooms on the courtyard. Loved staying there and Esther, the owner, was amazing. Definitely recommend staying in the suite over the historic room and recommend you avoid the bar for the pricey drinks.

THE HOSTESS: Esther was a fantastic hostess, absolutely one of the best, patient with our questions and spot on with her advice on where to eat, what to see and how to make our daily adventures in La Paz happen. She even gave us recommendations on places to stay in other towns, and then called them all up to see if they had room. Way above and beyond expectations.

THE HOTEL: The hotel is very comfortable and charming. There is everything you could need there, loaner books, DVDs, guide books, magazines etc. The courtyard space is beautiful and a real pleasure to enjoy every day. The hotel felt like a really great respite from the city surrounding. Would definitely stay there again - in the suite.

THE ROOMS: The suite was wonderful, a great space that was fantastic to stay in. It has a terrace with a small table, plants and sun chairs, and is completely private from all neighbors. We extended our stay and had to move to one of the historic rooms and realized how spoiled we had been. The room was nice, but lacked the character and charm of the suite. The upside was that we felt like we had the courtyard to ourselves, and made the most of it every night.

THE BAR: My only complaint was the price of the bar. While we had complimentary welcome margaritas for the two of us, the next two drinks cost 99 Pesos apiece (US $9 each) – in Mexico! Even at the Gringo restaurants they were only 35 Pesos each.

Overall, definitely recommend staying there, we loved it and would stay in the suite again. Finally, Esther is fantastic.

  • Liked — Esther - the owner
  • Stayed November 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
7 Thank jabo99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
elangelazul, Owner at El Angel Azul Hacienda, responded to this review, November 27, 2007
A big Thanks to the very nice guests for the review!
Our Margartias are made with better Tequila and without ! MargaritaMix and sugar and are only $65pesos or USD 6.00.
Hope to see you again on your Baja trip.
Esther Ammann,Owner
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these La Paz hotels
1.9 mi away
La Posada Hotel & Beach Club
4.1 mi away
Hyatt Place La Paz
Hyatt Place La Paz
#2 of 39 in La Paz
526 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hotel HBlue
Hotel HBlue
#1 of 39 in La Paz
187 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
Posada LunaSol Hotel
Posada LunaSol Hotel
#6 of 39 in La Paz
336 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Catedral La Paz
Hotel Catedral La Paz
#4 of 39 in La Paz
142 reviews
15.0 mi away
Rancho Las Cruces
Rancho Las Cruces
#22 of 39 in La Paz
25 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to El Angel Azul Hacienda? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about El Angel Azul Hacienda

Property: El Angel Azul Hacienda
Address: Calle Independencia 518 | Centro, La Paz 23000, Mexico
Location: Mexico > Baja California > Baja California Sur > La Paz
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 26 B&Bs / Inns in La Paz
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
El Angel Azul Hacienda offers you rooms where you will find privacy and a quiet ambiance right in the center of La Paz. El Angel Azul is housed in a national landmark - the former courthouse of Baja California Sur and you are invited to use our big Mexican kitchen,living areas and our courtyard garden and we offer everything you need to feel at home ! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your El Angel Azul Hacienda reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing