We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful place to stay”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Posada LunaSol Hotel
Ranked #6 of 39 Hotels in La Paz
Certificate of Excellence
Marina del Rey, California
1 review
“Wonderful place to stay”
Reviewed March 27, 2014

This is a fantastic hotel to stay in La Paz. The hotel is comfortable, the staff is so helpful and kind. We loved walking everywhere from the hotel, the location was great. My friend and I travelled to La Paz for a relaxation and adventure, this hotel was the perfect fit. We took advantage of the outdoor excursions they offered and rented bikes to ride around town. The trips we went on were exceptional, the guides were wonderful. This place is a gem!

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Megan M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
outfitter, Owner at Posada LunaSol Hotel, responded to this review, April 1, 2014
Dear Guest,
It's a pleasure to read your comprehensive account of your stay with us. We are delighted you enjoyed our hotel as well as your excursions kayaking and snorkeling with Mar Y Aventuras and our helpful staff. We would very much look forward to hosting you again when visiting the beautiful seaside city of La Paz!
Thanks so much for taking the time to post this review!
All our best,
Mary Harter
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

335 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    214
    98
    18
    4
    1
See reviews for
78
122
32
4
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (75)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Morris, Canada
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed March 24, 2014

In 2013 said we would be back and we did it! When we got out of the car at Posada LunaSol, we looked at each other and said “It’s just like coming home!” We were then greeted by wonderful Belen with her welcoming smile. We had requested the same room as last year and not a surprise, we got it! We had an amazing time and are always greeted with welcoming smiles from Alma and Marie Belle, who work so diligently to ensure everything is neat and tidy. Another friendly face is the lovely Mely, who has a tough act to follow in Belen’s footsteps, but is well on her way! We spent some time chatting with Ricardo and making sure he knows what a fabulous crew he has.
The common kitchen area is a great place to meet new people and we have met and stay in touch with some of them! We love the location, the proximity to everything including the water, the Malecon, restaurants and the people of La Paz.
The atmosphere is quaint, friendly, quiet, relaxed and just the place you want to be when you are on holidays!
Belen and Mely were most helpful in arranging day trips and making suggestions for activities. Mar Y Adventures has everything to offer! …But that is another review 
Our time at Posada LunaSol was the BEST. And yes…we will be back!

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JandBAdventures
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
outfitter, Owner at Posada LunaSol Hotel, responded to this review, March 27, 2014
Dear Guest,
We so appreciate your kind remarks here on TA! It's so nice to read how much our hotel makes you feel at home when you're in La Paz. We look forward to being your hosts when visiting La Paz again in the future. Thanks for mentioning our hotel staff all by name. They work tirelessly to create a welcoming environment and provide great service to our guests.
All our best,
Mary Harter
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Midland, Georgia
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed March 18, 2014

I can't say enough nice things about this place. My husband and I were driving down from Georgia and camping most of the way…this place was sigh of relief. We had one issues with our visas and were on a bit of a time crunch to get some forms completed in time to be able to catch the ferry. The mexican government website was in all spanish and very difficult that lady in the main office was nice enough to allow us to use her computer and help us through the process and get the forms printed in time to get our visas. I wish I could remember her name…she is a god send and if it hadn't been for her we wouldn't have been able to catch our ferry. Many Thanks!!!

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank KlayCamp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
outfitter, Owner at Posada LunaSol Hotel, responded to this review, March 19, 2014
Dear Guest,
The women's name who helped you is Belen. She is our client services manager and you are right, a godsend. We are fortunate to have a wonderful staff here taking care of our clients when we are not available. Thanks for staying with us and for posting this kind review on TA for others to read. It was out pleasure to help you in getting your paperwork done during your stay in La Paz.
Ciao,]
Mary Harter
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bay Area, California
Level Contributor
179 reviews
52 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
Reviewed March 15, 2014

This is a family run Posada, and the family takes pride in all aspects of their work. Could not have been friendlier or more helpful. LunaSol was comfortable, carefree, and a delight. The tiles and the open balconies are refreshing, and they work tirelessly to keep everything tidy. Also, they made all of our arrangements for seeing Whale Sharks, swimming with sea lions, and kayaking. Finally, they had great suggestions for restaurants. This is an especially wonderful place for people who like to travel, see the outdoors, and have a launching pad for adventure.

Room Tip: We had a room with a balcony and hammock. Couldn't have been happier.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Robin G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
outfitter, Owner at Posada LunaSol Hotel, responded to this review, March 19, 2014
Dear Guest,
What a pleasure to hear how much you enjoyed your stay with us at our hotel in La Paz! We are extremely grateful not only for you choosing to stay with us but also for taking the time to share this lovely review on Trip Advisor! We would love to host you in La Paz again someday soon....
Best Regards,
Mary Harter
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
boise
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed March 9, 2014

we spent 8 nights here on either side of a 4-day trip to Magdalena Bay with Sea and Adventures. this is a nice, clean hotel located just a few blocks off the La Paz malecon. the proce is quite reasonable. the staff is friendly and efficient and the guests are other eco-travelers so there's no problem with loud partying. there is a small kitchen with a refrigerator. we used it to do quick breakfasts allowing us to get out and explore the area in and around La Paz earlier each day. We'll stay here again when we go back to La Paz.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank chuck b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
outfitter, Owner at Posada LunaSol Hotel, responded to this review, March 11, 2014
Dear Guest,
Thanks so much for commenting on the fine attributes of our hotel in La Paz. We greatly appreciate you taking the time to comment here and for your patronage.
Please visit us again sometime soon in the future!
Mary Harter
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
75 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 79 helpful votes
Reviewed March 4, 2014

Well we booked this hotel after reading rave reviews on trip adviser. The location is good, not too far to walk to town and if you can find staff members there looked to be a fair few pamphlets for tours etc. We were the youngest people staying there by about 20 years, so if you're a youngster/traveler looking to meet others, I'd find somewhere else. All noise went right through the walls which meant we had a terrible sleep, it didn't help that the bed and pillows were very lumpy. There were people clanking around at all hours of the night with bags and furniture, and a hidden alarm clock in our room went off at 5am startling us out of bed. The bathroom was old - which wasn't a problem as it worked fine, however there was what looked like old faeces down the front of the toilet that had failed to be cleaned. We planned to stay for a number of nights however moved because of these issues. If you are an early riser and a heavy sleeper then this hotel will probably suit your needs. I found it too expensive for what you get and wouldn't recommend staying there if I'm asked.

  • Stayed March 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank shepppy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
outfitter, Owner at Posada LunaSol Hotel, responded to this review, March 19, 2014
Dear Guest,
We are most certain you did not stay with us and have reviewed our hotel in error for several reasons.
#1 - On your profile you posted a photo of a hotel in La Paz that is not ours.
#2 - We are a very small hotel and therefore our staff here gets to know all our guests. No one in reservations or reception remember you staying with us and your email is not in our data base which it would be if you had booked a room with us.
#3 - As well we have only pillow top mattress which are far from lumpy and our bathrooms are not old.
I wrote to the email on your profile asking if you could have made an error in names when reviewing our hotel but you have not responded therefore I'm writing my response here now.
I hope you can let TA know about this error.
Thanks,
Mary Harter
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denver, Colorado
Level Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed February 23, 2014

We had a great stay in La Paz for 4 nights in September 2013. Although it was the "off season" we were still able to take a snorkel/kayak trip that they offer and it was unforgettable. Highly recommend it, highlight of the stay. The hotel itself is clean and the staff is very friendly. We typically ate dinners and lunch out and then used the shared kitchen/fridge for breakfasts with food we got from local stores or the central market. The room is fairly basic but does have AC which in Sept. is a must or you may have trouble sleeping. Overall, can't recommend this place enough.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ruojiaz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
outfitter, Owner at Posada LunaSol Hotel, responded to this review, February 24, 2014
Dear Guest,
Your review here on TA is greatly appreciated! Thanks for choosing to stay with us during our slow season in September! I'm glad you to hear you were able to participate in one of our best day trips and get out to the island.
Best Regards,
Mary Harter
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these La Paz hotels
0.6 mi away
Hotel HBlue
Hotel HBlue
#1 of 39 in La Paz
182 reviews
4.9 mi away
Hyatt Place La Paz
Hyatt Place La Paz
#2 of 39 in La Paz
490 reviews
0.8 mi away
La Posada Hotel & Beach Club
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Hotel One La Paz
Hotel One La Paz
#4 of 39 in La Paz
420 reviews
1.4 mi away
Las Gaviotas Resort
Las Gaviotas Resort
#8 of 39 in La Paz
188 reviews
0.9 mi away
Hotel Perla
Hotel Perla
#9 of 39 in La Paz
235 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Posada LunaSol Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Posada LunaSol Hotel

Property: Posada LunaSol Hotel
Address: Calle Topete E/ 5 de Febrero y Navarro 564, La Paz 23006, Mexico
Phone Number:
Location: Mexico > Baja California > Baja California Sur > La Paz
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 39 Hotels in La Paz
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Posada LunaSol Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 17
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Posada LunaSol is a traditionally decorated Mexican Inn ideally located for exploring the sights of La Paz and its surrounding areas by foot, kayak or boat. The Marina La Paz and water front boardwalk are within a short walk and the sea kayaking and whale watching outfitting business of Mar Y Aventuras is on site. The bilingual, friendly and knowledgeable staff is available daily to help enhance your visit to La Paz. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotwire, Priceline and Hotel.de so you can book your Posada LunaSol Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing