We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Friendly staff and good quiet location”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Posada LunaSol Hotel
Ranked #6 of 39 Hotels in La Paz
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed January 6, 2013

Posada LunaSol is located just a couple of blocks off the Malecon and is nice and quiet. They have parking if you are driving a car, a communal kitchen (that is being re-modeled at the moment), purified water and offer water activities and excursions. This place has it all. Pay an extra $10 for a balcony with ocean views. Staff is very friendly (especially Belén) and will help you tailor trips like kayaking, SUP or swimming with the whale sharks. The internet is works sometimes and you will see many people run around the building searching for a better signal as it tends to move about.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank SwedishVagabond
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
outfitter, Owner at Posada LunaSol Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded January 8, 2013

Dear Guest,
We appreciate you taking the time to post your review of our hotel in La Paz. I appreciate hearing about the intermittent internet service as well. Our staff have contacted our internet server technicians and they will be there this week to find out why our connection is not as consistent as it should be throughout the hotel.
I'm glad you enjoyed a restful stay with us while in La Paz.
Best Regards,
Mary Harter

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (339)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

206 - 212 of 339 reviews

Reviewed December 25, 2012

We had chosen several hotels in La Paz before arriving for the first leg of our honeymoon in Nov. 2012. Potential hotels were found based on tripadvisor.com reviews & hotels mentioned in a recent "Lonely Planet" style travel book we bought. We had no reservations, just decided to wing it. Posada Luna Sol was our first and only stop. Desk attendant Belin sold us on the place right away by showing us each & every room we could choose from (we didn't ask--she volunteered). We stayed four nights and could not have been more pleased. The rooms were immaculate as were the common areas. We saved money by cooking meals in the outdoor kitchen and enjoyed drinks on the 3rd floor balcony area in the evenings. The entire staff was friendly & helpful, steering us to great restaurants that weren't filled with gringos, helping us find a place to do laundry & adding us to an already scheduled day trip to swim with the sea lions. We're already planning our trip back next fall!

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank IamMic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
outfitter, Owner at Posada LunaSol Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded December 27, 2012

Dear Guest,
Thanks for taking the time to comment about your experience with our hotel in La Paz. We are grateful you took the time to post your positive review and point out our friendly and helpful staff and convenient location. We would love to be your hosts again on your next visit to La Paz! Next time try one of our overnight trips to the island, you'll love it!
Cheers,
Mary Harter

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 5, 2012

I just needed a place to stay in La Paz before my island hopping trip - Posada LunaSol was perfect. It's in a quiet neighborhood, really close to the marina, and a reasonable walk (5-10mins) to the malecon and the main tourist area. There's a great restaurant right at the end of the street and a convenience store close by.
I had a big room, just the basics but beautiful mexican details - bed cover, tiles, painted sink. Don't get in the hammock on the rooftop patio unless you have a while, you won't want to get out. There's a small common kitchen area with a fridge and a water cooler.
This would be a great place for a small group to stay - private rooms but good gathering spaces.
I'll stay here again when I go back to La Paz.

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank sandra s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
outfitter, Owner at Posada LunaSol Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded December 7, 2012

Dear Guest,
We greatly appreciate your complimentary and accurate description of our hotel in La Paz. I hope you had a great Island Hopping Trip in the Sea of Cortez. Thanks for taking to time to post your review on TA!
Best Regards,
Mary Harter

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 15, 2012

Nice, clean friendly place near the marina and a short walk to the Malecon. rooftop palapa for outdoor cooking, conversation and just relaxation. They run sea kayaking trips from here which is the reason I went to La Paz. Had a room on the 3rd floor, nice and breezy. Slept like a log.

Try banditos for great BBQ right next door.

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank shordavs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
outfitter, Owner at Posada LunaSol Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded December 27, 2012

Dear Guest,
We greatly appreciate you taking the time to post your review of our hotel in La Paz. I especially appreciate you noting our "great price". At $65/standard room, including all taxes, we have really tried to keep our prices low yet still give our guests the basics in accommodation most people seek when away from home. Such as a comfortable bed in a clean, safe and aesthetically pleasing environment within walking distance of the Malecon and great restaurants.
I hope you allow us to be your hosts again on your next visit to La Paz!
Cheers,
Mary Harter

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 13, 2012

Cute, family owned place near the marina. Just a short walk to the Malecon. Nice, friendly and helpful staff. Sweet rooftop palapa for outdoor cooking and relaxation. Some rooms have kitchens. They also run sea kayaking trips from here that I also recommend. You'll meet people from all over the world staying here, including vacationing Mexicans. Not fancy, but highly recommended!

Room Tip: It's air conditioned, but if you prefer fresh air, go for one of the 3rd floor rooms where you...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank xyzxyzxyz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 1, 2012

We got into LaPaz later in the evening and were offered room #8. It was very clean and had great a/c. The sheets were crisp and clean and the bed was quite comfortable to us both. Sometimes the beds in Mexico can be very hard but this isn't the case here. The bathroom was also very clean and the showers are HUGE with more than adequate hot water. The best thing about the hotel though are the friendly folks at check-in. everybody we dealt with was helpful and welcoming. Oh and it's also very secure and safe feeling here. there is a locking gate that leads to the rooms although I don't think the area is a bad one at all. We walked back and forth to the malecon several times with zero problems. about the only negative thing (and it's only a small complaint) was the noise level in the morning. It starts at approx 0700 and is because of the excursions that leave the hotel for the day. They all meet in the parking lot and can get quite loud in their excitement. We found that our a/c covered a lot of the noise though. we were glad we found this place, it suited our needs perfectly and was very clean and comfortable. We would most definitely stay again when returning to LaPaz.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank maggiemay1969
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
outfitter, Owner at Posada LunaSol Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded November 3, 2012

Dear Guest,
Thanks so much for posting this valued review of our hotel in La Paz. I especially appreciate your mentioning our comfortable beds. We replaced many of our mattresses in the past 2 years and spared no expense in purchasing high quality, comfortable pillow top mattresses.
As well it was nice of you to mention our friendly staff. We are very lucky to have such wonderful local people working with us in La Paz!
Thanks for staying with us in La Paz and sorry for the noise associated with our trip departures. Luckily this does not occur daily but rather only on a couple occasions each week. We have other rooms that are not so close to the action of our departing trips that you might try on your next visit.
We hope to host you in La Paz again someday soon!
Best Regards,
Mary Harter

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 26, 2012

We thoroughly enjoyed our 5 nights at Posada LunaSol and will recommend it to our friends for ambience, location and friendly staff.
The association with Mar y Adventura is particularly useful and we had a great day trip to Espiritu Santu that I would also recommend to anyone visiting La Paz.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank JDG1946
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
outfitter, Owner at Posada LunaSol Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded December 27, 2012

Dear Guest,
Thanks for your nice review of our hotel. I'm glad you enjoyed staying with us for 5 nights in La Paz. We appreciate you pointing out our strengths of nice ambiance, location and friendly staff. Next time you should combine your stay in La Paz with one of our multi-day trips out to the islands! Thanks for recommending us!
Cheers,
Mary Harter

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these La Paz hotels
0.8 mi away
La Posada Hotel & Beach Club
0.6 mi away
Hotel HBlue
Hotel HBlue
#1 of 39 in La Paz
197 reviews
4.9 mi away
Hyatt Place La Paz
Hyatt Place La Paz
#3 of 39 in La Paz
550 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Hotel One La Paz
Hotel One La Paz
#5 of 39 in La Paz
479 reviews
2.1 mi away
Club El Moro
Club El Moro
#12 of 39 in La Paz
174 reviews
1.0 mi away
Hotel Catedral La Paz
Hotel Catedral La Paz
#2 of 39 in La Paz
165 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Posada LunaSol Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Posada LunaSol Hotel

Address: Calle Topete E/ 5 de Febrero y Navarro 564, La Paz 23006, Mexico
Phone Number:
Location: Mexico > Baja California > Baja California Sur > La Paz
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 39 Hotels in La Paz
Price Range: $53 - $82 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Posada LunaSol Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 17
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Posada LunaSol is a traditionally decorated Mexican Inn ideally located for exploring the sights of La Paz and its surrounding areas by foot, kayak or boat. The Marina La Paz and water front boardwalk are within a short walk and the sea kayaking and whale watching outfitting business of Mar Y Aventuras is on site. The bilingual, friendly and knowledgeable staff is available daily to help enhance your visit to La Paz. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Orbitz and Hotwire so you can book your Posada LunaSol Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing