We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
$143
$81
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Savings alert! 24% below average rates

The price you found is 24% lower than this hotel's average rate of $107/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

Hyatt Place La Paz(La Paz)(Great Value!)
$76
$69
Hyatt.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Posada LunaSol Hotel(La Paz)(Great Value!)
$47
$46
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$159
$155
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Hotel Marina(La Paz)
$64
$51
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Seven Crown La Paz Centro(La Paz)(Great Value!)
$71
$60
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$92
$77
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Club El Moro(La Paz)(Great Value!)
$63
$54
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$158
$146
Cancelon
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (195)
Filter reviews
195 results
Traveler rating
121
61
6
3
4
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
121
61
6
3
4
Show reviews that mention
All reviewshomemade breadgreat ownerscomfortable suiteevery morningmardi gras paradecondo style hotelwonderful view of the bayhelpful ownersfull kitchentop flooreggs to orderbig balconyrestaurants and shopsliving roombreakfasts were excellentocean frontincluded breakfast
Filter
Updating list...
151 - 156 of 195 reviews
Reviewed February 21, 2009

We were only able to stay one night at Las Gaviotas Resort, but it was well worth it! We are going back next January (2010) for a full week. The resort is across the street from the Malecon (boardwalk) - a beautiful walk along the bay where there are lots of restaurants, clubs and bars. The beach there is ok for shelling or wading, but there are stunninging beaches to visit just a short drive up the coast.

The pool area is lovely; both shaded and sunny areas with a small bar area and barbecues for all to use.

The rooms have very large balconies with loungers and chairs/table, and all the rooms face the bay - stunning views! The outside rooms are somewhat sunnier, having windows on the side walls as well, but all rooms have 2 separate bedrooms, 2 bathrooms, and a fold out couch. The kitchens are well equipped and spacious. The decor is Mexican flavour - lovely!

If you're looking to get away from the rat race and really enjoy the Baja - this is the place. There is also lots of shopping and a grocery store within short walking distance. Marcella, the manager, is very warm and wonderful - she works so hard to make your stay a wonderful experience.

Do rent a car to visit here - what a great holiday destination!

  • Stayed: January 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank twinmom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 7, 2009

Situated close to the action in La Paz, Las Gaviotas is a comfortable home base for exploring this sleepy city and its environs. The resort is one block from the malecon and another 5 or 10 to the heart of the city.

We stayed here for a week in the end of December and were very happy with our experience. The resort consists of 16 two bedroom condos, 4 each on a total of 4 floors. The condo was very spacious and the kitchen, furniture, etc. was much nicer and in much better shape than what we have seen in similar condos. The kitchen has a stove but no oven and has everything you need to prepare a delicious meal. Most importantly there is a lime squeezer which was probably the thing we used the most.

The master bedroom bathroom is much nicer than the 2nd bathroom which was probably the dingiest part of the condo. There was maid service every other day which was more than enough.

The best part of the condo was probably the large balcony with table and chairs that overlooked the ocean. The balcony is private, though there is no wall, just some decorative railing, separating you from your neighbor's balcony.

The resort has a pool which was sizable enough and very clean and there is also a small sun deck on which you can catch late afternoon rays when the sun disappears behind the building as it sets to the west. Lastly, there are two grills you can use to cookout fillings for homemade tacos.

The people at the front desk were very kind and helpful with resort related requests but they didn't seem to be experts on area activities. Also beware that a night guard comes on duty sometime around 8pm and he doesn't speak much English.

A few final notes about the surrounding area. There is a supermarket one block away from the water and then three or four blocks to your right. Also, don't eat at the restaurant at the bottom of the hill, Los Laureles. We ate there twice out of convenience and were underwhelmed both times. Bismark-cito down the malecon is a much better bet but make sure to go during the day when the taco stand is open.

You can read more about out visit to La Paz on our travel blog- http://patrinadoestheglobe.blogspot.com/

  • Stayed: December 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
5  Thank patrickfoster18
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 1, 2008

I own a timeshare in Cancun and that is how I got to stay at this resort. That is by excahnging my week with RCI.
The city of La Paz is about 250 KM from the airport in Cabo San Lucas and the drive to La Paz is not something I would recommend. I drove to the resort at night at it was the worst part of my vacation.
When I finally got to the Las Gaviotas it was the beginning of a truly relaxing vacation. The staff at the hotel, especially Alejandro and Eduardo are very, very helpful. They helped me with everything from a choice of good restaurants to things to see while in La Paz.
The accomodations at the resort are all two bedroom units. They have a fair size kitchen and a huge living room. The resort isn't as glitzy as the ones in say Nuevo Vallarta or Cabo San Lucas, but as far as I am concerned they were just right for me.
The restaurants in the area are plentiful. There isn't just one style of cuisine to choose from but several different types around the city. It is a relatively small city, however I would recommend that you rent a car while there.

  • Stayed: October 2008
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
3  Thank FlyingOften
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 12, 2008

My sister and I loved our stay at Las Gaviotas, and hope to return in the fall. The units are huge, with a fresh breeze blowing through. The units were well equipped and very pleasant. The staff was wonderful, and we loved that this was not a big fancy gringo resort. If you want to feel like Vegas in Mexico, try Cancun and Cabo--you'll be right at home. If you want comfort and authenticity, go to La Paz. It was well located, clean, and reasonably quiet. Although we are not normally tour types, we took several day trips with Jose Luis Martinez of Espiritu & Baja tours--his tours were really fun, small and a great value. Find him down the Malecon a few blocks beyond "Bravo" with the lit up sign on the sidewalk that says tours in white lights (Paseo Alvaro Obregon #774-A. Email: [--].) You won't be disappointed. Tell him Sherry and Kristine sent you--he'll laugh!

KF Seattle

  • Stayed: March 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
5  Thank kseattle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 14, 2007

I have now stayed at Las Gaviotas 4 times.
My husband and I go down with friends and rent either a 3 or 4 bed house. Everytime it has been with a different owner and every time it has been perfect.
We usually do a costco shop, fill a cooler with veggies, fruit, meat and buy beer/etc at the shop accross the street.
We cook out a few nights on the barbque and then go to restaurants nearby.. La Fonda is a favorite!
The main area has a shuffleboard court... SOO much fun when its really hot and we can jump in the pool between games, surf is usually good... there are AWESOME surfers which is fun to watch from the cliffs.
Lots of english speaking people who are helpful and really nice.
Its a fantastic holiday, I wouldnt ever go anywhere else, and plan to do this annually for as long as I live in California.

  • Stayed: September 2007, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
6  Thank zanroberts
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews