We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Outstanding Hotel” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Las Gaviotas Resort

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Las Gaviotas Resort
Ranked #8 of 40 Hotels in La Paz
Grand Junction, Colorado
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Outstanding Hotel”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 21, 2012

This is a real find. The rooms are huge and very well appointed with regionally made furniture and decor. The building quality is outstanding and the ambience is just right. The owners take great care of you including a wonderful home-made breakfast daily and all the advise you need to enjoy the area. The sea-side rooms have the million dollar views, but there is some street noise. The inside rooms over-look a very scenic pool and courtyard and are quieter--pick whichever works best for you. The location is optimal and the hotel and parking are very safe, no worries.

Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank KSciss
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

182 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    111
    58
    6
    3
    4
See reviews for
68
60
1
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (64)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Grapevine, Texas
Level Contributor
23 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 14, 2012

Just returned from a 3 night stay at this amazing property! Gail and her husband really do treat you like family! The 2 bedroom units are clean and have excellent views of the water. I also have to add they have the coldest AC in town! We enjoyed the morning breakfast Gail personally made for us. Homemade salsa, egg's, bread,fresh fruits, and smoothies! The location was perfect! Only a few minutes to all the great restaurants and bars! They are working on providing reliable internet, but we had no problem accessing from the lobby. The hosts are the true gem of this property! We will return!

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank MileHiRob
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cabo San Lucas
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 4, 2012

We had a truly great time staying at Las Gaviotas Resort, it is a wonderful place to stay in La Paz. The spacious rooms are nothing fancy but homey and well appointed with a great view from the balcony. What makes the place even better is the fabulous host Gail, who is very helpful in giving you information about La Paz and cooked a great breakfast which included scrambled eggs, fresh squeezed orange juice and homemade bread and jams. They do provide free WIFI which is a plus. If you want a simple, reasonably priced hotel, with nice owners, this is your place and you will be very happy.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank WyndhamCSL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary, Canada
Level Contributor
50 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 20, 2012

We used the pool here and had cold cervecas...it's a serve yourself out of the fridge option. The pool area and lobby are great and the pool is big for good swimming and very clean. There are some trees close to the pool and gorgeous birds. Gail is friendly and helpful. Gaviotas is in an ideal location just off the Malecon, has indoor parking for security and seems to be a comfortable fit for anyone wanting to get to see La Paz up close.

Room Tip: We did not stay here, as my friend owns a house in La Paz
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
Helpful?
4 Thank Mike S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Anchorage, Alaska
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 20, 2012

We have now stayed twice at Las Gaviotas and we'll be heading back there again. We were booked there through our fishing guide the first time and we liked it so much that we specifically requested the repeat reservation.

The pool is the best we've found at several different locations in La Paz and the pool side, personally cooked breakfasts are a real treat.

Room Tip: All the rooms have a view but the higher you are, the more of the bay you can see. As far as I'...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Rick G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colorado
Level Contributor
14 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 25, 2012

We brought our three kids with us on our trip, ages 7,9 and 10, and they had a wonderful time. We recommended Las Gaviotas to our neighbors, who were also traveling with children, and when they told us of the less than stellar review left by the couple from La Jolla, I just had to write! Our kids had a blast, there were books, games and toys for them to play with, and with the beach just two blocks away, we never had any problems keeping them happy and occupied. The morning breakfasts were wonderful-we met lots of other guests who also loved the Mexican omelettes and home made breads and jams, along with the great suggestions by Gail of where to go and what to see on our trip. She arranged a wonderful whale watching trip, which the whole family thoroughly enjoyed! The pool was heated, which was a definite plus, and very private, with walls that kept out the wind, but not the sun (-: We had a fabulous time, and will be back next year! Oh, and we didn't watch much tv, we spent the evenings walking on the malecon or out on the patio, but we were satisfied with the channels that we did see!!

Room Tip: We stayed on the top floor and had a great view!
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank ColoradoKristina
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
victoria
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 19, 2012

We enjoyed our stay here. Great location, large comfortable suite and such friendly and helpful hosts. The rooms have everything you need and we are told that they will be redecorating them in the next year.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank BarbDVictoria
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these La Paz hotels
2.2 mi away
La Posada Hotel & Beach Club
0.9 mi away
Hotel Blue Business Class
3.6 mi away
Hyatt Place La Paz
Hyatt Place La Paz
#2 of 40 in La Paz
4.5 of 5 bubbles 421 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.4 mi away
Posada LunaSol Hotel
Posada LunaSol Hotel
#4 of 40 in La Paz
4.5 of 5 bubbles 328 reviews
2.6 mi away
Rancho Las Cruces
Rancho Las Cruces
#22 of 40 in La Paz
4.5 of 5 bubbles 22 reviews
0.6 mi away
Hotel Perla
Hotel Perla
#9 of 40 in La Paz
3.5 of 5 bubbles 223 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Las Gaviotas Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Las Gaviotas Resort

Property: Las Gaviotas Resort
Address: Juan Maria de Salvatierra 100 y Belisario Domingues, La Paz 23000, Mexico
Location: Mexico > Baja California > Baja California Sur > La Paz
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Romantic Hotel in La Paz
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Las Gaviotas Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 14
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Wonderful location in La Paz, walk to everything. Furnished 2 br, 2 bath condo-type suites. Best ocean views, terraces, enclosed parking, great heated pool, great breakfast, great hosts and staff. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Priceline, Booking.com, Hotels.com and Agoda so you can book your Las Gaviotas Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Las Gaviotas Hotel La Paz
Las Gaviotas La Paz

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing