We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
$127
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Seven Crown La Paz Centro(La Paz)(Great Value!)
$68
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hyatt Place La Paz(La Paz)(Great Value!)
$84
$79
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Posada LunaSol Hotel(La Paz)(Great Value!)
$47
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$155
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Hotel Marina(La Paz)
$51
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$92
$77
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Rancho Las Cruces(La Paz)
$366
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
$218
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (195)
Filter reviews
195 results
Traveler rating
121
61
6
3
4
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
121
61
6
3
4
Show reviews that mention
All reviewshomemade breadgreat ownerscomfortable suiteevery morningmardi gras paradecondo style hotelwonderful view of the bayhelpful ownersfull kitchentop flooreggs to orderbig balconyrestaurants and shopsliving roombreakfasts were excellentocean frontincluded breakfast
Filter
Updating list...
132 - 137 of 195 reviews
Reviewed April 17, 2011

We were traveling thru La Paz in a little rental truck. It was early evening and we found this place. A very nice room with nice views of the bay. Malecon one block away, inside parking. reasonable pricing for the room and service we had. Wish we could of stayed longer, but had other commitments to attend to. Restaurants close by and good eating. The owners fixed us breakfast and it was very good. We were lucky to find this place and will stay again next time in La Paz.

  • Stayed: March 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank jonnannic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 28, 2011

Been fishing in Mexico for a number of years and place Las Gaviotas right at the top for best all-around for the sportsman. Conveniently located, Las Gaviotas offers a breathtaking view of the bay and a short walk to almost anywhere along the Malecon. Gail and Chalo go out of their way to accommodate their guests and, for the days not on the water, you are greeted with a wonderful breakfast. I'll be back.

  • Stayed: March 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank kegragg1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 28, 2011

I did not what to expect, bur from the moment I got in, I knew our choice was the best!...
Is confortable, it feels like home, it's near by the ocean, it's clean, I'm so happy I had the chance to stay there.
The breakfast? delocious!...
The owners? so attentive and polite, nice people!...
100% recomended!...
Trust me, u wont be disapointed!...

  • Stayed: February 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Marikitamx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 21, 2011

We just returned from a superb 4 night vacation in La Paz !!!
We have traveled extensively and found Las Gaviotas and La Paz to be a very special place.
Gail and Chalo are incredible hosts! They do everything that they can to make the stay enjoyable and memorable. The breakfast by the great pool with a huge bowl of fruit salad, fresh juice, toast and omelettes overlooking the hummingbird feeder which orioles also like to drink from is great. The views from the huge balcony is also out of this world as are the sunsets. Gail and Chalo give incredible advice and since we tend to be inquisitive about just about everything they were very thorough in answering all of our queries. Their real mission is to be perfect hosts and to make your trip the most enjoyable that it can be. Our trip to the Isla Espiritu Santo was an opportunity of a lifetime. We plan to go back to Las Gaviotas and lovely La Paz many times in the future!

Stayed: February 2011, traveled as a couple
3  Thank lisabelina
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 10, 2011

We stayed at Las Gaviotas for 4 nights in November. Agree with most of the other reviews so will add a couple of details left out. The owners were very nice and accomodating as everyone else has mentioned. The view from the units is exceptional. The rooms have huge balconies that are maybe 10X20 with a large table, 4 chairs, and 1 lounge chair. I think the best rooms are on the ends of the building where you have more circulation and more of a panoramic view.

Prior to our trip we wondered if we would feel safe in Mexico and La Paz considering all the bad press for Mexico lately. We had no issues or concerns at all during our trip. I walked for groceries several times at night and never had any concerns or issues. We also drove from Cabo and had no issues with that either. I would strongly recommend driving as it gives the most freedom and seems to cost about the same as buses, taxis, etc.

Regarding excursions we found all of the owner's recommendations to be excellent. Our first day we rented kayaks in Pichulengue (spelling may be off). This costed us about $30 for 4 hours for a double kayak. We are avid kayakers and found their Cobra kayaks to be of excellent quality. We went about 7 miles round trip and had a fantastic day. We only saw a couple of boats all day. We thought we heard sea lions on the way out and then dismissed it. On the way back we thought we heard them again and paddled to a little island and discovered a Sea Lion colony. People were snorkeling with the Sea Lions.

Our second day we took Espirtu Baha tour's trip to Espiritu Santu Island. The boat was full of people but we figured we would make the best of it. We then found out everyone was being dropped off on an island for overnight camping so my wife and I got a private tour for the day for $65 each which was outstanding. We say a school of 200+ porpoises, We swam with sea lions at a huge sea lion colony, and we also got to swim with whale sharks. We had lunch on a beautiful beach. It was a day we will remember forever.

Another excursion we did was diving with Fun Baja. We did a 3 tank trip and substituted one of the dives to swim with whale sharks. I believe we paid about $185 per person. The dives we did we found to be very mediocre. Swimming with the whale sharks was spectacular however. We swam with about 6 whales sharks for maybe 45 minutes. If you are watching your travel budget I would recommend the Espirtu Tour mentioned above and possibly a whale shark tour.

I noticed that Tailhunter's bar which is about 1/2 block away from Las Gaviotas was rated highly on trip advisor. I figured they had typical bar food and people liked it as a bar. As it turned out the food was outstanding so we had there several times. They have a great view and we found everything to be very good.

The owners have a B&B called Casa Colibri I believe in addition to Las Gaviotas. We had originally booked "The Nest" the largest room in the B&B but ended up in Las Gaviotas. If you have a choice between the two here are the pros and cons from what we could see. The Nest seems to have newer furnishings then the rooms in Las Gaviotas but seems a little smaller. The Las Gaviotas rooms are 2 bedroom / 2 bath condos with full kitchens, dining room table, etc.

Minor annoyances we found were: there is one 40 or 60 watt bulb in the large L shaped master bathroom so it is always somewhat dark so it is a bit difficult to see while you are getting ready. Our air conditioner never seemed to work. The unit turned on but had no affect on the temperature. Maybe it was out of freon or something. I assume electricity is expensive so maybe the units do not work. We never raised the issue so not sure the deal. It was cool enough outside with the windows open on out trip however the Malecon can be a bit noisy at times. We found the rooms to be very clean. Everything seems to be 15 years old or so in the rooms. Overall we thoroughly enjoyed our stay at Las Gaviotas and our trip to La Paz. The highlight for us was the time we spent on the water swimming with whale sharks, sea lions, and exploring Isla Espiritu Santu. Kayaking was great also.

  • Stayed: November 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank DiverM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews