We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Oh my gosh! This was amazing!”
Review of El Tupe - CLOSED

El Tupe
Cuisines: Mexican
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Reservations
california
Level 6 Contributor
163 reviews
65 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 104 helpful votes
“Oh my gosh! This was amazing!”
Reviewed January 1, 2014

First, be apprised that the restaurant has moved. The address is now Mutualismo between Ocampo and Bravo, as someone mentioned, right behind Applebee's. They've only been there a few days. After looking at the menu, we simply asked the chef to bring us whatever he thought best. We started with round goblets arriving upside down on a hot wooden plank, turned over with steam pouring out of them and then filled with herb tea (something called damiana) The tea was wonderfully infused with the pine from the plank. Following that was an appetizer in sea shells and then a tamal siriano filled with rabbit, rice, and raisins among other things and then wrapped in a cabbage leaf. Then a quail stuffed with a luscious banana homemade yogurt mix and then a kind of lamb lasagna with tortilla instead of noodle. The meal was completed with an incredible dense mint flan served on a piece of shale with amaranth and powdered sugar. Each dish was more nuanced than I am giving it credit for.

As mentioned below, everything is organic, local and housemade. The yogurt, for example, is made with fresh locally sourced milk. These men are artists and are incredibly creative. You cannot know what is coming next. A similar tasting menu would be probably triple the price in the United States.

You should know that 1) I don't think any of them speak much English - at least I didn't hear any 2) if you want dinner you should make a reservation, which is easy to do via the reservation email address listed on their website 3) allow a couple of hours to enjoy the meal. They were thrilled that we had chosen to let them decide what to feed us and we felt we were being privately catered to.

We went with our two kids, 22 and 24 and they were absolutely delighted. What a find! If you're in La Paz don't miss it. Right now they only have five tables, four inside and one outside. They also serve breakfast and lunch without a reservation. The city would be well-served to cultivate this local treasure.

  • Visited January 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank antoniaCalifornia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

74 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    57
    5
    5
    2
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Fort Collins, Colorado
Level 4 Contributor
24 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Unusual, yet Delicious”
Reviewed January 1, 2014

My husband and I had one of the most unusual breakfast we ever had here. The restaurant is located one street behind the malecón. First we tried their coffee which they make it the way it was done in the olden days in Mexico and in South America strained in a cheese cloth. We tried two different grinds and both were light, yet very smooth and deep in flavor. We were started with some complimentary small rustic breads served with guava/jalapeño marmalade on a wood serving plate. Then more small breads were served with a jalapeño butter. Delicious. We had their potatoes with rabbit sausage and also their quail eggs on coffee tortillas. The rabbit sausage was a little sweet and a flavor I have never had before. The quail eggs were presented on top of two little tortillas, perfectly cooked and mingled well with the coffee taste of the tortillas. The service was spotless - high caliber Everything was amazing and they go above and beyond to make sure you have a great experience. If you are adventurous and want to try some incredible "sud-californian" food you have to make it a point to stop by these guys place. We surely will go again when in La Paz!

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank GliAda
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mexico City
Level 6 Contributor
149 reviews
106 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 118 helpful votes
“A different place”
Reviewed December 31, 2013 via mobile

Greeted by the owner and head chef, we entered this small, cozy restaurant, located behind Applebees.

They try to recreate a rancher environment location, offering organic food based on the local, south Californian roots.

Menu is limited to whatever ingredients they have fresh and available.

This is not a place for those seeking a traditional menu. At el Tupe, food is served in creative, different presentations. Local ingredients are mixed in a unique way.

Definitely a place to try at least once.

Helpful?
Thank mrsregino
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Level 4 Contributor
29 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Amazing - best food we had in La Paz”
Reviewed November 9, 2013

and we had good food in La Paz. We had trouble finding El Tupe but it's easy to find across the street from the Pemex station. It's open for breakfast and lunch. We went for breakfast. They don't have a huge menu. Everything is based on what food they have. We started with cucumber juice and coffee. The juice was the bomb- better than any other juice I have tasted. The food is fresh and served with style. I wish we could have eaten here again but El Tupe will be our first stop on the next trip to La Paz.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank BootsNWasabi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego
Level 4 Contributor
24 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“The very best of La Paz”
Reviewed October 26, 2013

So nice to finally see a real restaurant #1 for La Paz and not a tourist trap on the malecon. El Tupe is astounding; everything about it! Luis brings the most creativity I've found in dining in La Paz. He's a true talent and a gentleman. Though I visited for breakfast, after reading the other reviews, I can't wait to go back for dinner.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank LoveBaja
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed El Tupe also viewed

La Paz, Baja California Sur
La Paz, Baja California Sur
 
La Paz, Baja California Sur
La Paz, Baja California Sur
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing