We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“$$$$$”

Estancia Uruguaya Parrilla Bar
Ranked #23 of 308 Restaurants in La Paz
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $20 - $100
Cuisines: South American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Romantic
Dining options: Late Night, Reservations
Description: Vos no te podes perder nuestros tipicos cortes de carne naturales, sin mascaras y asados lentamente a las brasas para preservar su jugosidad. Perfumados con el exquisito aroma a lena disfruta de asado de tira, bife, churrasco, costilla cargada con y sin hueso, lechones, matambritos, pamplonas, picana, pulpon, rack de cordero y vacio con chimichurri criollo. Ademas de los tradicionales aperitivos: empanadas criollas, provoletta, chorizo criollo, morcilla, chinchulines, mollejas y rinones a las brasas."PORQUE SABEMOS DE CARNE"
Alexandria, Virginia
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“$$$$$”
Reviewed January 18, 2013

This is definatively the place for great beef. Having said that, the prices are really out of proportion. I consider it very expensive for an evening out. There is a service person who speaks perfect English - she worked for many years in Las Vegas. Atmosphere is very good and comfortable.

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank TheTravellers42
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

112 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    71
    22
    11
    5
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Christchurch, Canterbury, New Zealand
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Bad food bad service high price”
Reviewed December 10, 2012

We went to the Estancia Uruguay on the recommendation of another nearby restaurant that was full. It was dark and hard to read the menu. The service was poor. We waited a long time to get a menu, a long time between receiving the menu and ordering, and getting the bill when we wanted to leave took forever (over 20 minutes from when we asked for the bill to receiving it). I did not get what I ordered (my meal was supposed to have vegetables but didn't), but wasn't going to complain at the time as clearly I wasn't interested in waiting any longer. The empanadas were mediocre. The meat was tough. Our red wine was iced (is this usual in Uruguay?) and the price for a house wine was ludicrous (we were charged ($US10 per glass) and we couldn't question it as we had not been offered a wine list so had simply ordered in the expectation that a house wine would be of a reasonable price.

  • Visited October 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
3 Thank JDG1946
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Roseville, California
Level 5 Contributor
70 reviews
48 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Best beef I've ever had”
Reviewed November 7, 2012

I'd never eaten Uruguayan food before, so didn't know what to expect. It was fantastic. Great assortment of appetizers, and beef entrees to die for. I ate the most tender and delicious steak of my life. And the portions were huge!

  • Visited October 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Dennis F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“FANTASTIC!!!!”
Reviewed July 18, 2012

We visited Estancia Uruguaya Parrilla Restaurant on Sunday night for some of the most delicious empanadas I have EVER experienced! Yes, here in La Paz! To top it off... Gerardo and his lovely wife Alex brought to our table an assortment platter of meats cooked on their open-pit grill. Unbelievable, absolutely unbelievable!
Yes, their meats are so flavourful, but for the vegetarians out there... they have many delicious options. My wife (the vegetarian) had the Oliva empanadas that night, but the spinach version looked good as well.
We'll be back for sure! Great service, relaxing atmosphere... a great dining experience!

  • Visited July 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank trptown
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
Level 4 Contributor
29 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Beef Lover's Paradise”
Reviewed June 5, 2012

My favorite places to dine in La Paz! The staff is friendly and courteous. The restaurant is very quaint. The owner, Gerardo, does all the cooking on his woodfire grill. The beef is simply the best I have ever had, anywhere. And I live in Texas!! If you ask, he will bring out the beef on a platter and allow you to select your own type and cut. My favorite is "the pulpon" which is basically a flank steak but it is seasoned to perfection. The portions are huge. The cost is not.
A great place to dine alone or with friends.
This is one of the first places I visit when I come to La Paz.

  • Visited March 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank John C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Estancia Uruguaya Parrilla Bar also viewed

La Paz, Baja California Sur
La Paz, Baja California Sur
 
La Paz, Baja California Sur
La Paz, Baja California Sur
 
La Paz, Baja California Sur
La Paz, Baja California Sur
 

Been to Estancia Uruguaya Parrilla Bar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing