We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A fine place to stay!”

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in La Paz
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Hotel Arte y Museo Yeneka
Ranked #15 of 39 Hotels in La Paz
London, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“A fine place to stay!”
Reviewed May 17, 2013 via mobile

Greeted with tequilla and shown to our room "erotica" we had to fight our way through what has to be the best collection of random goodies on the globe! This hotel is basically mad as a box of frogs and we quite frankly loved our time here! 2 min walk to the beach, comfy beds and good wifi. The communal garden is also nice to relax in, if you enjoy being in a jungle owned by an eccentric collector of bones, shells, plants and manikins dressed in tutus and armed with painted mop heads! The breakfast cookies was a nice touch too! If you have a sense of humour, stay here and embrace the madness!

I might add, in the bus station on the sea front you can grab a cheap bus to playa Balandra. This is the most incredible beach you will ever see! Take your snorkel and prepare to be blown away! Its a must see beach and will have you awestruck. Only 20 mins from la paz!

Also, restaurants aren't great if you are a massive foody like us, so find an italian called Milanos. Out of the hotel, turn left and turn right going towards the beach. Its off on the left down a road, I think 2 back from the beach. We found the food excellent!

If you are divers or snorkelers go to the beach front and find the tour company. They run private boats to eespiritu santo island, its a must do day! Bloody excellent!

Enjoy!

  • Stayed May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mattk2112
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

65 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    33
    19
    10
    3
    0
See reviews for
3
21
9
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed April 9, 2013 via mobile

This is the most unique hotel if ever seen. I have never seen this mich stuff together. The coutyard is completely cluttered and every room has some unique items and/or wallpaintings.

It's an old place with old stuff. No modern comforts, but lots of fun! The free shot of tequilla uppon arrival will make you sleep great anyway!!

Never seen a place like this. And sure I never will!

  • Stayed March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank AYoungblood
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sayulita, Mexico
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed March 24, 2013 via mobile

We stumbled upon this hotel while looking for the hostel and had seen reviews on internet so after a quick walk through to see the rooms we decided to stay. Free shots of tequila, internet, breakfast and hot water were advertised as selling points...plenty of tequila was given out nightly at happy hour but breakfast was cookies and coffee and hot water was only on between 7am-9am...nonetheleseess we enjoyed our room so much we extended our stay from 3 days to 10 days. People working there were friendly but be careful at che everything thete. ckout because they are notorious for overcharging and adding drinks to the bill. We argued to charges and they took them off. We loved the atmosphere and would stay again...even in the 10 days we stayed we didn't see everthing this hotel-recycled art gallery had to offer.

  • Stayed January 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Travalina G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed March 6, 2013

We are a couple in our late 20s, early 30s and we used to do a bit of backpacking. I think we were both sad to realise that those days are over and we now prefer a bit more comfort. For this reason I don't think we'd come back to Yeneka. It would have been a great place about 8 years ago for us! Really, the staff were very friendly and it was great to have the tequila and breakfast available. Each room was different. The beds were pretty uncomfortable and the bathrooms needed to be redone as our toilet kept breaking. Our last night there was a concert and we were kept awake for hours. Not the hotel's fault. It's in a good location.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kate H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed January 6, 2013

Great find! Although it is budget accommodation, the service recived and welcome, were first class. This is a facinating hotel which resembles a cross between an art gallery and antiques shop. It is family run of which we were made to feel part.

I particually like the two courtesy tequillas each on an evening. This is an inspiring place, which allowes you to sit back and take in many characters.

Great times

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Charlie_boo24
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Liberty Lake, Washington
Level 5 Contributor
72 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
Reviewed December 24, 2012

As others have mentioned the Yeneka is not for everyone, but if you've got a sense of humor and are young in spirit you'll enjoy the place. It's got enough ambience and atmosphere for several hotels. The courtyard is a great gathering spot to meet other travelers.
We stayed here for the better part of a week on an extended bicycle tour of Mexico and always felt welcome.
The staff went out of their way to accomodate us and all our gear.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank docsurfnv
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed November 27, 2012 via mobile

We spend 3 nights at this hotel in Nov 2012. Costs was $15 CAD each night for 3 of us sharing (cheap) and breakfast (cereal, coffee, juice) was provided too! I would stay here again if doing another budget holiday. There were other travelers who we chatted with in the common area so it was fun. The shower was always hot & the bathroom & rooms were clean.

  • Stayed November 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Rarie123123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these La Paz hotels
0.4 mi away
Hotel HBlue
Hotel HBlue
#1 of 39 in La Paz
186 reviews
1.0 mi away
Posada LunaSol Hotel
Posada LunaSol Hotel
#6 of 39 in La Paz
335 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Perla
Hotel Perla
#9 of 39 in La Paz
240 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Hotel Catedral La Paz
Hotel Catedral La Paz
#5 of 39 in La Paz
127 reviews
1.8 mi away
La Posada Hotel & Beach Club
4.1 mi away
Hyatt Place La Paz
Hyatt Place La Paz
#2 of 39 in La Paz
510 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Arte y Museo Yeneka? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Arte y Museo Yeneka

Property: Hotel Arte y Museo Yeneka
Address: Francisco I Madero 1520 | Centro, La Paz 23000, Mexico (Formerly Yeneka)
Location: Mexico > Baja California > Baja California Sur > La Paz
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Best Value Hotel in La Paz
#5 Romantic Hotel in La Paz
#6 On the Beach Hotel in La Paz
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 15
Also Known As:
Yeneka Hotel La Paz

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing