We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Food is outstanding and service excellent”

Catrinas Cocina Mexicana
Ranked #64 of 308 Restaurants in La Paz
Price range: $5 - $17
Cuisines: Diner, Mexican, Bar
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Dinner, Late Night, Reservations
Description: We are a Mexican food Restaurant with inside and outdoor sitting. Enjoy our great specialty's, Mojitos and Margaritas. Don't be scared of our host "The Catrina" she's been here since Cristobal Colon discovered America and came down to Baja California Sur leaving her on the beach while she was collecting some shells.
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Food is outstanding and service excellent”
Reviewed May 6, 2013

Quality food great prices. Right by the marina Friendly. I suggest the fat chicken or the chicken molcajete.

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank maryfarwell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Catrinasenlapaz, Manager at Catrinas Cocina Mexicana, responded to this review, May 16, 2013
Thank you for your visit and coments,...We're glad to read you liked our chicken molcajete.... We added now great breakfast specialtys on our menú, so you can try them next time you come to Baja California Sur, México...
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

113 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    63
    35
    9
    3
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London
Level 2 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Go eat there you will love it !”
Reviewed April 17, 2013

Have to say tho place hits all the spots! I stumbled upon it one afternoon - and the genuine heartfelt welcome (from Martin who serves as if he has a vested interest, only he doesn't) to come in a try the food was well, simply enticing - and i am so I glad a I did, I am sat here on my third visit - the food is outstanding - I only eat fish and each time I have been blown away! The margaritas by the way are pretty potent and yup! I'm on my second one - As a lone traveller i feel perfectly at ease coming here and well, hanging out - even if it is out of my budget, I am worth it ! Ps. The shot of tequila on the house is a real humbler too !

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Avetoots
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Catrinasenlapaz, Manager at Catrinas Cocina Mexicana, responded to this review, May 16, 2013
Hey, thanks for selecting us and trying our food!. Martín says hello and remember we have more margaritas waiting for you on your next visit,... and some new breakfast also!!!

We are bringing more dishes to pur menú, so you can expect some sorprises next time"!!!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
calgary
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“We ate here twice we loved it so much”
Reviewed March 27, 2013

We loved the food here. We eat out A LOT back in Calgary and we have travelled extensively in Mexico so we know what we are talking about. Skip over the 3 x 100 peso drinks and order something with good quality booze. The Molcajete was excellent but order it without the sausage as it;s more like a hot dog than a sausage. Don't let this turn you off- the rest of it was excellent.The Arachera with Huitlacoche was outstanding and is something I have never seen on any other MExican menu. It came in at less than $14
We brought our kids there as well and each of them was able to find something they liked. Our 12 yr old is very fussy.
Martin looked after us very well. We are now in San Jose del Cabo and have yet to find anything as good.

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank liztompkins
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Catrinasenlapaz, Manager at Catrinas Cocina Mexicana, responded to this review, May 16, 2013
Google Translation
Amigos!!!!,....Serán súper bienvenidos cuando tengan otras vacaciones de Calgary y decidan visitar nuestro bello Estado de Baja California Sur,...
Los esperamos otra vez acá en la capital La Paz.
Vamos a tomar en cuenta su comentario sobre los "Perros Calientes" (Sasages),.. tal vez lo cambiemos por chorizo español.... no sabemos aún, lo dejaremos ala imaginación de nuestro David, Nuestro Cheff.... Saludos!!!!.
PD.- Martín les manda saludos a ustedes y sus hijos....
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Anchorage
Level 6 Contributor
144 reviews
94 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
“The best mocajetes in BCS”
Reviewed March 25, 2013

We had been asking around our marina (Palmira Marina) about a good place for dinner. Catrina's was mentioned by more than one person. We found a quaint little sidewalk restaurant with excellent, friendly service and the best mocajetes we've ever tried. Had to turn down the desserts but not the tequila shots. The interaction with our waiter and the manager (owner?) just made it a better evening. The guacamole was excellent, too.

A wonderful way to spend the evening - you'll agree, I am sure.

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Orangegator
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Catrinasenlapaz, Manager at Catrinas Cocina Mexicana, responded to this review, May 16, 2013
Google Translation
Es para nosotros un orgullo poder tener comensales como ustedes, gracias por su preferencia y les podemos asegurar que nos pueden recomendar con toda seguridad a sus amigos y conocidos, en Catrinas Cocina Mexicana nos esforzamos todos los días por mejorar nuestro servicio y la calidad de nuestros platillos,... un saludo afectuoso y los esperamos !!!
Atte. la Gerencia
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego, California
Level 2 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Mocajetes”
Reviewed March 21, 2013

Great service from Marteen and for our party of 9, the refreshing tequila at the end of our meal was a bonus. Very accomadating to the two children in our group.

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
Thank Gary T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Catrinasenlapaz, Manager at Catrinas Cocina Mexicana, responded to this review, May 16, 2013
Google Translation
Gracias por su preferencia, Martín les manda un saludo afectuoso y los esperamos cuando quieran,... si gustan avisen con tiempo y así poder atenderlos todavía mejor.-... Un Abrazo y Gracias!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Catrinas Cocina Mexicana also viewed

La Paz, Baja California Sur
La Paz, Baja California Sur
 
La Paz, Baja California Sur
La Paz, Baja California Sur
 
La Paz, Baja California Sur
La Paz, Baja California Sur
 

Been to Catrinas Cocina Mexicana? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing