We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“gorgeous spot--wonderful staff.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Punta Pescadero Paradise
Ranked #26 of 40 Hotels in La Paz
long island ny
Level Contributor
21 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“gorgeous spot--wonderful staff.”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 31, 2010

It is very out of the way! But a beautiful spot overlooking Sea of Cortez.Probably because of 1) the economy 2) some increased crime in Northern Baja-Having nothing to do with this area. 3) some lingering Swine flu fears---we almost had the place to ourselves. The staff couldn.t do enough for us. The place is lovely. our room with a terrace overlooking the beach was great. Food was unremarkable---tho' they did a nice job with their steaks.We scubaed but it was too early (cold and windy) in the season (with a diveshop 30 min away but picked us up.) Anyway, you come here for the rest more than the rfecreation. (we did enjoy renting a quad and driving up the local "road".) So if you want to really get away--to relax--have romance--read---at a gorgreous spot,this is for you.

  • Stayed March 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank theperipatist
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

33 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    8
    16
    3
    3
    3
See reviews for
6
10
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room Tips
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Oregon
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 16, 2010

Just got back from Punta Pescadero last night.

We were the only ones there, save several staff for much of our three nights. We upgraded to the hot tub room after our first night because the weather was windy nad not much fun for swimming. The hot tub became our meeting place as it overhangs the beach and is protected by the wind a bit.

Food was very good - fresh, but expensive for what you get. Tortillas were yummy, hot and fresh, and the pico de gallo was excellent and a staple with every meal. Breakfasts were exceptional - Mexican favorites like juevos rancheros were masterful.

I was surprised to see a tiny, two tablespoons dollop of beans and a very small "dipping sauce" size mould of rice with each entree. For the $8 - $14 per entree, I would have expected a lot more. Yep - prices are definately state-side. Bring your own bottled water and booze - they gouge the heck out of you there.

Also, check the bill. Our group rented several rooms for three nights. After agreeing on a "2 nights and get the third for free" deal, we got the third night at full price on the bill. It was an hour and a half to negotiate this ($600) off the bill.

Service for pretty much everything was very......very......slow. Remember though, this is Baja, and you're supposed to be relaxing, right? We also brought our own entertainment in the form of books and board games. They have ATVs to rent and the property's beaches are great for finding shells. other than that, there is a horse show pit, the bar with a large tv (6 channels), the pool and a library of many books left behind by previous travelers. Some of our group went to town in the ATVs and we were able to arrange for some horses to ride along the beach as well.

No beach vendors, no roadside taco stands....really noone at all! We felt as though we were staying at our own villa for much of the trip. It is not the bustling, wild party as one finds in Cabo, 60 miles to the south, but for some of us that's just the way we like it.

  • Stayed February 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank valhans
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Florida
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 1, 2009

My mother (Sabina Tangeman) owned Casa Sabina. She and her girlfriend's were the Punta Princesses. The "girls" would go for 1-2 weeks while the husbands went trout fishing in the states.

I loved this place the first time I went there. I understand there is a paved road going into PP now but the old, cliff road with all the washboard bumps made the trip more exciting. I loved that there was no tv, could only get spanish radio channels, and the view (with whales in the spring).

Suggestions: If you are going to any of the "pueblos" in the area, ask on your flight if anyone else is going to one of the resorts along the way to PP (East Cape). The price of a "combi", taxi used to be one price for a full van. The prices are usually fixed within the booking agents. Don't tell the booking agent that you want to go to town first to pick up supplies. Negotiate that with the driver and a tip. Have the driver head toward Los Cabos and there are food and alcohol stores (mercados).

If you go during the winter months, pack summer clothes in your flight bag as it will be hot and humid at the airport and in the taxi. You don't want to have to be digging through your suitcase at the airport. Change into those clothes before departing to your destination as most combi's don't have a/c. If you don't need to go into town, be sure and purchase refreshments at the airport as the trip takes approx. 2 hrs. and their is always a chance that your taxi might break down (never happened to me).

After the first excitement of seeing Baja, you might as well read or nap until you get to the coast. Or learn about the area from the driver. BEWARE! Mexicans drive entirely differently than we do in the states. If it is a cool day, cows and sheep may be on the road.

Attire at the hotel is casual. The staff all speak english and live in El Cardenal. There is a tv in the bar for sports and weather mostly.

Yes, the prices of meals is rediculously high. Wow, one post said breakfast is about $20 now!!! We complained about it and we didn't have to eat there. So, we chose which one or 2 special meals we would go for a meal. If there is a group of you and option is to go into Los Barrilles for dining. But my best suggestion would be to stock up in Los Cabos and have some ready-to-eat items.

Yes, the fishing is so-so. I caught during one season a 60# swordfish, 150# striped marlin and a $250# blue marlin. I kept the blue and released the other two. The fish was given to the staff and hotel. It was used at the hotel as smoked and civiche. Another season we caught yellowtail, rooster and dolphin, I like dophin the best.

Snorkling can be iffy. Only one time of all the times I was there did I have clear water. Plankton was heavy most of the other times or Hurricane warning weather. Scuba is suggested more than snorkle. But I took a friend who could not swim snorkling, holding her hand while snorkling and she had a great time.

The houses there are unbelieveable. If Wendy is still managing the hotel, ask her about renting one of the houses. Our house has 2 master bedrooms, and an attached guest house, jacuzzi, 4 decks, a palapa (tiki hut) which you get to by the private stairway to the beach. Full kitchen and washing machine. That's how it was before it was sold due to Mom's death. Then you can prepare your own meals. Our house could sleep 6 adults in beds, and lounge chairs for kids. We adults even slept in the lounge chairs on the decks, at times. With a large group, partying in Punta is more fun than up at the bar, every night. And, if you rent a house, there is a could chance that the neighbors may have a party and include you.

Yes, walk forever on the white, sandy beaches but don't be deceived that you are alone. This first time we took a very long walk that night; the bartender "told" use how far we went. I think the area citizens are watching for nude bathers for their own enyoyment.

There is no shopping in PP so plan your vacation to do some in Cabo San Lucas or San Jose del Cabo

Safe in PP? Definitely. Almost all workers are from El Cardenal and most are related to each other. Their livelihood depends on the hotel. So any crime reflects upon the village and it's people.

Yes, if the roads are washed out, you will have to fly in. The landing strip is safe and private. You can even see one or two homes with an airplane garage along the runway.

If any of you who are reading this review go to PP, tell everyone "hello" from Sabinita, my PP name. Better know as, Averi

Have a great time!

  • Stayed November 2006, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Totch1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 16, 2008

Exec Summary: Not a good value & would not recommend.

Rooms: Clean and well maintained. Very good AC. Desalinated water.

Dining: Excellent view. Food was very good for Baja, but average to below average by US standards. Servers were friendly.

Hotel Management: Very poor. This was my 2nd stay at PP. There was a problem with my bill the 1st year and the mgmt promised a $400 credit on my next stay. The 2nd year, 6/08, I produced a hard copy of the e-mail exchange with the manager. He denied approving such an arrangement. He then tried to negotiate a lower credit. Eventually, I received the credit. So far so good? Well, not really, the manager *misjudged* the peso to dollar conversion and even though the hotel prices are in dollars, the final bill is paid in pesos and then reconverted to dollars. I lost $150 in the exchange. I asked via 3 e-mails over 2 weeks for an explanation, but I did not receive a reply. The blanket gratuity also didn't match what the website advertised. Its not a lot of money, but I can't help but feel nickel & dimed.

  • Liked — Ocean View
  • Disliked — Hotel Management
  • Stayed June 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank s105607
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these La Paz hotels

Morrison, Colorado
Level Contributor
28 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 28, 2008

Well... Tis was our 5th time back in one calendar year. There must be something to be said about this place. The entire East Cape region is a beach lover's paradise. If you're not into crowds and you don't mind the heat this is the place for you. You can walk for miles along a white sandy beach and not see another sole. There are more American beach houses that are built every time we visit, but this area is still pretty remote. The hotel did take us into the nearest sizable town called Los Barilles which means "the barrels". It was about a 30 minute ride on pretty rugged road. This place caters to the Americans who own property in the east cape region and has everything from supermarkets to nicer restaraunts.

We visited this time over Easter weekend and flew into the private airstrip, which is paved and the nicest one in the region. It was fairly busy with about 10 other airplanes ans parking almost full alongside the runway. For the amount of aircraft we didn't see too many people. The fishing at the hotel was again sub par. Next time I want to catch fish I should go to one of the Van Warmer resorts that specializes in fishing. This place has no idea how to catch fish. We ended up buying Yellowtail from the near bye town so we could fill something in our coolers.

The hotel rooms at Punta Pescadero are great. Comfy king size beds, roomy, small fridge, hair dryer, separate sitting area, patios overlooking the ocean, and nicely decorated.

The food hear is phenominal, although you do pay a pretty penny. You can do the american plan where food is included with the room. They actual have a full time chef here who really has a creative and delicious resume. There were a couple meals that were buffet style, since it was busier a few nights.

The weather was ok this time of the year. If you want to avoid the heat and the seasonal wnds March and April are good months to come. Our first day there was beautiful with a slight breeze and glassy ocean conditions. Tep was about 85. The second day the winds started picking up, and by the 3rd day they were gusting. The seasonal winds called "EL NORTE" are supposed to be gone by the beginning of MArch but we got a little taste of them. Once the wind starts blowing here it makes it very difficult to do anything on the water. Snorkeling and fishing are out of the question.

One complaint is: we kept our DO NOT DISTURB sign up each day because we were weary of our passports and cash being stolen, but this didn't stop housecleaning. They disregarded the sign each ay and cleaned our room anyways. Oh well, nothing was stolen or disturbed.

Overall a great place to relax, a very friendly staff, and nice place to get away from the crowds.

  • Liked — Location
  • Disliked — Fishing
  • Stayed March 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank elpez930
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, WA
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 9, 2008

Entire family went down for my brother's wedding. Beautiful place, spacious rooms, nicely decorated. Although the trip getting there is a bumpy one, it's more than worth it. Food was wonderful, staff was great.

Fishing was a good experience for the guys but they said it was over priced. Definately a trip I won't forget and will do again soon!

  • Stayed May 2007, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Wheelza
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sacramento, ca
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 4, 2007

We were in Punta Pescadero from June 29-July 3. Although we did not actually stay at the Hotel Punta Pescadero, we were there for most of each day. Our family friends have a beach house, Casa Sonrisa, 3 doors down from the resort. Last summer when we were there in August, it was hot and horribly humid but this time was absolutely gorgeous! I asked to see a room at the resort-and they were amazing! They were redone and modern--I especially liked the honeymoon suite with the private jacuzzi! The views are amazing, and if you don't feel like being in tourist central but like to fish, relax, kayak, snorkel, and eat tacos--then this is the place for you!

The road coming in right now is drivable. We actually took the old dirt road in an old minivan and had no problems! We took the paved road once and it was just as bumpy and took twice as long to get to Los Barilles.

I feel that the meals at this place are sorely overpriced. Last summer we had a simple breakfast (bacon, eggs and toast) and it cost about 20 bucks. However, unless you have quads or want to drive into Los Barilles, this is really your only option!

I strongly suggest renting quads from the resort-they are actually cheaper than the rental places in Los Barilles. They are a lot of fun and you can go look at cave paintings, waterfalls, and cruise thru arroyos.

An amazing place to stay...but the roads ARE NOT for the faint at heart!

  • Liked — amazing views, amazing rooms, amazing beach, remote location
  • Disliked — the roads coming in, prices of meals
  • Stayed June 2007, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
4 Thank doglover20
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these La Paz hotels
3.3 mi away
Rancho Las Cruces
Rancho Las Cruces
#24 of 40 in La Paz
4.5 of 5 bubbles 24 reviews
5.6 mi away
Las Gaviotas Resort
Las Gaviotas Resort
#8 of 40 in La Paz
4.5 of 5 bubbles 188 reviews
3.9 mi away
La Posada Hotel & Beach Club
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.7 mi away
Hotel Blue Business Class
9.2 mi away
Hyatt Place La Paz
Hyatt Place La Paz
#2 of 40 in La Paz
4.5 of 5 bubbles 448 reviews
2.4 mi away
Hotel Paradise Pasion La Paz
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Punta Pescadero Paradise? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Punta Pescadero Paradise

Property: Punta Pescadero Paradise
Address: La Paz 23000, Mexico
Location: Mexico > Baja California > Baja California Sur > La Paz
Hotel Style:
Ranked #26 of 40 Hotels in La Paz
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 241
Also Known As:
Punta Pescadero La Paz
Punta Pescadero Hotel La Paz

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing