We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Open today: 9:00 AM - 5:00 PM
Save
Review Highlights
Fantastic Experience with Whale Sharks, Sea Lions and Dolphins

Had a fantastic day swimming with sea lions, swimming with a whale shark, watching pods of dolphins... read more

Reviewed April 26, 2022
KeithR903
,
Hong Kong, China
You can tell they care about the wellbeing of the wildlife

My friends and I did the Whale Shark & Balandra Bay Exploration while in La Paz. The excursion... read more

Reviewed April 2, 2022
loblow_6
,
Friday Harbor, Washington
Read all 194 reviews
  
Recommended experiences in and around La Paz
from $88.00
More Info
from $146.80
More Info
from $116.43
More Info
from $219.00
More Info
Reviews (194)
Filter reviews
194 results
Traveler rating
191
3
0
0
0
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveler rating
191
3
0
0
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviews day trip eco tourism city tour community development whale sharks espiritu santo island great picnic bird colonies boat driver beach lunch deserted beach todos santos ceviche balandra bay these guys private beach flora and fauna
Sort and selected filters
Sort Filter
Updating list...
35 - 40 of 194 reviews
Reviewed April 5, 2019 via mobile

Our family had the most wonderful, memorable experiences with Red Travel and their top notch staff, who came recommended to us by a friend who enjoyed a weeklong tour with them in 2018. We began with a daylong adventure to the UNESCO site Isla Espiritu and the resident colony of sea lions. It was both fascinating and educational. Such playful creatures! Once we had our fill we were whisked off to a private beach for lunch, including the best ceviche we’ve ever tasted. A little lounging, a bit more snorkeling, and cervezas on the scenic ride back to La Paz. Pretty much the best day ever. Captain Mario and guide Andrea showed us such a good time, in fact, we were hesitant to book the whale shark excursion, because there was no way it could possibly match our first day out. But we did, and the second snorkel was, in the opinion of our kids (11 and 10) even better. Jumping in with a BIG shark was really intimidating at first, but our guide Dany took our youngest in hand and immediately put her at ease. It was breathtaking, swimming with this magnificent animal. These two adventures were the highlights of our trip to Baja Sur, and the price was very fair for experiences we will remember for the rest of our lives. A note to anyone staying in Todos Santos - it’s an easy drive over, about 75 minutes, and there are paid parking lots for 50-100 pesos just a block off the harbor. Thank you Red Travel for the happy memories!

Date of experience: March 2019
Thank 129erinj
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Reviewed April 2, 2019

My review is based on a full week of activities planned with Red. What do you want in a guide service:
1. Great, experienced guides who speak excellent English and know the terrain? Check.
2. Very respectful of the environment in all possible ways? Check.
3. Check in with you to make sure things are going well? Check.
4. Are connective to a non-profit foundation that works in the communities they live in? Check.
5. Local knowledge of everything from wildlife and flora to the best places to eat? Check.

In short, these folks are everything you want in a guide service, and I can say this from having used guides around the world!

Date of experience: March 2019
2  Thank jjo
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Reviewed March 30, 2019 via mobile

Thank you to Red for an unforgettable experience swimming alongside these awesome creatures. Just...wow.

Seba and Captain Mario were perfectly wondrous guides. Both were obviously conservation-minded, and we learned from them all day long (we didn't "make the first list" into the WS area at 9, so we took a side trip to snorkel at a lighthouse first, and then had lunch at a secluded natural area).

Highly recommend these folks if you're in La Paz and wanna do something amazing!

Date of experience: March 2019
2  Thank Sean R
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Reviewed March 19, 2019

I traveled to La Paz and Los Cabos with Red Travel over 2019 President’s Day Weekend. The entire staff and guides (Chris, Salwa, Dany, and Ale) are wonderful and made my experience very enjoyable! The weather did not cooperate for the planned itinerary, but Chris did extra planning for alternative trips that were fantastic (highly recommend day trip to Sierra de la Laguna to meet local ranchers and family). I really appreciate the hard work, fun loving and kindness of the Red Travel team. I plan to travel again with them to see Gray Whales next year! Thank you

Date of experience: February 2019
1  Thank Curtis L
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Reviewed March 16, 2019 via mobile

This was everything I expected and more...our captain Tony was great at finding whalesharks, and our guide Eric gets top marks- he helped me keep up when I couldn't swim fast enough to keep up, and was extremely knowledgeable and friendly. Can't say enough about how fantastic the whole experience was.

Date of experience: March 2019
1  Thank Mara Q
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
View more reviews