We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice location, poor service”
Review of Hotel Marina

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hotel Marina
Ranked #32 of 39 Hotels in La Paz
San Diego, California
Level 4 Contributor
14 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Nice location, poor service”
Reviewed November 25, 2012

Good things: nice location (right at the marina) you can enjoy a pretty sunset hearing the boats on the dock. Quiet neighborhood, safe to walk around.

Bad (and terrible) things: I checked in when housekeeping still doing my room and since they rush her my room was nasty! The moment i took off my shoes i notice the floor was super dirty and the moment i walked in the bathroom i found it beyond dirty!! Service at their restaurant is very lack as well, staff is very rude are not service oriented. Bed was very uncomfortable.

The only attentive person was the reservations lady!

Room Tip: Rooms at the end of the hall are more private.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank PatitoAngelito
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

138 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    17
    49
    45
    16
    11
See reviews for
29
48
6
12
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (30)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Sikeston, MO
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed October 11, 2012

My family and I stayed at the Hotel Marina for one night while visiting the beautiful beaches of La Paz. The room was well furnished and spacious. We got a suite with two double beds and a couch with sofa bed. The room had 2 tvs, but one was for watching cable tv and one was for playing video games only. The shower was nice and had hot water. The air conditioner was wonderful. We also had a refrigerator in our room which was great to store our drinks that we had had in the cooler all day. It was far from the city life, but we did not mind the drive into town. They had wifi but it was horrible and we could never connect even after contacting the front desk and having them unplug and plug again the router.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank weezie97
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed July 23, 2012

It is about 8MIN drive away from downtown (50.00 pesos per trip for cab) not bad..nice and quiet.. Great service, at check in ask about promos that might include breakfast..definitely worth it!!!!

Excelente servicio, cuartos y hotel muy limpio, necesita taxi para el malecon, lugar tranquilo

  • Stayed May 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Alisz21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cork, Ireland
Level 5 Contributor
79 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
Reviewed July 9, 2012

Good clean hotel for a short stay, nice location on the marina but it is quite a walk from the main town area and one really needs the use of a car. The grounds are well kept and the pool is adequate and there is also a hot tub. The restuarant is limited but more than adequate for breakfast etc. It is reasonably priced in comparrison to the surrounding accomodation on offer and the rooms are comfortable and well kept. Good option for a three or four day stay as a base to tour the surrounding countryside.

Room Tip: One of the higher floors is a good defence to mosquitoes due to its location on the sea front
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank James O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego, California
Level 4 Contributor
31 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed June 29, 2012

Over the years I've stayed in every hotel in La Paz that one wouldn't need an updated tetanus shot before sleeping in. This is a 3 star hotel in a town full of 2 star places. Given the current overall state of accommodations in the city the Marina should be at least #4 or #5. We stayed in the Master Suite which is a cut above, however all the rooms looked nicely appointed and clean. Yes it's older & the pool could be cleaner, but that describes 90% of all properties in La Paz. The only true 4 star experience is the Costa Baja resort. My issue with that property is that most of the time it is way overpriced with its nicer amenities reserved for the condo owners. When you factor in the location, price, & overall experience - The Marina is one of the better choices in town.

Room Tip: The Master Suites have private balcony's with the best views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank BCSguy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colorado
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed May 3, 2012

We decided to try this hotel as we liked the location, on the Palmira Marina, but oh no, never again! The room was filthy, and we requested to be moved. The pool wasn't heated, and was cloudy, which we were told would be remedied, but wasn't in the five days we were there! The lush landscape that we had seen from a previous trip was being watered with "grey water" which apparently isn't sewer water, but it sure smelled like it-yuck! To top off this wonderful trip to Hades, there was a group of car racers staying at the hotel who were revving their engines starting at 5am after they had partied in the parking lot outside our room until about 2am. Calls to the front desk did nothing. We were so glad to get out of there-it really ruined our vacation. One more thing-the food in the restaurant was AWFUL-greasy and congealed eggs and beans for the breakfast buffet.

Room Tip: Stay somewhere else!
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank ColoradoKristina
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these La Paz hotels

Regina,Sask. Canada
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed April 23, 2012

We stayed at the marina with our friends who have their yacht in a slip there, the atmosphere was very nice it was quiet ans felt safe at all times. The services at the marina were plentiful, nice restaurants, laundry service and mini-mart. The pool area was beautiful as was the beach. we spent a day out on the sea of cortez and did some deep sea fishing saw dolphins, mantarays and many sea lions. Would certainly recommend this marina.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Joanne075
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these La Paz hotels
0.2 mi away
City Express La Paz
City Express La Paz
#14 of 39 in La Paz
126 reviews
0.6 mi away
Club El Moro
Club El Moro
#11 of 39 in La Paz
171 reviews
0.2 mi away
Araiza Palmira
Araiza Palmira
#24 of 39 in La Paz
85 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.5 mi away
Hyatt Place La Paz
Hyatt Place La Paz
#2 of 39 in La Paz
510 reviews
8.8 mi away
Hotel Paradise Pasion La Paz
1.7 mi away
Hotel Perla
Hotel Perla
#9 of 39 in La Paz
240 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Marina? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Marina

Property: Hotel Marina
Address: Calle Bahia Pichilingue km 2.5 | Fracc. Lomas de Palmira, La Paz 23010, Mexico
Location: Mexico > Baja California > Baja California Sur > La Paz
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Spa Hotel in La Paz
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Marina 3*
Number of rooms: 89
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Cancelon, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Marina reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Marina Hotel La Paz

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing