We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“How much a restaurant can change in just a year”

Palermo's Steakhouse
Ranked #31 of 295 Restaurants in La Paz
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $10 - $30
Cuisines: Italian, Steakhouse
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Business meetings, Romantic, Large groups
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Accepts American Express, Accepts Discover, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Delivery, Digital Payments, Free Off-Street Parking, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Private Dining, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Street Parking, Takeout, Valet Parking, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: Palermo's steakhouse is the finest in la paz. A true 5 star resturant. Our menu features only the finest in usda prime steaks. Rack of lamb, buffalo, baby back pork ribs, lobsters, baked duck, pasta, and the fresh local seafood fro our own sea of cortez. Our wine room is the largest and finest in the entire baja. We feature over 150 varieties of wine in our underground cellar and 1,000 bottles in our sport bar / cava
Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“How much a restaurant can change in just a year”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 27, 2013

The first time I went here for dinner with friends, a year ago, I was impressed by everything, the sharpness of the place, the washrooms so clean you could have eaten off the floor, and the meal was generous and delicious. But this time it was like a different place, the washrooms were odorous and unclean, the food while well prepared was no longer abundant but tight, and came with nothing. I had to order and pay for everything. Th waiter was pleasant but arrogant and inattentive with 'tats' emblazoning all over. And if all that was not enough, they over charged me on the bill. When I pointed it out they said that was the actual price but the menu had not yet been updated. Would you ever eat here again if yo had a similar experience?

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Phil R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

176 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    91
    49
    15
    9
    12
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
La Paz, Baja California Sur, Mexico
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Unique dining experience”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 24, 2013

Chef Alesandro does a great job serving your meal exactly the way you want it. He will make changes to the meal and add to satisfy.

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Jerry L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Simi Valley, California
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
“Disappointment !!!!”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 15, 2013

Quality, portions,change of menu,no oysters Rockefeller, just not the same. Change of ownership ??? I go there once a month from Los Angeles maybe less maybe more. I'll give it one more try in July. Will have another review

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Lapaz007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nashville, Tennessee
Level Contributor
42 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Huge disappointment!”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 5, 2013

This was once one of the most highly regarded restaurants in La Paz, but it does not merit accolades any more. The ownership, management and staff have changed. The night we were there, the place was almost empty. Our young waiter was eager to please, but had little notion of what the job entailed. It seems the wine cellar has been emptied, as several selections for a bottle of fine wine could not be filled. One, an expensive Cabernet/Syrah blend, prompted the manager to recommend blending a cheap Mexican cab with a cheap Mexican Syrah to achieve the same taste! When we settled for their Mexican house wine, the first had a truly offensive odor and taste. The second bottle of the same was passable. After an hour we got our food, most of it (I never got my salad.) My dorado was delicious—the only positive of the dinner—but others at the table were terribly disappointed and ate little of their meals. I paid with American Express, one of the few times it had left my sight that trip. Several days later American Express notified me of several thousand dollars worth of suspected fraudulent online orders. Perhaps it was just a coincidence, but there are plenty of other reasons to avoid this place.

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank oldwoodie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Silverthorne, CO
Level Contributor
141 reviews
62 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“Classy seaside restaurant”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 31, 2013

Excellent fish dish and lasagna. restaurant has both inside and open air dining across from the beach along Alvaro Boregon. Recommended

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
Thank rettwav8r
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Palermo's Steakhouse also viewed

La Paz, Baja California Sur
 
La Paz, Baja California Sur
La Paz, Baja California Sur
 
La Paz, Baja California Sur
La Paz, Baja California Sur
 

Been to Palermo's Steakhouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing