We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Inexpensive accommodation in central location” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Pension California

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in La Paz
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Pension California
Ranked #25 of 40 Hotels in La Paz
Rio de Janeiro, RJ
Level Contributor
107 reviews
100 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 170 helpful votes
“Inexpensive accommodation in central location”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 30, 2012

The hostel is located within walking distance to the bus terminal. It is basically in the city center. This is an old and quite run down building. It had nice courtyard with many seating areas for socializing. There was also a very simple kitchen in the outside area. It was not very well equipped.
My room and all other areas were quite basic and relatively clean. My room had fairly comfortable bed, ceiling fan and small private bathroom. There was no hot water but it didn’t matter. It was so hot that the warmish-cold water was refreshing. My room looked like it has not been painted for years or maybe a decade. The outside had fresh paint and nice bright colors.
The staff was extremely nice and helpful. One person spoke English.
This was an old, cheap but good hostel. It was fine for a couple of nights.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
8 Thank povetron
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

31 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    7
    12
    8
    4
    0
See reviews for
Families
0
10
6
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Sofia, Bulgaria
Level Contributor
19 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 28, 2012

This is may be the strangest place I have ever been. The bathroom was really a disaster. There was no hot water at all, yes it was hot anyway so a cold shower was really refreshing

The rooms dont have windows, the beds are made of concrete and the matress is put on it. The wardrobe was made also of concrete, actually all the furniture in the room was made of concrete, that was really strange. We did not use the kitchen but it didnt look very nice. The staff at the reception was very nice and very helpful. They helped us to organise several day trips,

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
10 Thank neshto
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these La Paz hotels

Noumea, New Caledonia
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 27, 2012

cheap hostel in the center ! Rooms looks like a warehouse but it's ok !

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Benito G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
King City, Canada
Level Contributor
19 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 4, 2012

Close to bus station.
Water is shut off after 11.
Pay phone did not work

  • Stayed January 2012
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Gerard B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
156 reviews
109 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 203 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 30, 2012

This hostel and the Convento hostel around the corner are owned by the same man. They are virtually the same but the price for Pension California was 10 pesos more! It is well located, has a lot of communal seating and was very social. It has an outdoor 'kitchen' which is really a gas 4 ring burner and no decent crockery or cutlery, lacking in pots and utensils. We did cook but unless you have your own things it is quite difficult. There is a fridge as well. The staff have a microwave in the office. We made some new friends but it is such a shame that the owner takes no interest in sorting out the kitchen and upgrading the tv to satellite. The hot water is switched on for a couple of hours in the morning and evening. It's not always switched on on time and is hit and miss that you get a hot shower. Our room was a bit chilly too. A good place to stay to meet other travellers but it needs some more care and investment to make it a really good hostel.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank geronimoturtle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Staunton, Virginia, United States
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 17, 2011

great place to meet fellow hostelers....if you are hosteling best place in la plaz..great place to spend christman...i have spent three christmas's here...will miss not spending this christman..the management if very friendly and helpfull..for the money it is the best..as you can see i love this place
dog friendly
joann loring and rastaman my beloved dog
i left the spirt of my beloved pounddog there
look for our picture in the lobby

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank M Joann L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Level Contributor
108 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 91 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 8, 2011

My Girlfriend and I were staying at another hotel in the city, but it was not within our budget. We then searched the following day for something within our price range and Pension California was it! The places is very charming and close to it all. You have the Mercado (Market) around the corner and some great taco stands. Go around the block, across the Mercado, for some great and well priced beef tacos. There is lady who does it right with the seasoning! We seen a great variety of interesting people and met a few too! If your on a budget and are not expecting 5 star or even 4 star, then this is it!

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank joelarias
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these La Paz hotels
1.0 mi away
Hotel Quinta Lolita
Hotel Quinta Lolita
#35 of 40 in La Paz
3.5 of 5 bubbles 21 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Perla
Hotel Perla
#9 of 40 in La Paz
3.5 of 5 bubbles 223 reviews
0.4 mi away
Seven Crown La Paz Centro
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Seven Crown Malecon
Seven Crown Malecon
#15 of 40 in La Paz
3.5 of 5 bubbles 128 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel One La Paz
Hotel One La Paz
#5 of 40 in La Paz
4.5 of 5 bubbles 340 reviews
0.8 mi away
Posada LunaSol Hotel
Posada LunaSol Hotel
#4 of 40 in La Paz
4.5 of 5 bubbles 328 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Pension California? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pension California

Property: Pension California
Address: Avenida Santos Degollado 209, La Paz 23300, Mexico
Location: Mexico > Baja California > Baja California Sur > La Paz
Hotel Style:
Ranked #25 of 40 Hotels in La Paz
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 25
Also Known As:
Pension California Hotel La Paz

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing