We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Open today: 12:00 AM - 11:59 PM
Save
Review Highlights
Baja Highlight

My family - myself, husband and 2 teenagers - took two day trips with Mar y Aventuras in late... read more

Reviewed 2 weeks ago
Katja H
wonderful adventure

We had such a good time 3 years ago camping on Espiritu Santo with Mar y Aventuras we decided to... read more

Reviewed 2 weeks ago
simonofsonoma
,
sonoma
Read all 547 reviews
  
Recommended experiences in and around La Paz
from $330.60
More Info
from $110.00
More Info
from $330.60
More Info
Reviews (547)
Filter reviews
547 results
Traveler rating
509
24
8
3
3
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
509
24
8
3
3
Show reviews that mention
All reviews mar y aventuras island hopping posada lunasol magdalena bay happy hour kayak trip island hopper whale watching hotel posada base camp chef martin quick getaway wonderful trip spent nights night trip fish natural history
Filter
Updating list...
46 - 51 of 547 reviews
Reviewed February 21, 2018 via mobile

Booking my 9-day Best of Baja tour was a fantastic decision. Everything flowed beautifully. Lots to do but never rushed. The first, middle and final nights at Posada LunaSol made for a cozy home base with appreciated hot showers and comfort. The two base camps are in ideal locations. It was glamping at its best with amazing meals. My gluten free needs were perfectly attended to. Snorkeling, kayaking, hiking, whale watching....all of the transportation and quality equipment in the right place at the right time. Everyday contained a new “highlight” of my trip. I am super pleased with the friendly and skilled staff of Mar y Aventuras.”

Date of experience: February 2018
Thank Carlyq2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Outfitter, Owner at Sea & Adventures, responded to this reviewResponded February 23, 2018

Dear Guest,
We can't thank you enough for choosing to travel with us for your Best of Baja Tour! Reading this account of your experience with everything from the food, locations of the camps, exciting "highlights" and our wonderful staff brings great joy to all of us. This is what we strive for....to create quality lasting memories for your hard earned vacation days!
We greatly appreciate your patronage and your time in posting this lovely review for others to read here on TA.
All the best,
Mary & Ricardo

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 18, 2018

We took the same wonderful trip as hikingirl from Kansas City. This organization is extremely well organized....everything was perfect. Even the portable toilets were kept immaculate! Loved the comfy cots...really beds at Isla Espiritu Santos...in the large tents on the beach. We are sleep on the ground campers, so this was luxurious! Marco and Angelito are both from La Paz and have vast knowledge and love of the area. I have some fears and both guides helped me feel totally safe at all times. Loved Marco’s stories of exploring the islands with his family as a small boy, and was awed by his knowledge of the stars. We petted both baby gray whales and their mothers as we sang for them to come close, snorkeled with sea lions and right over a whale shark, had great kayaking trips, and explored a beach with much archeology. The food was great as were the cocktails and snacks. Loved, loved, loved this trip! Oh, and we had a great group! Don’t hesitate to sign up!

Date of experience: February 2018
Thank X5423GCcaroll
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Outfitter, Owner at Sea & Adventures, responded to this reviewResponded February 20, 2018

Dear Guest,
THANKS, THANKS, THANKS! Your review is a lovely tribute to our company and our wonderful staff! We really appreciate you mentioning how our guides are locals from La Paz and how much that added to your experience. In the true spirit of Eco-tourism we've worked hard over the years to recruit and train local guides to support the local community and provide our guests with an authentic, safe and professional experience.
We are so glad you enjoyed everything about our Best of Baja Tour including the accommodations at our remote camps, food and extraordinary wildlife experiences of petting gray whales and snorkeling with whale sharks and sea lions. Thanks so much for choosing to travel with us in Baja and for sharing your lovely comments here on TA.
Cheers,
Mary & Ricardo

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 13, 2018 via mobile

Amazing guide, Eloise. Fantastic yoga instructor Susie and wellness coach Emily. I highly recommend this tour. Nature, grey whales, glamping and feeling like we were in another world. Rancho Cacachilas is a must see and the food in all the camps was better than any of the restaurants we frequented. The accommodations at the camps was decadent, the hotel quaint and cosy and the staff very friendly and helpful. Oh whoops don’t forget the daily yoga and mindfulness as well as an excellent facial and aromatherapy session during the trip. Thanks so much for a very memorable vacation

Date of experience: February 2018
Thank Teri6023
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Outfitter, Owner at Sea & Adventures, responded to this reviewResponded February 15, 2018

Dear Guest,
WOW! You sound truly refreshed after 12 days enjoying 3 of our different camps (whale watching, sea kayaking and mountainous ranch) on our unique wellness tour! We are thrilled you enjoyed our guide Eloisa and the talented ladies from Colibri Retreats who brought the wellness to this comprehensive tour. We hope to offer more of these in the future so stay tuned everyone....
Thanks so much for taking the time to share your comments here on TA and for choosing to travel with us in Baja!
Cheers,
Mary & Ricardo

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 9, 2018

We had a great experience on the Best of Baja excursion. We saw or swam with whale sharks, sea lions (rookery, dads mamas and babies), dolphins and more gray whales and babies than I ever imagined. All of the staff was great! The chefs prepared fabulous meals and happy hours and the camps were set up perfectly and kept up every day. The clincher was the fabulous guide, Marco and his "sidekick" Angelito. They went above and beyond to make our trip what we wanted. They shared wonderful information about the land, the ocean life and ancient people. We even got a bonus "star talk" on a beautiful clear night.

Date of experience: January 2018
Thank hikinggirl2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Outfitter, Owner at Sea & Adventures, responded to this reviewResponded February 11, 2018

Dear Guest,
What a beautiful account of your Best of Baja Tour with us! It truly makes what we do all worth while to read how much our clients enjoy sharing what we love about Baja!
Thanks for mentioning all the highlights of this amazing trip and our wonderful guides Marco & Angelito by name.
We can't thank you enough for choosing us for your Baja adventure and for posting you comments here on TA.
All the best to you on all your future travels,
Cheers,
Mary & Ricardo

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 8, 2018 via mobile

I can’t say enough about how wonderful this trip was! We did it 4 years ago and had such a great experience that we wanted to do it again. They surpassed our expectations. We really want to return with the whole family. Everything about this trip is special, well planned with fantastic guides, chefs, & staff.
We arrived at Posada Luna Sol (a lovely hotel in La Paz ) had a nice evening and good breakfast at the hotel, then went to Espiritu Santo Island for two nights of glamping. Swam with whale sharks and sea lions , came back to camp for happy hour & a delicious dinner. The beauty of the place is fantastic. We snorkeled, kayaked & were taken such good care of. Our guide was Eloisa, & she was great. Our trip coordinators, Emily & Susie, planned the whole trip perfectly. We had option meditation & yoga every day. Everything was available without pressure & low key. We returned to the hotel for a night then went to Magdalena bay for 3 amazing nights of glamping. We could hear the whales breathing from our tents. We even got an amazing spa experience with facials and massage. It was the experience of a lifetime. We got to go out by boat among more whales then I could count and even saw mamas & babies & got to pet them. Truly incredible! Back to the hotel then to two nights in the mountains for locally made wine & cheese tasting. I would highly recommend this trip to anyone.

Date of experience: February 2018
Thank Cdelite
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Outfitter, Owner at Sea & Adventures, responded to this reviewResponded February 10, 2018

Dear Guest,
Thanks for returning with us to participate in this unique and special wellness oriented tour! We are so thankful to Colibri Retreats for co-running this trip with us once again. We believe the combination of these beautiful remote areas fits perfectly with yoga, meditation, facials and massages. We hope to offer more of these in the future so stay tuned....
We greatly appreciate your choosing to join us again in Baja and for taking the time to post this lovely review on TA.
We can't wait to host all your family.
All the best,
Mary & Ricardo

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews