We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“An oasis near downtown la Paz with great food and amazing hospitality!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Hacienda Paraiso de La Paz Bed and Breakfast/Inn
Ranked #2 of 28 La Paz B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Reviewed February 28, 2011

My husband and I stayed at Hacienda Paraiso for 4 nights in November 2010 during our "babymoon" in Mexico. The owners, Richard and Gloria, couldn't be more nice or more helpful and made us feel welcome right away. In fact, they even upgraded us to a room with a bigger bed because I was pregnant. Our room was very clean, comfortable and charming and the courtyard was absolutely gorgeous. We didn't swim in the pool because it was a bit chilly, but it looked very inviting. The traditional Mexican breakfasts are delicious. We especially loved the homemade flour tortillas, which were "melt in your mouth" yummy! We spent most days hanging at the beach and swimming in the clear, aquamarine Sea of Cortez. Lovely Playa Balandra was our favorite beach and is a 30-minute drive from Haciendo Paraiso. The highlight of our time in La Paz was a day-long boat trip to Espirtu Santo Island. Richard was our captain and tour guide with his comfy boat. We spent an hour snorkeling with playful sea lions (amazing!) and on the way back we stopped to swim in a few of the islands coves - we had the crystal clear water all to ourselves! Upon our return, Richard served us his famous ceviche! A stay at Hacienda Paraiso is definitely a "bed and breakfast" experience. We had a nice time chatting with the other guests and Richard and Gloria during breakfast. During this time we got a lot of great travel tips and advice. It is only about 5-10 minutes via car to the Malecon and it was no problem to drive there and park for dinner and for our sunset walks along seaside walkway. Some restaurant recommendations include Rancho Viejo for amazing meat and fish tacos. For a romantic and “foodie” dinner, you MUST go to Las Tres Virgenes, which has a great selection of Mexican wine and delicious Mexican fusion cuisine. We also enjoyed the views, quesadillas, palomas and guacamole at Tailhunter! We can’t wait to return.

  • Stayed: November 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SFBayJess
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
haciendaparaiso, Owner at Hacienda Paraiso de La Paz Bed and Breakfast/Inn, responded to this reviewResponded November 9, 2011

Hey guys! Do we know how to take care of pregnant women or what? It was fun having you and discussing the various ecol;ogical issues affecting our world.All the wonderful places are here awaiting to accommodate your taste buds .It's gratifying to see so many "Bay Area" people discovering Hacienda Paraiso and the BAJA. Keep coming down.
Richard and Gloria

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (434)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

328 - 334 of 435 reviews

Reviewed February 27, 2011

Dearest Gloria Laura and Richard

Thank you so very much for your kindness and warm welcoming during my too brief stay at your wonderful Hacienda.

You were incredibly thoughtful. I remain amazed at your generosity - particularly your offer of the trip to Todos Santos to see the whales, the beach the town and the artists.
Wow.
You treated me like a true friend for which I am ever so grateful.
It was a joy to meet you and your son. His smile warms the heart as do you two.
Meeting you, and staying with you was the highlight of my Baja adventure.
The memory warms my heart.

Wish I had the words to express my gratitude and appreciation for you. I felt such comfort in your company.

Your are a blessing in this world.

Your Friend
Barbara

  • Stayed: February 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank portland11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
haciendaparaiso, Owner at Hacienda Paraiso de La Paz Bed and Breakfast/Inn, responded to this reviewResponded November 9, 2011

When we meet a person such as you, we feel the Hacienda Paraiso was a perfect choice for us. It is hard to describe how much pleasure we derrive from helping someone enjoy to the fullest the time allowed them to stay with us, one day or three weeks. We relish this as an opportunity
and a challenge and indeed an obligation to you. This is how we would like to be treated when
travelling. And to have you call us friends is the icing on the cake. Stay well and come back soon.
Your friends...Richard and Gloria

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 25, 2011

We had planned on only staying a night or two, but after talking to the owners of this beautiful bed and breakfast we ended up staying there the 6 nights. We were delighted with how informative and helpful Gloria and Richard were, sending us out on day trips to some of the most exciting beaches . We also took several day trips to near by small towns to observe the whales and enjoy the art galleries there. The weather was beautiful, of coarse.I enjoyed the breakfast conversations, as the owners have a plethora of useful and interesting tips and stories. The food , by the way,, excellent, and so filling that I didn't even think about eating again until early evening, so if you are not a big eater be sure to let them know,, but I wouldn't ! The room was just right, comfortable bed, clean facilities,peaceful and beautiful surrounds,, guess you can tell I really loved this place, along with the people. I can't wait to go back !

  • Stayed: February 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank weehawendylou
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
haciendaparaiso, Owner at Hacienda Paraiso de La Paz Bed and Breakfast/Inn, responded to this reviewResponded November 10, 2011

Thank you for your return visit and your words of praise. As you know, we feel that like everything we do, our breakfast has to be more than just a Ho-Hum breakfast. and filling enough to take you to dinner .This saves you money and avoids your stuffing yourself all day. I learned long ago what it felt like after eating three meals a day for a few days.You almost don't want to look at food anymore.We loved you too and think about your return with a smile on our faces.
Yours....Richard and Gloria

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 19, 2011

Our first welcoming encounter with Richard and Gloria who met us at their beautifully carved front door leading into their magical Hacienda Paraiso hideaway was just the beginning of what turned out to be best five days of our nine day tour of Baja California Sur. And it was Richard and Gloria who were almost wholly responsible for this.

I should say right here that the driving directions we downloaded from the Hacienda Paraiso website were perfect and we found the place with no difficulties.

After settling into our cozy but very comfortable room, Los Delphines, thoughtfully and delightfully decorated with visions from the sea, we were invited to sit outside in the wonderful garden compound. Besides the strikingly exquisite tile work in the pool there are sculptures by local artists, hummingbirds, an African grey parrot and the charming chihuahua named Nefertiti who will often choose your lap as the best seat in the house. We were offered drinks while we got to know our hosts, who were even more interested in getting to know us. This turned out to be exactly why our stay in La Paz was so perfect. As Gloria and Richard found out more about us, they began to suggest where might like to eat, what we might like to see and do and even who we might be interested in meeting in and around La Paz. They were the best concierges I’ve ever encountered anywhere bar none.

Gloria, I found out, is a self-taught artist. Her artwork and creative touches can be found all over Hacienda Paraiso. If this is your passion, she can point out the local artisans not to be missed. But more importantly, she is a warm, engaging, openhearted woman who obviously enjoys being the great hostess that she is. She is a real people person and if you are interested in knowing more about Mexican culture, the environs of La Paz and feel like you have been friends forever, Gloria is your woman.

Richard is a storyteller. And he is a fascinating guy. Ask him about his passion - fossils and seashells - and you won’t be sorry. His love for fishing and being on or near the sea is what brought him to Mexico and after finding his lovely Gloria on one of his first fishing trips to Baja, he followed his dream and together with Gloria, began to build Hacienda Paraiso. For us, he was the perfect host of a B & B, interesting, interested, and terrific tour guide, spotting us to the best beaches, best restaurants and best dive/snorkeling business.

And I would be remiss if I didn’t mention the marvelously creative Allie, our breakfast chef. Every morning there was a delicious Mexican hot dish (a different dish every day) to accompany the fresh fruit, yogurt, baked goods, hot coffee and tea. Her creativity was at her best when she managed to make my breakfast hot dish meat free. The breakfasts were so filling we often didn’t need to eat until dinnertime.

We love staying and B&B’s and have done so in many parts of the world. Each host and/or hostess has his or her personal style of managing. We were so taken with Richard and Gloria and their beautiful place we are already planning our next visit, hopefully before the end of the year.

  • Stayed: February 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ysp-ba
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
haciendaparaiso, Owner at Hacienda Paraiso de La Paz Bed and Breakfast/Inn, responded to this reviewResponded November 10, 2011

Thank you for writing the review exactly as i told you to do. Actually you really have a way with
words and I'm very happy that you expressed them. We love to hear them. WE truly are interested in you as a person and what your likes and dislikes are. WE want to be as helpful as possible without intruding on your private time. And sometimes we nail it on the head with our
suggestions.Our very first guests were Canadiens and just needed their two weeks just to unwind and read,have margaritas by the infinity pool and enjoy the sun. I guess when you are a research neuroscientist, stopping the brain from running is what you need. They loved it, we loved it and they came back the following year for 17 days and brought friends. A perfect vacation is whatever is perfect for you. That is why we enjoy engaging in conversation when appropriate.We want to know how we can assist you in getting the most from your time in LaPaz .You also never know what kind of great info you can glean from a neuroscientist. At any rate,
we wil be waiting for you to come back for a repeat act. You guys were a super-pleasure to have as guests. More new friends...what can I say. thanx
Gloria and Richard

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 12, 2011

We were two couples that came to La Paz to enjoy Mexico and meet our sailing friends who were docked in La Paz. Prior to booking there our friends visited and evaluated the rooms for us. On the second day of our nine day stay we all arrived prior to lunch to sit outside on the patio and enjoy ourselves. At this time we were the only guests staying here. Upon our arrival Richard came out of his home and advised us that guests were not allowed on his property. He told us this was a strict rule and when I offered to pay him extra so our friends could sit outside with us, he refused. We were never advised of this rule and it isn't listed in their literature. This had a very negative effect on our trip. I understand now why they demand cash payment upfront. We would have left. I am still unsure of all of Richards "Rules". I suggest you itemize all of your needs prior to staying here and get an agreement ahead of time, so you won't be disappointed.

  • Stayed: February 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
8  Thank Don S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
haciendaparaiso, Owner at Hacienda Paraiso de La Paz Bed and Breakfast/Inn, responded to this reviewResponded February 14, 2011

Frankly, I am really shocked by what you have to say, but it only affirms what some of our wonderful guests have said to me, "There will come the time when no matter how gracious and nice you are, someone will come and, nothing you will say or do will satisfy them"
We are so sorry that your anger and reluctance to follow some basic accepted rules, didn't allow you to enjoy your 9 days of vacation despite all our efforts to try to accomodate you as much as we could!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 9, 2011

Richard and Gloria were very accommodating and helpful during our stay. Their hacienda is beautifully done, quite, and peaceful. We especially enjoyed watching their pet turtle devour a monstrous salad! Thank you for a wonderful stay!

  • Stayed: January 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MountainFlower77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
haciendaparaiso, Owner at Hacienda Paraiso de La Paz Bed and Breakfast/Inn, responded to this reviewResponded November 10, 2011

Thanks for taking the time to write a review. We are pleased that your stay was so enjoyable and look forward to a new experience with you someday soon. Until then our very best.
Gloria and Richard

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 20, 2011

This B&B is a beautiful palce with a very relaxing setting. The breakfast was different every day and absolutely delicious. The owners, Richard and Gloria, were very gracious and accommodating. They went above and beyond in providing assistance to meet our travel needs and contribute to our enjoyment of the area in and around La Paz.

Stayed: January 2011, traveled with family
Thank Travel012011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
haciendaparaiso, Owner at Hacienda Paraiso de La Paz Bed and Breakfast/Inn, responded to this reviewResponded November 10, 2011

We thank you for taking time to give us this thoughtful review.We can only say that when the days up in Wisconsin get a little too much, come down and pay us a visit and chat some more.
Richard and Gloria

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these La Paz hotels
0.1 mi away
La Posada Hotel & Beach Club
1.4 mi away
Hotel HBlue
Hotel HBlue
#1 of 39 in La Paz
205 reviews
5.5 mi away
Hyatt Place La Paz
Hyatt Place La Paz
#3 of 39 in La Paz
566 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Posada LunaSol Hotel
Posada LunaSol Hotel
#6 of 39 in La Paz
341 reviews
1.9 mi away
El Angel Azul Hacienda
El Angel Azul Hacienda
#4 of 28 in La Paz
292 reviews
5.5 mi away
CostaBaja Resort & Spa
CostaBaja Resort & Spa
#5 of 39 in La Paz
715 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hacienda Paraiso de La Paz Bed and Breakfast/Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hacienda Paraiso de La Paz Bed and Breakfast/Inn

Address: Calle de Las Rosas # 300 | Fracc. La Posada, La Paz 23090, Mexico (Formerly Hacienda Paraiso de La Paz)
Phone Number:
Location: Mexico > Baja California > Baja California Sur > La Paz
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 28 B&Bs / Inns in La Paz
Price Range: $111 - $172 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We are a peaceful and beautiful B&B/Inn/Small Hotel, decorated in Mexican style. Located 1 mile from the Malecon and one block from the beach, where you can start your mornings walking and admiring many types of birds catching their morning food or watching the most wonderful Sunsets in the evenings! We are dedicated to creating a memorable and treasured vacation in a safe, peaceful and secure atmosphere. After a wonderful day enjoying the sites of La Paz you can come HOME and sip a delicious Margarita and jump in the beautiful pool. Sit on the terrace and enjoy your freshly brewed coffee and delicious breakfast while sharing the beauty of our garden and different birds that fly by and sit on our palms. -WiFi FREE!-Secure Indoor Garage Parking-Infinity Pool-Purified Water at all times. All (No Smoking) Rooms-A/C-Fans-In-room Personal Security Safe-Refrigerator-Satellite TV-Clock/Radio-Hair Dryer. Shampoo and conditioner - Beach Towels - Complete Breakfast - Kitchenettes. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Hacienda Paraiso de La Paz Bed and Breakfast/Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hacienda Paraiso De La Paz Hotel La Paz

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing