We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Like Home away from Home. We miss it already”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Hacienda Paraiso de La Paz Bed and Breakfast/Inn
Ranked #2 of 25 La Paz B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Oakland
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Like Home away from Home. We miss it already”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 1, 2013

La Paz and our stay at the Hacienda Paraiso de la Paz was what makes a truly memorable experience, and an exciting yet totally relaxing vacation.
Richard & Gloria share their love of the area with their guests, and gladly share information to make your stay the best, whether it's to recommend the best snorkeling/scuba diving operator (and Marlin Adventures was one of the best run companies for sea adventures I've ever tried) to local restaurants, ice creameries, driving directions to the best beaches, road trips, shopping areas, and so forth). The rooms were comfy and quiet, and it was the personal touches that made you feel like an all important guest.
Amenities such as a safe and refrigerator were all there. No details were missed. The only improvement I could suggest was a new and different shower head that provides a slightly improved water flow in the bathroom. In spite of this, I'd have to give the Hacienda Paraiso a five star ranking for the overall experience. It's the kind of place that makes you want to go back again and again. Kudos also to all of their staff that assisted in carrying luggage up to the rooms, cooking breakfast, and so forth. Wonderful times and wonderful place, and now we have wonderful memories! Thank you so much.

Neil from Oakland.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Neil R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HaciendaParaiso, Owner at Hacienda Paraiso de La Paz Bed and Breakfast/Inn, responded to this review, November 2, 2013
Thanks so much for your wonderful and thoughtful comments. Gloria and I are so happy to have hosted your stay and to know that you are taking away such nice memories. And its also special for me that so many Bay Area folks coming down to share in the beauty of the Hacienda and La Paz. Our staff will be happy to hear of your generous comments. We appreciate your feed-back and urge our guests to tell us if we could do something to improve our service or add to their experience at the Hacienda. Over the years we have rarely received this valuable commentary.

We are in a paradise and want this to last for many years, But as a desert "paradise", we are constantly in a give and take with mother nature. Just as we have begun to recycle plastics and cans (the desert cannot support our trash), we have added 5 gallon purified water jugs strategically placed for refilling plastic bottles), to help eliminate unnecessary waste. Because we lack a reservoir system, which could help replace the water used from our aquifier, the water agency has asked us to help conserve our water by the addition of water restrictors on shower -heads. We feel it is only responsible of us to comply. But as you know there is no restriction on time use. I thank you for your comment.

We loved having you and hope that you will come to see us again soon. There are many additional sights to see and exciting opportunities to explore and we await your return. Stay well until next time, best of everything, Richard and Gloria Laura
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

425 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    399
    21
    2
    0
    3
See reviews for
72
262
26
9
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (77)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Oregon
Level Contributor
35 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 31, 2013

Always good when the owners are there to greet you and always available to help you. Gloria and Richard went out of their way to ensure the our La Paz stay was the best it could be. Of course, the location is good (short drive/feasible walk to the La Paz boardwalk), the room and grounds were comfortable and clean, the breakfast was wonderful and the in-garage parking an added bonus. But what sets this apart from other quality bed and breakfasts was the personal touch the owners provide. It's obvious Gloria and Richard will spend as little or as much time with you as you want--providing the information you need to maximize your experience in the La Paz area and/or just conversing so you can get a better lay of the local land. Everything good at the Hacienda Paraiso.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BobfromOregon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HaciendaParaiso, Owner at Hacienda Paraiso de La Paz Bed and Breakfast/Inn, responded to this review, October 31, 2013
Thank you so much for your splendid review. Even now I still hold my breath a little bit when I know a well-travelled, well-seasoned reviewer such as yourself will be writing our review. We are so glad the two of you , whom we enjoyed hosting so much , had such an enjoyable stay and that we were able to help you to maximize your time with us. Of course we remain hopeful that when the urge to seek the sun arises once, that we will be seeing our new friends once more and having the privilege of suggesting new places for you both to explore. Until then stay well and please remember us once in awhile. Richard and Gloria Laura
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego, California
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 30, 2013

Well what can we say about our favorite hideaway in La Paz - it's simply the best!

Another weekend getaway allowed us to enjoy one of the best places south of our border. Even though we're only there for the weekend, we just love coming to Hacienda Paraiso and visiting our Baja "home away from home."

As always the rooms and grounds are spotless, the Hacienda is always inviting and our hosts Gloria Laura and Richard are so gracious and a pleasure to see. Each time they seem to remember I'm vegetarian and always cook up the most delicious breakfast. You truly feel like you are in their home as a guest and friend.

We rented a vehicle like before and really enjoy the freedom it affords us. There's just so much to explore outside the town that we feel its really a necessity if you want to get the full flavor of the area.

This time Richard and Gloria Laura suggested we visit Bahía de Los Muertos for our outside excursion. Since we had already gone to Todos Santos on our previous visit (and loved it!), and visited Espiritu Santos (an absolute must!) it was nice to have more places to put on checklist.

And what a treat it was! Completely deserted when we arrived - we had the beautiful bay and beach all to ourselves. We snorkeled and had drinks at the palapa bar while we watched the fishermen and their boats pull into shore in the afternoon. We watched Marlin and Dorado get sliced and diced right on the shore as the pelican and seagulls challeged eachother for the remains. While a drive to get to it was completely worth it as we also stopped in El Triunfo on the way back and really enjoyed the historic town.

We already plan to return to Hacienda Paraiso in January! And this time will bring some friends to introduce them to our secret. This place does not disappoint! We can't wait to return and see our friends and Hacienda Paraiso!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank crystle797
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HaciendaParaiso, Owner at Hacienda Paraiso de La Paz Bed and Breakfast/Inn, responded to this review, October 31, 2013
As usual, you write a very compelling super-duper review and we are so thankful. We always look forward to your visits and you must be talking us up as we seem to be getting more and more folks from San Diego. We know you guys love the Hacienda and La Paz and we enjoy sending you to many different interesting day trip adventures. We have even added a day trip horse riding "thrill" for those wanting to go off the trail into the canyons. And we now have your dates for your next (fourth) visit and you are bringing friends with you. We certainly will do our best to help you show them a great vacation. Once again, we thank you for your wonderful review and we look with excitement to seeing you again and making some more delicious breakfasts for you both. Warmly, Richard and Gloria Laura
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
128 reviews
88 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 30, 2013

It is really like having a home in La Paz! A wonderful place stay, for relaxing and having a very good time thanks to Richard and Laurie, perfect hosts!
The Hacienda is very close to the Malecon of la Paz but away from the traffic and in a quiet area!
The place is really beutiful! A typical hacienda; the rooms face the pool and are very comfortable. The bathroom is decorated with the typical patterns of Mexican and rooms are equipped with air conditioning, fridge, safe box, complimentary water!
Unfortunately we spent only one night there but when we will be back to Baja we will visit the Hacienda again because we really had a wonderful time there thanks to the warm hospitality of Richard and Laurie! Thank you again for your warm hospitality, your friendly assistance and the delicious breakfast!

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank paolaimpe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HaciendaParaiso, Owner at Hacienda Paraiso de La Paz Bed and Breakfast/Inn, responded to this review, October 30, 2013
Gloria Laura and I want to thank you very much for your lovely review. Since we do not always take one- nighters, it was auspicious that we had room for you on such short notice and had a chance to meet such nice people. We understand that this was a trip designed to maximize varius towns visits and lodgings in the time allotted to be used as a guide for a future much more extensive trip. We do wish though , that after all that distance you travelled from Italy to visit the Baja, that we could spent more time with both of you. Since we only had you for one night, we couldn't suggest to you all (the many exciting things to do in La Paz or the many fascinating day trip adventures which make La Paz such a special place, and when you left, I wasn't sure whether you felt confident enough about writing a review for us or in which of your 5 spoken languages you would write one in (I'm always in awe of so many Europeans speaking multiple languages). Well at any rate, We felt like we had known you for much longer and the hugs and kisses were genuine at your departure. We are eagerly awaiting your return. We hope to see you soon. Warmest regards, Richard and Gloria Laura
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
tijuana
Level Contributor
14 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 17, 2013

Excellent accommodations to the last detail, a-m-a-z-i-n-g food, the staff is wonderful ( SUPER!!!!!!!!!!!) and always ready to assist, the location ideal . It's our two time here and we plan to visit again soon!

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank alemac7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HaciendaParaiso, Owner at Hacienda Paraiso de La Paz Bed and Breakfast/Inn, responded to this review, October 18, 2013
Thank you for your generous thoughts. We are so very fortunate to have many guests (new friends) who feel a return visit to Hacienda Paraiso is worthwhile. In our less than four years of existence, we have some guests return as many as four times. We are overjoyed that so many people appreciate the beauty and uniqueness of the hacienda. As I mentioned to you before you left, the Lonely Planet folks came by and were super impressed with Hacienda Paraiso and I think we will get top recommendation in their next guide. We loved our interactions with you both and miss our conversations. We await your next visit and more comraderie . The very best of everything for you and your family. Until then! Richard and Gloria Laura
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego, California
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 17, 2013

Hacienda Paraiso in La Paz, BCS. in Mexico is attended by it owners, Gloria and Richard. Who will do of your stay there a great experience. The place is beautiful, room very spacious and comfortable. Everything is around an amazing garden and pool. Breakfast is included; you will get a full breakfast, different one every day, cook on the spot with unlimited coffee and juice. This is a VERY IMPORTANT time in Hacienda Paraiso, because gives you the opportunity to talk and chat with Gloria and Richard in order to plan with them the activities you want to accomplish there. They will suggest places, tours, restaurants, etc. of where to go and do (In many cases with discount prices). The Hospitality from Gloria and Richard go far beyond any other place.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ignaciodel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HaciendaParaiso, Owner at Hacienda Paraiso de La Paz Bed and Breakfast/Inn, responded to this review, October 17, 2013
We thank you for your very nice review and I doubly appreciate your efforts to write it in English, not your native tongue. As returning guests, we are so pleased that you once again chose Hacienda Paraiso and I can say that Gloria Laura and I very much enjoyed your stay. We are sorry your friends couldn't come this time but we look forward to your next visit with them or their coming down by themselves for some relaxation. It was great taking a days holiday with you but I think that our riding adventures (Gloria and you both on horses and me on the mule) have come to an end for me. Next-time Ig and I will go fishing! Stay well until then Richard and Gloria Laura
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Napa
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 2, 2013

We found this B & B to be absolutely wonderful. From the minute we got there, we were greeted by the most hospitable, wonderfully kind people, Richard and Gloria. They helped us to determine what we wished to do in the short amount of time we had. They literally went out of their way to find the best deals in La Paz for snorkeling, diving and visiting the various beaches. They were just superb in their suggestions of local, reasonable, restaurants that served some of the finest, freshest fish we've eaten in a long time. The rooms were very comfortable and their garden terrace, which was in a Spanish motif was lovely to have breakfast on. The breakfasts were truly very tasty home cooked and it was delightful that we could have morning conversation with Gloria and Richard. We couldn't suggest a better place to stay in La Paz. We personally can't wait to go back again and, by the way, our rented car was kept wonderfully cool and save in their huge garage, which we so much appreciated (I don't want to indicate that La Paz is not a safe place, because as far as we are concerned, it is probably safer than a lot of cities in America). Thank you to Gloria and Richard for a wonderful experience from your "friends" in Napa, K & H.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kathy K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HaciendaParaiso, Manager at Hacienda Paraiso de La Paz Bed and Breakfast/Inn, responded to this review, October 3, 2013
Dear K, We very much appreciate your very lovely review. It is because of wonderful folks like you that we enjoy what we do. We certainly had a bunch of good conversation over breakfasts and look forward to more of the same in the future. I am very happy that H. didn't let her physical situation get in the way of enjoyment and am particularly happy that she got in and swam with the sea lions, a courageous move. I'm also glad that the whale sharks (worlds largest fish) were out playing that day for your delight. Thanks for all your positive comments. Having two eye doctors visiting the Hacienda Paraiso at the same time is unusual and by not having an eye problem during your stay, I kind of feel that I missed a good opportunity. Joking aside, come back soon .We love you guys and send some more eye doctors. Stay well, Richard and Gloria Laura
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these La Paz hotels
1.4 mi away
Hotel Blue Business Class
0.1 mi away
La Posada Hotel & Beach Club
0.8 mi away
Posada LunaSol Hotel
Posada LunaSol Hotel
#5 of 40 in La Paz
4.5 of 5 bubbles 333 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.5 mi away
Hyatt Place La Paz
Hyatt Place La Paz
#2 of 40 in La Paz
4.5 of 5 bubbles 449 reviews
2.3 mi away
Las Gaviotas Resort
Las Gaviotas Resort
#8 of 40 in La Paz
4.5 of 5 bubbles 188 reviews
5.5 mi away
CostaBaja Resort & Spa
CostaBaja Resort & Spa
#3 of 40 in La Paz
4.5 of 5 bubbles 643 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hacienda Paraiso de La Paz Bed and Breakfast/Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hacienda Paraiso de La Paz Bed and Breakfast/Inn

Property: Hacienda Paraiso de La Paz Bed and Breakfast/Inn
Address: Calle de Las Rosas # 300 | Fracc. La Posada, La Paz 23090, Mexico (Formerly Hacienda Paraiso de La Paz)
Phone Number:
Location: Mexico > Baja California > Baja California Sur > La Paz
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 25 B&Bs / Inns in La Paz
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We are a peaceful and beautiful B&B/Inn/Small Hotel, decorated in Mexican style. Located 1 mile from the Malecon and one block from the beach, where you can start your mornings walking and admiring many types of birds catching their morning food or watching the most wonderful Sunsets in the evenings! We are dedicated to creating a memorable and treasured vacation in a safe, peaceful and secure atmosphere. After a wonderful day enjoying the sites of La Paz you can come HOME and sip a delicious Margarita and jump in the beautiful pool. Sit on the terrace and enjoy your freshly brewed coffee and delicious breakfast while sharing the beauty of our garden and different birds that fly by and sit on our palms. -WiFi FREE!-Secure Indoor Garage Parking-Infinity Pool-Purified Water at all times. All (No Smoking) Rooms-A/C-Fans-In-room Personal Security Safe-Refrigerator-Satellite TV-Clock/Radio-Hair Dryer. Shampoo and conditioner. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Hacienda Paraiso de La Paz Bed and Breakfast/Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hacienda Paraiso De La Paz Hotel La Paz

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing