We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great location, Great place, Great people!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Posada Colibri

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Posada Colibri
Ranked #13 of 25 La Paz B&B and Inns
Okotoks, Canada
1 review
“Great location, Great place, Great people!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 8, 2013

Most stay at all-inclusive in a tourist town when traveling to Mexico. For our first trip to Mexico we tried another first and booked at a B&B (Posada Colibri) in La Paz. It was a good decision! La Paz gave us the experience we were looking for and our stay at the B&B added to it. It is well located, close to several good restaurants, shopping and just one block off the Malecon where you can walk and take in the view. Nothing beats sitting on your patio at the B&B with a margarita and taking in the "spectacular" view of the Malecon and the Sea of Cortez. Make sure you get to see the sunset from the patio because it will take your breath away. All rooms at the B&B are very clean, spacious and well stocked with the comforts of home. The decor is up-to-date and there's a "pool" in the courtyard. Our hosts, Darrell and Diane, made us feel welcome and comfortable and were eager to assist us when needed. They treat you like family, often inviting ones to join them by the pool for a visit and if you choose, a cocktail. Our first time experience was a great one and one that I know we won't forget because we plan to repeat it. I highly recommend Posada Colibri for your stay in La Paz.

Room Tip: The Nest is the most spacious ( two bedroom and full kitchen ), and has a "spectacular" vi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank sunshine4334
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

100 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    79
    14
    3
    1
    3
See reviews for
13
66
6
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (19)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Calgary, Canada
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 12, 2013

When we decided to spend a week away from the cold Canadian winter this February we didn’t want to do the same old all-inclusive style trip to Mexico. We decided to see a bit of old Mexico and travelled to La Paz where we spent 8 nights at the Posada Colibri B &B. Our stay was extremely relaxing and comfortable thanks in no small part to our wonderful hosts – Darrell and Diane – who provided a daily delicious breakfast and assisted with getting us acquainted with the area including booking tours, recommending restaurants and other things to see and do. My wife is very picky about clean rooms so we choose the Renaissance room because it was very roomy, extremely clean, has a King sized bed and a private balcony with a spectacular view of the harbour – make sure to see at least one sunset from your balcony! We found the area to be a great combination of relaxing and cool activities – snorkeling with a sea lion colony and 4x4ing on the Baja being highlights! The Inn itself is conveniently located one street off the Malecon in the heart of the downtown district and just a short drive from Balandra beach which is one of the most spectacular beaches I have ever seen – rent a kayak and paddle out to a private beach or explore the mangroves. Lots of great eats and drinks nearby within walking distance and make sure to try some of the local hot dog (bacon wrapped dogs with all the fixings!) and fish taco stands. Posada Colibri and La Paz will definitely be our preferred destination for visiting Mexico in the future.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank craig m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Coast, CAnada
Level Contributor
83 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 27, 2013

We reviewed many places before booking our three nights at the Posada Colibri. It was a good choice overall. The room was clean, newer and well supplied. The deck was spacious and the view to the harbour and boats was great. The owners are very pleasant and helpful and booked our boat tour. The fresh breakfast that they prepare is wonderful with fresh juice, homemade jam and all the touches. One evening we ordered pizza from the one site wood-fired oven and it was excellent. They brought it to our room and we ate on the deck. Our timing happened to be during Carnaval which made the experience interesting!! The partying and noise goes all night so you have to be prepared. We ended up sleeping in the back bedroom, with earplugs and after a few margs! it was not a problem. It was fun to watch the crowds from the deck. Inside secure parking is limited and we had to park in front of the hotel one night but they do have a security person. Internet access is in the lobby only and a little tricky but does work. Good location for walking. Overall we were very pleased with the experience.

Room Tip: the owners will recommend rooms
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank RTravelExperiences
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ukiah, California
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 17, 2012

I had a great experience here and felt right at home. The manager, Brad, was very welcoming and extremely helpful. He steered me in the right direction for all the business I had to take care of in La Paz. I was also impressed with the delicious and fulfilling breakfast served up by both Brad and Challo, the owner. The Colibri rooms were thoughtfully appointed and have lovely views of the bay. The Malecon (the main bayside walk and social center of town) is only one short block from the front door-an ideal location! I highly recommend Posada Colibri to anyone coming to La Paz for business or pleasure.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank flygirl009
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SeaTac, Washington
Level Contributor
100 reviews
73 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 107 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 10, 2012

Our room was spacious and the location is great - within walking distance of the bus station, one street up from the Malacon and very close to many good restaurants on the back streets. A loud band plays until around 11 p.m. on Friday nights at a restaurant below, but that was the only noise we heard in three days. The owners don't live here and are focused on running a hotel across the street, but the manager, Brad, is very nice and helpful. Rooms are cleaned daily. Breakfast was across the street in the hotel. We also used the pool there because it is large and heated. Only real quibble was that the TV in our room didn't work. All in all, very good value.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank pwiser
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 25, 2012

We had a great time, Brad the manager was very helpful and a good cook. The place is very clean, spacious and comfortable. One block from all the activities, resteraunts and the ocean.
Brad was busy cleaning and fixing while we were there because they had just finished renting the B & B out to a US TV station called Oxygen, who taped an episode of bad girls on site. A reality tv show.

  • Stayed February 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank TraRhoBod
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portlan, OR
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 13, 2011

Wonderful!

My wife and I have stayed in La Paz many times, usually at another B&B. While the others are nice, Gail and Challo make Posada Colibri your home away from home. Wonderful breakfast (Gail makes the bread from scratch!!), great conversation, excellent location and clean and comfortable rooms; what else could you ask for? I would stay again (in fact, I will!!!)

Room Tip: If you need more room for a big group, ask about the Condos across the street...they own them as wel...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank PabloZ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these La Paz hotels
1.4 mi away
Posada LunaSol Hotel
Posada LunaSol Hotel
#4 of 40 in La Paz
4.5 of 5 bubbles 328 reviews
0.0 mi away
Las Gaviotas Resort
Las Gaviotas Resort
#8 of 40 in La Paz
4.5 of 5 bubbles 182 reviews
0.9 mi away
Hotel Blue Business Class
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.2 mi away
La Posada Hotel & Beach Club
0.6 mi away
Hotel Perla
Hotel Perla
#9 of 40 in La Paz
3.5 of 5 bubbles 223 reviews
0.6 mi away
Club El Moro
Club El Moro
#14 of 40 in La Paz
4.0 of 5 bubbles 162 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Posada Colibri? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Posada Colibri

Property: Posada Colibri
Address: Calle Belisario Dominguez No. 750 | e/ Salvatierra y Torre Iglesias, La Paz 23006, Mexico
Phone Number:
Location: Mexico > Baja California > Baja California Sur > La Paz
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #13 of 25 B&Bs / Inns in La Paz
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Posada Colibri 3*
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our house is centrally located, within comfortable walking distance to waterfront, downtown shops, restaurants. Our rooms have nice views, comfortable beds, better quality linens,a great breakfast is included in the price as are all taxes. For breakfast you will have home baked bread, natural juice, fresh fruit and eggs as you like them. We will offer travel tips so that you can make the most of your visit to La Paz. Secure enclosed parking is available at no extra cost. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your Posada Colibri reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing