We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Five star food”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Azul Marino

Azul Marino
Ranked #12 of 295 Restaurants in La Paz
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $10 - $20
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Scenic view, Business meetings, Kids, Families with children, Large groups, Special occasions, Romantic
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Late Night, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Off-Street Parking, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Validated Parking, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
San Rafael, California
Level Contributor
129 reviews
60 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 89 helpful votes
“Five star food”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 17, 2014

This was an amazing dining experience. We had a party of 13, walked up to this very busy place, and they very quickly put together something for us. The setting was nice, in the marina, and the seating was mostly outdoors. We had ceviche, the fish and the shrimp, and I can honestly say they were both fabulous. I cannot pick a favorite. I will say that both dishes were substantial, for ceviche, and very fresh tasting. Both dishes were loaded with fish and with assorted veggies. Even the kids had some! We also had some excellent salad. The Caprese was very good, layered, and much more than the usual Caprese offering, with a Mexican flair! The Roquefort salad was also very good. The kids had pizzas and pesto pastas, and those were also judged an excellent choice. The lamb burrito (not the giant kind like we Americans are used to, more like a rolled up taco) was also really good. The service was excellent. We were a large party and our food came very quickly. Lastly, the drinks were fabulous, great margaritas, and my husband got a Mai tai, which turned out to be unusual but great. A. Must dine while you are in la paz. We loved it!

  • Visited February 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Angewaa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

240 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    150
    60
    20
    4
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Eagle River, Alaska
Level Contributor
33 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Wonderful Surprise at CostaBaja”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 16, 2014

Stumbled onto Azul Marino last week when we were too tired to cook in our condo or drive into La Paz for dinner. Well, we got lucky. Great pizzas and very good pastas, right on the marina. Went back two separate nights, and almost went back for a third. It's funny that the great local, Mexican seafood was one of the biggest reasons for us visiting La Paz, but some of the best meals we had were at an Italian restaurant in one of the biggest resort complexes around. Go figure.

  • Visited February 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank StephenGray_260
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego
Level Contributor
24 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“After multiple visits, consistently great!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 10, 2014

I feel compelled to recommend Azul Marino again as a 5-star restaurant at a greeeeat value in wonderful surroundings. The service is truly among the best we've experienced and the seafood is nothing short of spectacular. Azul Marino is now our go-to place to take guests coming for a visit but we make a point to save the best for last!

  • Visited February 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank LoveBaja
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Norwalk, Connecticut
Level Contributor
27 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Good food, just ask Tito”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 3, 2014

We had two very good meals. The steak fillet was cooked to order and exceptional. Tito is the cat who lives around the marina and seems to visit Azul nightly! Must be good food if he keeps coming back. He's very friendly and we enjoyed breaking bread with him. If you're staying at Costa Baja, check out this restaurant, and say Hola to Tito!

Visited January 2014
Helpful?
Thank sleeplessinajijic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary, Canada
Level Contributor
184 reviews
136 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
“Great restaurant if you are at CostaBaja”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 24, 2014 via mobile

This is the best sit down restaurant at the hotel bar none. We ate here twice and everything we had was superb. Of particular note were the salads and the shrimp ceviche.

If there is any complaint at all it would be that while the serving staff is really friendly and lovely, their skills don't match the quality of the food, but this is minor.

Visited January 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank fussyyetcheap
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Azul Marino also viewed

La Paz, Baja California Sur
La Paz, Baja California Sur
 
La Paz, Baja California Sur
La Paz, Baja California Sur
 
La Paz, Baja California Sur
La Paz, Baja California Sur
 

Been to Azul Marino? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing