We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Quirky with decent prices & great location”
Review of Hotel Pekin

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Hotel Pekin
Ranked #25 of 39 Hotels in La Paz
Level 3 Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Quirky with decent prices & great location”
Reviewed October 14, 2010

Just under $40 on a weekend, this was our choice after checking out other locations along the malecon. It's unique and quirkyk, clean and air conditioned. Having a restaurant downstairs is nice, and didn't hear any noise from it. Get a room with a window seat over the malecon and unless you're a high maintenance traveler, you'll be cozy enough.
No REAL extras, but travleing in Mexico sometimes in-room wifi and A/C are extras!!!

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
12 Thank yo_gini73
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

17 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1
    7
    7
    2
    0
See reviews for
3
4
4
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
santa rosa,ca
Level 6 Contributor
232 reviews
75 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 180 helpful votes
Reviewed May 10, 2009

spent a night at the pekin in la paz and found it to be a good budget choice. at a sliver under $40 a night the pekin offers clean tho spartan accomodations w/ a great location across the street from the beach. there´s a chinese restaurant on the first floor and the hotel rooms occupy the upper part of the structure. decorated in a rather garish chinese theme the hallways are strewn w various buddha statues and plastic flowers. the rooms are smallish (i was in 109) but clean. the bed was hard but adequate for a short stay. internet is available at 15 pesos (about a dollar) per hour. slow connection however.
the place is fine tho marginal but for budget travelers it offers good clean no frill digs w a great location.

  • Stayed May 2009, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
10 Thank alan k
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
montana
Level 3 Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed August 26, 2008

The Pekin is a great value for being right on the water on the malecon. Ocean rooms have great views with good people watching. The hotel is clean with air , cable and phone. They don't speak english very well, but they have a very funny son who does and will help you translate if he is around. We walked everywhere and great food, shopping and beaches are all right there. Paid $50 a night, and they even did our laundry for us!
I will stay there again for sure.

  • Liked — location and price
  • Disliked — lots of stairs
  • Stayed July 2008, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
11 Thank pvpearl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NY
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed February 6, 2007

I thought the rooms were ok and the food ok but was really disturbed that a seafront restaurant would serve shark fin soup. Here they are making money of being in front of the bay and they don´t even take the simple step of removing this highly endangered species from their menu. It is like serving panda. When I asked the waiter if he would let me talk to the manager about this problem he was very rude. I am bilingual in English and Spanish and he was rude to me in both languages. I wouldn´t go back....ever.

  • Stayed February 2007, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
13 Thank bajaborn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotel_Nuevo_Pekin, Owner at Hotel Pekin, responded to this review, June 25, 2008
Dear Guest:
Of course we know that Sharks are a endanger species, so we make the soup of our restaurant with Imitation Shark Fin like the surimi or crab meat in sushi’s restaurants, but we already cease to make them because of the high price to get the imitation from China.
I would like to invite you to review in our service and not based on a soup in our menu.
Hope you had a please stay in our hotel.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these La Paz hotels

Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Seattle
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed January 4, 2006

The room rate is now $39 a night. At the previously stated $16 it would have been fine, but it was a little too basic for the price. Room was clean but every 15 minutes, a piece of equipment that sounded like grinding ice followed by a whining puppy emenated the room. The puppy part was kind of funny the first 20 times.
Location remains very good and to be fair you might not find a better deal on the Malecon.

Helpful?
14 Thank hubski
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grass Valley
Level 5 Contributor
53 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 98 helpful votes
Reviewed August 22, 2003

The other review pretty much sums it up. Good location. Clean and quiet with great views of the ocean from the rooms. Good resturant on bottom floor. Short walk down the malacon to the center of town. Has a nice secure feel to it. We checked most all the hotels in La Paz and the Pekin was the best for the price. Stayed a week. Will stay there next time. Not the hotel it you are looking to party or be in the center of town where the action is.

Helpful?
11 Thank HorridToad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, MA
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed December 6, 2002

The Hotel Pekin occupies a street corner on the Malecon (waterfront street) to the northern edge of the central district. The hotel is unpretentious, clean, comfortable and reasonable. Current rates (December 2002) are MEP370 single and MEP450 double including taxes. The hotel's rooms have tile floors, comfortably firm beds with clean linens, color cable tv, and electronically controlled air conditioning. Bathrooms have stall showers; the hot water supply was more than sufficient and there's suitable water pressure as well. Rooms are on walk-up floors above a very nice Chinese restaurant of the same name. Don't expect much in the way of guest services, other than daily, competent housekeeping. The hotel reception desk is also the cashier for the restaurant; desk staff speak basic English. Bell service is self-service. Adequate on-street parking surrounds the property. It's maybe a twelve-minute walk to Hotel Perla and maybe another ten minutes to Hotel Los Arcos which should provide some perspective on this hotel's location. Lunch and dinner are served daily at the restaurant; menus are in Spanish and English. Meals can be charged to the guest room account. There is no breakfast service on property. Credit cards are accepted without surcharge.

Helpful?
25 Thank CapnKen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these La Paz hotels
0.2 mi away
Hotel Hacienda Bugambilias
0.6 mi away
Pension California
Pension California
#27 of 39 in La Paz
33 reviews
0.0 mi away
Lorimar Hotel
Lorimar Hotel
#16 of 39 in La Paz
45 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 mi away
Hotel Quinta Lolita
Hotel Quinta Lolita
#35 of 39 in La Paz
21 reviews
7.8 mi away
Hotel Paradise Pasion La Paz
1.4 mi away
Posada LunaSol Hotel
Posada LunaSol Hotel
#6 of 39 in La Paz
335 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Pekin? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Pekin

Property: Hotel Pekin
Address: Paseo Alvaro Obregon No.875, La Paz 23000, Mexico
Location: Mexico > Baja California > Baja California Sur > La Paz
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #25 of 39 Hotels in La Paz
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 31
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline so you can book your Hotel Pekin reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Pekin Hotel La Paz

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing