We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Charming and both dog and people friendly”
Review of Hotel Mediterrane

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Hotel Mediterrane
Ranked #6 of 29 La Paz B&B and Inns
Reviewed November 23, 2012

We always head to this friendly little hotel when we go to LaPaz. While the rooms are a little spartan, it is, after all Greek themed. The rooms are just fine. Everything you need is there and clean. The people are friendly. Joel makes great coffee! They welcome well behaved dogs. So close to the Malecon and all the restaurants. However, one of the best restaurants in town, LaPazta, is right there, so you may be encouraged to just laze around until they open for dinner.The garden is pretty and conveys a sense of privacy. Interesting people seem to like this place. During our recent stay, there was a famous guest from the entertainment world in the next room. No names - movie stars and musicians deserve privacy - but you just never know who may wander in to this nice little hotel.

  • Stayed: November 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ZLI
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (76)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

41 - 47 of 76 reviews

Reviewed October 11, 2012

I happened upon this place on a recent motorcycle trip down Baja. I found the staff to be very accommodating. The front desk clerk spoke great english and was able to recommend several places to help us enjoy our time in the city. There were several restaurants and boardwalks that were very near to the hotel. The Hotel was mostly empty besides our group, which wasn't all bad. The coffee was great, and the beer was cold. They had a rooftop patio with great views of the bay. Only negative was the food wasn't amazing. Not bad, just not great. they even let us bring our motorcycles into the courtyard for security.

  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank iowatraveler100
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 21, 2012

I have been to La Paz many times, but this was my first stay at this property. It is close to everything, is clean and the staff is very friendly and helpful. My son and I were visiting in August, so the courtyard and roof patio were so hot they weren't usable (I'll bet its nice in the other seasons). Breakfast was very good and the hostess (Barbara) exceptional.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank PabloZ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 17, 2012

This neat little place is just steps from the Malecon, but provides a quiet, comfortable night's sleep, even during Carnival. The rooms are well kept and clean. A couple of rooms have spectacular views over the bay. The price is reasonable -most rooms are under $100. The staff is pleasant and friendly, the owners charming. Parking is easy and safe if you're driving. Well behaved dogs are welcome. This is an excellent choice for a stay in La Paz. Close to everything. Now to the on site restaurant, LaPazta. I ate the BEST PASTA EVER IN MY LIFE!!! Seriously - the gnocci with gorgonzola cream sauce was so delicious it was heaven. Can't wait to go back for another plate. The other dishes will be just as good, I'm certain. Love it!

Room Tip: The Corfu room is up a spiral staircase. If that works for you, it's worth the climb. It's a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ZLI
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 22, 2011

1/2 block from the malecon and the marina, great breakfast, quiet (even on Friday and Saturday nights with hopped-up coaches cruising the male con), attached to an excellent restaurant (La Pazta).... What's not to like. The rooms are clean and all open onto a beautiful courtyard. We've stayed in La Paz right on the Malecon for far more ($$) and received far less. This is a great find and we now stay there any time we are in La Paz. The only minor drawback is lack of secure parking but there is almost always parking immediately in front of the hotel- perfectly safe.

  • Stayed: December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank uglyalbertan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 9, 2011

This hotel offers all you need for a great stay in La Paz...
Friendly bilingual staff, clean and comfortable rooms.
Restaurant serving food.

  • Stayed: November 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank kKkester
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 22, 2011

On a recent 3 day trip to La Paz, I found a terrific small hotel that made my trip very pleasant and comfortable. The Hotel Mediterrane is a 9 room property (the rooms are named after Greek islands), literally steps from the Malecon, at Allende 36 - clean, cool and charming. The rooms are on 2 levels and surround a small, shady courtyard. Its quiet and gated. There's a charming cafe for morning coffee and an upscale restaurant next door that I didn't get to try. The staff are super nice. Definitely a great place to stay in La Paz. Check out their website at hotelmed.com.

  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jobill77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these La Paz hotels
0.5 mi away
Posada LunaSol Hotel
Posada LunaSol Hotel
#6 of 39 in La Paz
343 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel HBlue
Hotel HBlue
#1 of 39 in La Paz
210 reviews
1.6 mi away
Club El Moro
Club El Moro
#12 of 39 in La Paz
175 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Hotel One La Paz
Hotel One La Paz
#4 of 39 in La Paz
508 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel Perla
Hotel Perla
#8 of 39 in La Paz
251 reviews
0.9 mi away
Posada Colibri
Posada Colibri
#7 of 29 in La Paz
106 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Mediterrane? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Mediterrane

Address: Calle Ignacio Allende 36, La Paz 23000, Mexico
Location: Mexico > Baja California > Baja California Sur > La Paz
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 29 B&Bs / Inns in La Paz
Price Range: $61 - $83 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Mediterrane 3*
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
In the heart of town a few steps from the water front. The rooms are facing our lush garden with palm trees and citrus trees and are individually designed and named after Greek islands. Dinner is served at our Italian, Swiss specialty restaurant and at our Thai lounge. Have real Italian coffee with your breakfast. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Orbitz, Cancelon, Travelocity and Hotwire so you can book your Hotel Mediterrane reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing