We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Tailhunters International 5/8 - 5/13”

Tailhunter Restaurant
Ranked #5 of 307 Restaurants in La Paz
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $6 - $18
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups, Special occasions, Local cuisine, Romantic, Bar scene, Business meetings, Families with children
Dining options: Late Night, Lunch, Dinner, Breakfast, Buffet, Delivery, Reservations, Takeout
Description: Located on the Bay of La Paz's historic waterfront Malecón, on the Sea of Cortez, you will find three stories of amazing beach casual dining and fun. Headquarters of the renowned Tailhunter Sportfishing Fleets, the Roldan Family's uniquely diverse menu specializes in the freshest seafood and local specialties with their very own Island flair. Top rated since opening in the spring of 2009 for numerous years, we are famous for preparing our fishermen's fresh caught fish with an entire specialty menu dedicated to this rare treat. Featuring great music, fishing and surfing videos, sporting events, ice cold cocktails and front row seats to the best sunsets in The Baja.
phoenix,
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Tailhunters International 5/8 - 5/13”
Reviewed May 14, 2014

My cousin, a friend, and I spent a 5 nights with Tailhunters on a fishing trip and frequented the FUBAR cantina almost exclusively. Food was very fairly priced, made with fresh ingredients, and was staffed with very attentive, polite, and fun waiters. We brought fish for them to cook and the variety and taste was simply amazing. Great cold beer on draft, excellent mixed drinks (I never drink pina colada's, but i had more than my fair share on this trip - these were great!).
A very fun place to stop in and get a feel for La Paz. Check it out - you won't be disappointed!

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Dutchman012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,011 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    653
    186
    93
    46
    33
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Guelph, Canada
Level Contributor
70 reviews
44 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
“What's the fuss?”
Reviewed May 13, 2014

Really curious about how this place gets rave reviews. Great location and at dinner, if you have prime seating you can watch the sun set. It's popular, overlooking the constant cruising of the main drag and the Malecon so if your idea of a good time is go where everyone else is, this is the place for you. If you want a great meal … you might want to keep looking.

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank CaboSanAntonio
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chappell, Nebraska
Level Contributor
119 reviews
65 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
“Drinks and dinner at the Tailhunter”
Reviewed May 11, 2014

We thoroughly enjoyed our recent trip to La Paz and had great fun at the Tailhunter bar and restaurant. It's a fun and funky place, just perfect for enjoying cocktails and watching the sunset over La Paz bay. The food and drinks are very good, and service was excellent.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
Thank Ed B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mellieha, Malta
Level Contributor
75 reviews
28 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“Great place to meet locals and tourists.”
Reviewed May 8, 2014

Popular meeting and eating/drinking place.
Seating on various levels, under thatch roofs with open sides.
Food is good, great atmosphere.

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank AbrahamPotappel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Loveland, Colorado
1 review
“Amazing food, Amazing People, Amazing Experience”
Reviewed May 5, 2014

We were in La Paz for 5 days and ate the majority of our meals at Tailhunter. They cooked the Mahi mahi and Wahoo we caught that day into a variety of different dishes. All of them were amazing. And they even threw me a great Birthday Dinner along with Tequila Shot!

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank karynejennings
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Tailhunter Restaurant also viewed

La Paz, Baja California Sur
La Paz, Baja California Sur
 
La Paz, Baja California Sur
La Paz, Baja California Sur
 
La Paz, Baja California Sur
La Paz, Baja California Sur
 

Been to Tailhunter Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing